Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Floyd Rose tremolos and parts : The Key

The Key


Read 34 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A coveted tremolo tech tool returns! The Key makes intonating an Original Floyd Rose® tremolo easy and precise.

See details below

Email a friend
The Key
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0022 The Key Yes
$14.95
3 or more $13.46  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Tremolo Spring Installer



Schaller Locking Tremolo System



Tremolo Routing Templates



Tremolo Spring Installer
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Tremolo Routing Templates



Details
 Pictures
Simply slip the Key into place over the string lock screw, loosen the saddle mounting screw, and enjoy fingertip control of the saddle position for accurate intonation.

The Key works with Original Floyd Rose design tremolos only. It won't work on Ibanez Edge, Ibanez Lo-Profile, or Schaller locking tremolos.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
The Key
The Key
 
3.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 34 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 6-06-2011
First Time Intonating a Floyd Rose

I've had this tool for a while, I bought it in the event the guitar tech I was using needed it on my Jackson Soloist, he declined. When I finally bought a strobe tuner, I decided to try it on a new acquisition.
This tool works perfectly. You snap it in place, screw it open until it makes contact with the bridge and screw head, then undo your allen key lock bolt and start adjusting. Holds tension going forward and backward on the saddle travel. I guess the only improvement I would make to it is to make the knob longer so that it extends past the body, and knurl the knob where your fingers turn the knob for added grip. Great tool!! My intonation came out perfect, by the way!!

Matt Garcia  Houston, TX Read my reviews (2)
1 5-05-2011
Over designed

Poor value for money. Pain to work with when strings are in tune / under tension.
I ended up using the bottom catch as the hook, pulling the entire assembly with my thumb and index finger.

Something much simpler, similar to Moody Spring Pull Hook tool [sold by StewMac], would be considerably more useful

Richard Jensen  London, UK Read my reviews (3)
1 4-22-2011
buena idea... pero solo eso

Las tres patas de la herramienta no se adaptaban bien en el punto de apoyo, así que decidí abrir un poco la pata que queda sola y se rompió al instante. Supongo que si el producto está bien realizado debe funcionar correctamente, en mi caso no pude llegar ni a probarlo. Valoración negativa.

jordijordi  spain Read my reviews (2)
5 4-08-2011
Compra

I received all in perfect time.

frisco  Mexico City
3 3-03-2011
works pretty well

Once you get the hang of the quirks, this little tool speeds up the intonation process.

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
1 2-17-2011
Great idea - but not in real life

Nice idea but in real life its a pain to use. I had pictured just putting it on, loosening the set screw, intonating, re-tighten set screw and remove tool.

It turned out for me to be a waste of time. Hard to keep on. Hard to get on and off if you use the last screw hole.

Old Player  Kenai, AK
4 2-17-2011
Great tool

If the instructions were more detailed I would have given it 5 stars. But setting the intonation on my OFR went VERY fast thanks to this tool.

I set the string lock screws such that I could push them down to remove the tool for the saddles that had to be moved towards the nut to get the intonation right. For me, that solved the string-lock-screw-binding headache that a few folks have shared here.

Johnny  Austin, TX
1 2-04-2011
Poor tool

I would like to chime in and say this is a very poor tool, despite a few reviews.

The thumb screw sometimes unthreads, thread locker at minimum should be added.

There is not enough travel/ the front end is too long. It can only intonate saddles that are using the rear intonation screw location, not the front screw.

The smooth plastic thumb screw can be quite difficult to turn.

It ceased up on me before I had a chance to try it out, and it needed an oil bath.

I could work much faster without it, and as most of my saddles were on the front screw it was no help at all.

Kyle111  Canada
1 12-19-2010
The Key ? to what ?

This is a knob, a screw, a spring and 2 pieces of bent metal. Overpriced is the 1st word that comes to mind but after using it a few more come to mind also !

If you're adjusting your intonation on the last screw inward on a Floyd Rose, you CANNOT get the key out without taking out the string locking screw. It's a lot easier just loosening the string, moving the saddle, tightening it, and re-tune or at least for me. Save yourself $15 and do it the way I said or I'll sell you mine, cheap !

Dr. LaRrY  Winston-Salem,N.C. Read my reviews (5)
2 10-28-2010
Could've been cooler...

The concept of this tool is great. However, with the plethora of licensed by Floyd Rose systems, it has limited uses. It only works on OFRs & the licensed FRs that utilize the original design of saddle placement, fine tuner placement, etc. DOES NOT WORK on angled fine tuners.

Could have been manufactured using machined aluminum instead of plastic. My opinion overall, is that The Key is a disappointment unless you have an OFR or similar.
Don't think it was worth the price.

JJ Bernsdorff  University Place, WA
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 67 of our latest catalog.


Floyd Rose® is a registered trademark of Floyd Rose Industries.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce