Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric guitar tremolos : Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo

Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo


Read 19 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved Strat tuning stability, sustain and reliability!

See details below

Email a friend
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3534 Nickel Yes
$108.15
3 or more $95.07  

3534-B Black Yes
$125.25
3 or more $109.24  

3534-G Gold Yes
$129.15
3 or more $112.64  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Tremolo Spring Installer



Tremolo Routing Templates



Black TUSQ XL Nuts



Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines



Tremolo Spring Installer
Tremolo Routing Templates
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The baseplate holes are elongated so the screws won't bind, for smooth, accurate pitch return. For tuning stability, the string mounting holes are staggered in the steel block for more consistent string angle over the adjustable locking bent-steel saddles.

2-1/8" string spread.

Includes:
Springs, spring claw, arm with white plastic knob (#3534-B black tremolo has black plastic knob), mounting screws, saddle adjustment screw and Allen wrenches.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 19 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 19 < 1  2
4 5-30-2011
An excellent replacement for vintage tremolo

I am very happy with the Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo. I tried another brand first and was never satisfied with the stability of the bridge. This works well and I was able to float the the bridge and achieve a 1 1/2 step pull from open G to Bb as well as the regular vibrato effect. Purchase a set of locking tuners as well. You will need them for the best stability.

SeanV  Manchester, NH Read my reviews (3)
5 5-08-2011
I never had a better Strat Tremolo

I am nothing short of amazed! I never had a Strat with a tremolo on it that stayed in tune better! I'm not just talking about subtle vibratos but also divebombs and whole step downqard bends. I tried all those nasty things that are usually reserved to users of locking tremolos and when I got back to the original position and waited for the horrible sound of a terribly out of tune guitar it was (almost) perfectly back in tune.
Of course I should mention, that I also installed Steinberger locking tuners on that guitar, which certainly help, but still, I am amazed.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 4-26-2011
finally a great tremolo, for a strat

i change out my fender bridge, with this one and wow, i can really do harmonics now, u can adjust each string to your height, love it

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
5 3-13-2011
Well worth the money

I've played for 25 years, and owned a lot of different guitars over the years. For the past five years or so, I've strictly been playing Ibanez Prestige two humbucker equipped guitars, and I missed the single coil Strat sound, as well as the Strat neck. So I finally bought a Deluxe Players Strat, and that's where this Wilkinson comes in.

I love everything about the guitar - except for the bridge. I realized right away that I would not be able to use the whammy bar with the stock Fender bridge. I overnighted this Wilky as well as Sperzel locking tuners. Install was a snap. It's literally six screws and three springs - DONE. Intonation was almost dead accurate out of the box. I restrung the guitar BEFORE I switched out the machine heads, and the Strat stayed in tune even with the stock vintage style classic tuners (the inexpensive ones, made by Ping I believe). I then switched to the Sperzels (be prepared to drill if you do this), and I can NOT make that guitar go out of tune once the strings are broken in. Unbelievable.

The only thing I did notice is that it doesn't quite resonate the same as the stock bridge, but I switched to Fender Bullet strings (I think there's something to that bullet end, as opposed to the ball ends with wraps around it), and the resonance came back. Very solid bridge, I love the adjustable tension pop in trem arm (I can't stand screw in arms - another reason for the upgrade), and the trem arm has NO slop or "wiggle" in it whatsoever once the tension is set right. This is a very fast, very easy, relatively inexpensive upgrade that solves a lot of problems. Not only is tuning stability attained, but intonation is better and string breakage is reduced because the saddles actually have a notch/groove in them, unlike the stamped steel Fender saddles in which the strings can slide side to side on. I highly recommend it!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
3 11-22-2010
impressed at first, but wait there's more

I thought I was buying something that would last, but within weeks the bridge started to actually rust. Not just tarnish, but actual oxidization. The bar will not stay in the bridge without placing one wrap of tape around the end of the trem bar to keep it from falling into the floor.

Setting the intonation is probably the worst feature. It is accomplished with a small thumbscrew that sets parallel to the body of the guitar. You will grind your fingertips raw screwing this thing in and out. After you unlock the saddle and get it adjusted, locking it back in place takes it out of adjustment and it's back to unscrewing the thumbscrew again.

For $117 I expected more. I will be undoubtedly replacing this bridge in the future, it will have to work for now. Poorly designed and cheap materials

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
5 10-07-2010
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Strat Bridge

WOW! I can't say enough good things about this bridge. It replaced the standard 6 hole Fender tremolo. It has increased sustain and resonance, given me MUCH more intonation flexibility. Stays in tune/intonation better and because the saddles lock down to the baseplate, I don't have to re-intonate with every string change. The stock bridge required this because of all the slop in the saddles. Excellent performing and very comfortable bridge and it doesn't look out of place. Also, the trem arm has adjustable tension and it simply pulls out/pushes into the bridge block. No more screwing/unscrewing to put it back in the case, nor stripping of the threads. I could go on. This is simply the most effective and noticeable upgrade I could perform for about a hundred bucks, making a guitar I very much love a whole lot better.

Brian Tost  Kettle Falls, WA
5 9-23-2010
Great tremolo unit

I have installed the tremolo unit on my guitar without problems. The sound is full, fine, a definitive improve. Finally the tremolo arm adjustable with no more stress.
The unit is aesthetically beautiful. Thank Stewmac for your service, quality, competitive prices and courtesy.

Enrico  Italy
5 9-07-2010
Finally!

I waited for a while to give my opinion in case it changed after the honeymoon was over. It's been a long road but I've finally got a whammy that stays in tune. This one's a 'floater'. No more flush or blocked whammys on a Strat if you have everything else set up as it should be. Don't expect ANY whammy bar to fix the rest of your guitar's problems because they WON'T! The simple small locking screws are the secret with this unit because they keep the little wiggliy bridge height adjustment screws from rocking back/forth/sideways. And they didn't make the unit look like a Sherman tank either. Just a nice looking, un-obtrusive, working, and floating vibrato that doesn't need a lot of gimmick to come back to 0 tuning position. I say GET ONE (with the short -'Gilmour' style - bar option)!

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
5 8-28-2010
Very reliable tremolo unit

Ive installed it on my project guitar a week ago, everything is doing fine, installation is as easy, finding intonations is superb, tone wise , full of harmonics and dynamics and its looks, very interesting than the traditional Tremolo sets,

Marol  Brunei Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 19 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 67 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce