Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric guitar tremolo parts : String Saver Saddles

String Saver Saddles


Read 9 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Play longer and harder without breaking strings! String Savers enhance tone and sustain, too.

See details below

Email a friend
String Saver Saddles
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1871 For Strat/Tele with 2-3/16" string spread Yes
$42.30
3 or more $35.96  

3089 For Strat/Tele with 2-1/16" string spread Yes
$42.30
3 or more $35.96  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!



String Saver Classic Saddles



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Saddles for Hardtail Bridge



Guitar Player Repair Guide



How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
String Saver Classic Saddles
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
Saddles for Hardtail Bridge
Guitar Player Repair Guide



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Based on Graph Tech's high density TUSQ® polymer, a resonant man-made ivory, they're impregnated with microscopic Teflon®, 500% more slippery than graphite. The self-lubricating action never wears out, to help reduce string fatigue and eliminate string breakage at the saddle.

Sets of 6 with screws, springs and Allen wrench.

How do String Saver saddles work?
Graph Tech has found that a slotted metal saddle can stress a vibrating string at a specific point, resulting in metal fatigue and eventual string breakage. The non-corroding self-lubricating action of a super-slick String Saver saddle eases the stress just enough to drastically reduce string breakage, no matter how hard you play.

How do they sound?
Graph Tech has found that metal saddles produce a 2K Hz treble spike that dominates the tonal spectrum. String Saver saddles produce more balanced highs, improved midrange depth, big open lows, and added harmonic content. The material also been found to increase sustain by up to 25% over brass saddles, and 15% over steel.

String Saver saddles have been factory-installed by Schecter, the Yamaha and Fender Custom Shops, Reverend, TonePros, Carvin, Peavey, Sparrow, Tom Anderson, Godin and Warmouth.

Important: Measure your guitar's bridge saddles before ordering!

Width x length x height (approximate)
#1871For Strat and Tele
7/16" x 13/16" x 1/4" (11.18mm x 20.83mm x 5.97mm)
Includes 5/16" Allen height adjustment screws
Includes 5/8" intonation screws for Strat and 3/4" screws for Tele
Fits Strat/Tele with 2-3/16" (55.56mm) string spread at the bridge
#3089For Strat and Tele
13/32" x 13/16" x 7/32" (10.41mm x 20.70mm x 5.84mm)
Includes 5/16" Allen height adjustment screws
Includes 5/8" intonation screws for Strat and 3/4" screws for Tele
Fits Strat/Tele with 2-1/16" (52.39mm) string spread at the bridge


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Saddles
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 9 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 9
5 10-18-2013
A Great Help for Problematic OEM saddles

Got a burr that is filing strings at the saddle, tried polishing it out, replaced with OEM parts, burr came back polished it out, burr came back... You get the picture. I wanted stock but I also wanted reliability so I went for reliability especially when gigging. These string saver saddles did the trick. Now I don't break strings at the saddle, they just wear out. Good tone too!

Georgio  Gloucester, VA Read my reviews (11)
5 4-12-2013
These are a definite upgrade must-have!

I am VERY pleased with the improvements that these String Saver Saddles from GraphTech made to my guitar! I upgraded the saddles on my Squier Strat with these String Savers and (in conjunction with a new TUSQ XL nut) now have absolutely no tuning stability problems. None, nada. In fact, I can totally crank on the synchronized tremolo and have the strings stay in tune. It's amazing. Several of my associates are shocked by how well this guitar sounds and plays because of these upgrades (and each one has a Fender American Strat in his respective collection). I will be adding these String Saver Saddles to my PRS as soon as I get some extra cash together. Buy some for your guitar today.

4stringkingstf  Rockford, IL Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-23-2013
Great stuff

Works like a charm. Warmer tone and more debth when picking hard.

Sander  Tromsø, Norway Read my reviews (10)
5 7-11-2012
Excellent

A significant upgrade in tone. Warm and balanced.

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (19)
5 11-18-2011
String Saver Saddles

good price

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 9-16-2011
Can't be beaten!

I knew these saddles would be good, but not THIS good! They feel (under your palm) great, they sound great and I can honestly say in 15 years that I have never broken a string at the saddle. I'd say that was a pretty amazing track record!

If you're worried about grounding, make sure you wire your guitar properly. Strings do not only contact the body at the saddles, they also contact at the ball ends. Just make sure you ground the tailpiece or bridge and you'll never experience grounding problems.

Do they stand up over time? You can see from my photo what 15 years of wear and tear look like - they look pretty good to me!

NickBurman  Calgary AB
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-02-2011
absolute recommendation

Wish Fender would put these in all their electric guitars! After reading about Kenny Wayne Sheppard and how he said it helped him, I decided to try them out for myself. Man,vast difference in tone and staying in tune. I am sold, now only if I had Kenny's style,tone,and hands..one can only hope. Highly recommended!!

Mike Angaiak  Chenega Bay, AK
5 2-04-2011
No more broken strings!!

Replaced the bent steel saddles on my strat with these and WOW! No more broken strings and my tone and sustain seemed to improve too! Gonna put them on all my guitars in the future!

gtarman12  naples, fl Read my reviews (3)
4 11-22-2010
awesome string saddles but with a surprise

I was building a custom Tele copy in black'n'gold. Since my bridge's saddles weren't good enough I've ordered this set.
My guitar was already assembled when the saddle set arrived so i put it on and tested just out of the box.
The tone became warmer and better. Sustain seemed to double! I've noticed a buzz coming out of amp and it appeared that the grounding was broken, because saddles are made of graphite and the strings are not on the ground (graphite doesn't conduct electricity).
Be aware of this before installing this set.
Cheers,
Vasiliy.

Vasiliy Karpov  Russia, Saratov Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 9 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 66 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce