Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric guitar, non-trem tailpieces : Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge

Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Made of lightweight aluminum for tone, with a slightly lower profile to help solve high string action problems.

See details below

Email a friend
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4507 Chrome Yes
$89.95
3 or more $81.96  

4507-N Nickel Yes
$89.95
3 or more $81.96  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Schaller Bridge/Tailpiece



TonePros Locking Studs



Schroeder Stoptail Bridge

ResoMax Wrap Bridge



Pigtail 50s Stud Bushings



Schaller Bridge/Tailpiece
TonePros Locking Studs
Schroeder Stoptail Bridge
ResoMax Wrap Bridge
Pigtail '50s Stud Bushings



Details
 Pictures
Specs
This adjustable bridge/tailpiece adds intonation adjustment to the Les Paul® Junior and similar guitars, and it's a great alternative for custom instruments, too.

String
spread
Saddle
radius
Post
spacing
2-1/16"12"3-1/4"

The strings install at the front, two allen screws adjust the overall bridge angle, and the unnotched metal saddles have individual intonation screws. Mounting posts are not included (TonePros locking posts are required for optimum setup).

About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




Positioning the bridge
Find bridge placement for any scale with our free online tool fret position calculator.


Tip: Slotting Tune-o-matic style saddles
Nut slotting files work great for metal saddles. Simply use the same techniques you'd use for nut slotting (read more in Making a Nut, Step-by-Step). After filing to the desired depth, we suggest polishing the slot with Mitchell's Abrasive Cord to remove file marks and burrs.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
4 10-21-2011
4507-N is 44.2grams

The nickel plating finish that I purchased is not good quality, but it's Aluminum, no problem.
Amazingly light weight, must be good intonation and tone.
If you have problem with the original bridge, this is the best choice.

drinkbarmits  Tokyo, JAPAN Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-04-2011
pigtail bridge

I used this bridge with a LP ish guitar built from scratch. I chose the bridge as I didn't want any pitch on the neck and I didn't want the fingerboard elevated a huge amount above the guitar top. The bridge is well made and has a low profile and is fixed to the guitar using the tonepros studs. The whole thing works very well but points to look out for are
The saddles need notching for the strings, the method is in SM newsletter and the studs have a silly spanner that is flat so that when you want to adjust the bridge height it fouls the guitar top. Cranking the spanner would make fixing and adjusting the bridge easy. Still overall a very good product and in fact I have bought 2 of them!The bridge is slanted by 6 mm on the bass side and combined with an earvana compensated nut and has the best intonation of any of my guitars.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-14-2011
Best Wraparound out there

Having tried Tonepros, Mannmade, Schaller etc., I tried this Pigtail and found what I was looking for all this time! It's low, light with stinging sustain and very well made. I agree with other reviewers that the continuous string holes make a BIG difference to my Les Paul DC when restringing, A class product.

mike k  cheshire uk
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-28-2011
Works Perfect.

I bought the Pigtail Wraparound Bridge for my Gibson SG Jr. and it did the trick. My guitar was completely intonateable, which was my goal. However, there was too much space where the bridge contacts the posts when using the regular Gibson bridge posts, and it cause the new bridge to sit at an angle. Everything worked fine, but it just didn't look perfect to me yet. So, I ordered the tone pro locking bridge posts and installed them in 2 minutes and everything was perfect.

I loved this set up on my guitar so much, that I used it to record my latest album. Long story short. The Pigtail bridge transformed my guitar from a guitar I used as a spare, to my main guitar. By the way, the sound of my guitar is as good or better. Thanks STEWMAC!

jop3001z  va
5 11-24-2010
pigtail bridge

I have used other wraparound bridges and have always had the same problem stringing the guitar up. The string hole is in two parts, the tone pros is a very good bridge but suffers from this problem. The Pigtail has a continuous hole from one side to the other and is very easy to string up.
Tonewise it is superior to any other wraparound bridge I have used.

wwr custom guitars  scotland uk
Customer supplied image for review
2 11-20-2010
Does the job but problematic

I have both the Pigtail and the TonePro bridge. They are quite similar but the TonePro ahs superior fit and finish. Particularly, the saddles on the Pigtail are not well mated to the bridge--there is slop in the saddle contact and makes it prone to unwanted vibration and buzzes. I am sticking with the TonePros from now on.

beanbags  Marietta GA
5 11-14-2010
Wraparound Bridge

I will be using the Pigtail and Tonepros studs/bridges on my solidbody & semi-hollow electric guitars from now on. Excellent sustain in a very attractive looking & streamlined bridge/tailpiece.

Rusch Guitars  Youngstown, NY Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
3 10-21-2010
Not worth the money.

It's a decent bridge, but too expensive for what it is worth. The bridge itself is $90, but to equip it you need the proper bushings/studs, which are about $40 more off of pigtail's website. A bridge that adds up to over $130 is too much.

The screws strip way too easily. And the e-clips are very easy to lose. Even with no pressure on it, it's not very durable. VERY easy to break.

It's a decent bridge for replacing a non-adjustable wraparound bridge, but that's it. If you're looking forward to just slapping it on there, your studs are most likely not sized correctly and cause the bridge to bend forward with the pull of the strings. It may just not be the bridge for me, but in my honest opinion, this is not worth the money and I've fully inspected the product I bought and just wanted to inform others. I will never buy another one of these ever again.

Jeremy  Georgia, USA
5 9-30-2010
Best Wraparound on the Market

I've always been a fan of wraparound bridges. I'm mainly an acoustic player, so I enjoy the resonance and "feel" of a well-made guitar. Unfortunately, most electrics have bridges that really let down the tone. Hi-Mass zinc bridges just suck up all those nice harmonics and overtones. Until I tried this Pigtail I never found a bridge that sounded as good as the one on a '59 Jr. Tonepros is an ok design, but restringing is difficult and the tone isn't great. The Badass style was a step forward, but ergonomically and functionally not great and it's a boat anchor. PRS is nice, but very expensive as an aftermarket and only works for 9's and 10's. The Wilkenson aluminum bridge is a fine piece, but again, less adjustable. The Hipshot Baby Grand is fantastic, but doesn't fit the vibe of some older designs and it changes the tone slightly closer to a tune-o-matic.
The new Schroeder looks promising, but I'm so thrilled with Pigtail hardware I'm not sure when I'll get to try it. I replaced the bridge on that '59 (original is in the case). It not only improved intonation, but tone, harmonics and sustain as well! I even bought one of those Dano DC's with the Badass and installed one of these babies and now it's a tone monster.(I upgraded the electronics as well.)
Pigtail is just the best of the best as far as tone, craftsmanship, and long-term reliability. It might cost a little more, but it's definitely worth it. I'd also highly recommend using Pigtail hardened steel studs and bushings if you want a dynamic, open, and rich vintage-style tone.
Tonepros might be a better choice for guys who want a high gain sound. But with the Pigtail bridge, you're just getting the best of the best. Up there with Jay Montrose's great stuff!

Gabe MacDonnell  NYC Read my reviews (3)
5 9-11-2010
The Perfect Match!

Absolutely the perfect match for your Junior. Perfect intonation, low string height. I've tried most of the others, this is worth the $90 bucks!
Be sure to get the Tone Pros studs,they will eliminate any lean with whatever bridge you use.

Jay Riling  Jersey Shore
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 64 of our latest catalog.


Les Paul® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce