Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric guitar, Tune-o-matic parts : String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles

String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles


Read 13 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Play longer and harder without breaking strings! Reduce string breakage by installing super-slick String Saver™ polymer saddles in your Tune-o-matic bridge.

See details below

Email a friend
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3091 String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles Yes
$29.26
3 or more $25.12  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Black TUSQ XL Nuts



Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge



Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles



Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddle Screws



Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddle Screws
Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Microscopic "ball-bearing" lube action makes them more slippery than graphite. M3 x .5 thread, pre-slotted. Sets of 6.

Fits our Nashville Tune-o-matic bridge, and most Nashville Tune-o-matics on post-2000 Gibson® guitars.

Intonation screws not included.

GraphTech material is Boron PolyTrinate.

Tip: Slotting Tune-o-matic style saddles
Nut slotting files work great for metal saddles. Simply use the same techniques you'd use for nut slotting (read more in Making a Nut, Step-by-Step). After filing to the desired depth, we suggest polishing the slot with Mitchell's Abrasive Cord to remove file marks and burrs.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 13 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 5-12-2013
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles

they were tricky to install... despite they were the right model for the particular guitar, they did not align properly and needed some filing and adjustment. Once in place, they did the job and solved the tuning problems

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-03-2013
Graph tech saddles

Entire installation took around 30 min , I was almost done when last saddle came apart , I glued it together just to play for awhile . After reporting problem to StewMac received new parts free of charge . Fantastic customer service. My nr 1 place for all guitar parts and tools

Darek J.  New York Read my reviews (2)
5 3-09-2013
Great Product

I wasn't having broken string issues so that's not why I installed these saddles in all of my Gibson Guitars. I only use the G,B,&E, string saddles in my bridges. Why, I like to cut the brightness a touch with these. Others use Nylon saddles but in my opinion Nylon is to soft of material. Delrin would be a better choice. I was going to machine my own saddles, however, I can't make them this cheap. No discernible sustain loss unless you play at extremely low volumes. What I do like about them is you can tailor fit these for height with a simple jewelers file. I would recommend these if your searching to achieve a darker bark from your Les Paul or SG. I play blues, in your face dark snarling solo's and these give me the tone I'm looking for. Yes, I do recommend this product.

Toolman  Hawthorne, Ca.
1 12-21-2012
Not happy.

Not excited. I'm 45 minutes into installing these in the the Stew mac Nashville bridge what is recommended. I have been a Luthier for 15 years never written a review about a product but this one just it no fun to install. Like I said I'm 45 minutes in and only have 3 installed on the bridge and my thumb is bleeding. I will not buy again. As one of the other reviews said. ( These are NOT universal fit ) What a pain. If I did not need to get this guitar out today I would send them back..

Coochycooty  San Diego
5 10-19-2012
Perfect fit, great tone

I bought these saddles to replace the steel saddles in my Tone Pros Nashville style bridge. I installed the saddles less than 5 minutes. The pre cut slots fit my strings (.010-.048) well. The tonal improvement was immediately noticed. The G string was free from that overtone that also seems to haunt TOM style bridges and every note is more articulate. I did not change strings after the saddle swap. The folks who use my guitar to audition my amps or record in my studio also commented positively on the change. I will be back for more for my other TOM style bridges.

whittamps  Groton CT Read my reviews (3)
5 5-20-2012
Making a Les Paul even better

Iwas having minor tuning problems with my MIJ Epiphone Les Paul Custom. I'm using a "Les Trem" and the guitar would get out of tune quickly. I substituded the brass saddles with the graphite saddles in the Nashville bridge & now this LP shounds better than ever & stays in tune! Fantastic!

Ancient Picker  Tucson, Az Read my reviews (5)
4 4-04-2012
Good Stuff

I purchased the String Savers because my Fender Esprit was breaking the G string at the saddle. I play strictly slide on this axe so the saddle is raised putting a more acute angle on the strings. I have only been using them for a couple of months but no broken strings so far. I also put them on a Strat I use for slide and they cut the friction on the string so its much easier to stay in tune.
In each case I managed to break a piece during assembly (duh) but no problem. Stew Mac sent me a replacement each time pronto. Great customer service!

hardnails  Southern CA
4 3-24-2012
For Nashville Bridge only

These are very nice saddles. They have a slightly mellower tone than the original saddles, but not muted. I have graphtech saddles in a Fender type hardtail bridge as well, and they really shine there. The only caution here is that I used these on an Ibanez bridge, which is closer to a Gotoh bridge than a Nashville, and there was some trimming necessary for fit. Probably should have switched out the bridge as well....

Stewart  Vermont Read my reviews (2)
5 1-17-2012
Does the Trick !!!

Fitted these to my Les Paul Studio. Had chronic string breaking problems for many years due to my heavy right hand technique.These babies solved the problem in under an hour. Easy to fit & have also made tuning smoother. I wish I would have had these 15 years ago..Ernie Ball has made a lot of money from me in that time : )

Knighty  Brisbane-Australia
4 11-22-2011
great stringsavers !!!

Put these on a 2009 lespaul Gold top. It was a good move for saving strings.
Did a little tuning on the shoulders for a perfect fit !

stijnkenens  Antwerp Belgium Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 63 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce