Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric Guitar Bridges : Schaller Roller Bridge

Schaller Roller Bridge


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Schaller's unique variation of the Tune-o-matic bridge features low-friction roller saddles for smoother tuning and tremolo action.

See details below

Email a friend
Schaller Roller Bridge
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1266 Chrome Yes
$51.34
3 or more $44.61  

1266-G Gold Yes
$61.15
3 or more $53.71  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Model B70 Bigsby Vibrato



Bigsby B50 Vibrato



ResoMax Wrap Bridge



Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Model B70 Bigsby Vibrato
Bigsby B50 Vibrato
ResoMax Wrap Bridge
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
Guitar Player Repair Guide



Details
 Pictures
Specs
These intonation-adjustable brass saddles allow adjustable string spread, and are angled slightly for correct alignment with the offset mounting studs and threaded bushings. The bridge can be used with standard Gibson® guitar tailpieces.

Adjustable
string spread

1-29/32" to 2-1/4"
(48.42mm to 57.15mm)
Saddle radius
14"
(355.60mm)
Post spacing
2-29/32"
(73.82mm)
Stud threads
M5 coarse


About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




Positioning the bridge
Find bridge placement for any scale with our free online tool fret position calculator.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 39 < 1  2  3  4
5 4-21-2011
MIM Telecaster Bigsby mod

OK - so at first I just countersank the original Tele bridge with the Bigsby to get clearance - but that didn't work out. Too much rattle. Then, I ordered the Shaller Roller Bridge, did some slight mods to the Tele body and WOW!
The Shaller roller bridge conversion on my MIM Telecaster is done. Sounds great - action set up really easily - and the intonation was a cinch! It looks great and plays like a dream - nicely returning to pitch after a bend.

I've enclosed some pics of the process over the last 2 days.

Thanks for the awesome product!!

chrisMIM  Mesa, AZ
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-13-2011
High Quality Bridge

I've used 2 so far, and these are slowly becoming my standard non-trem bridge, along with a tailpiece. Its comfortable to play on, is nicely machined, and can't imagine using any others. For me, I never know what I'm going to make, and whatever that turns out be, I know that I have almost every kind of adjustability, except radius, but you can't have everything.

The only thing I would improve is to make one available in a 16" radius for compound radius fingerboards, but the fact that it's 14 is already cool. Overall, very classy looking, has string spacing adjustability which is great for me because I never know what I'm going to build, whether it be a standard type neck like Fender, or more of a wider shred neck like Ibanez, so this is the best option for me right now. AND, it feels awesome to play on. I ask you, who doesn't love hardware made in Germany?

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-10-2011
Simply the Best

Excellent metal, finish and fit. TOM's can be a pain to set up especially if your client is picky. This Bridge pleases even the most fanatical musician. No other brand of roller bridge is considered at our shop.
Greg Guitars

doc  southport, nc Read my reviews (11)
5 2-18-2011
Most Versatile Bridge

The huge advantage with this bridge is being able to adjust the distance between strings as well as forward and back. I have a tune o matic bridge, which is GREAT, however the distance between strings is fixed. This Schaller bridge is more versatile and will accommodate any size (width) guitar neck, any gauge strings, and yet, in my case at least, it still fit like a glove on the bridge posts! Well worth the extra expense. Yeah Stewmac!

Jonesy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 1-27-2011
Got Bigsby?

This item is a must have for anyone with a Bigsby tailpiece. Just like the item description states, it will fit on standard Gibson posts. My only complaint is that they do not come in nickel. Also, the rollers are NOT locked down, so be careful when you change your strings. Great item. Thanks Stewmac

KBH757  Newport News
5 1-24-2011
Thing of beauty

Schaller's product has been a great replacement for the original ebony bridge on my Hagstrom HJ-500.
Having control over string spacing and intonation (along with the 14 inch radius to match the fretboard), has noticeably improved my guitar's performance. The difficult part was carving a new rosewood bridge and fitting it to the archtop surface. The thumbscrew threads required a little shortening in order to achieve very low action. Otherwise the modification went smoothly.

This roller bridge is an excellent piece of engineering which has set me up for a Bigsby B6 tailpiece the next time I change my strings.

S.E.Vincent  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-30-2010
Versatile Value

I have been using these 3-axis bridges for years. First, they fit right into the Gibson USA bridge studs, so it is a transparent change-over.
Initially, the reason I bought this bridge was to custom space the string gap for easier playing or to better line-up with the pick-up screws.
A second benefit is that the "rollers" do not pinch the strings, nor are there any saddle burrs, so you get no string pinching = no string breakage!
Also, this would be a good bridge to use with a Bigsby vibrato set-up. The way that the elevation screws fit-up with the body of the bridge allows a lot of surface area contact.
Recently, I acquired an Gibson SG thru E-bay that had a bad alignment set-up between the stop bar to the nut (the stop bar was slightly off-center)and the high E string was too far in-board, the bass E string too close to the edge of the neck. Switching from the Nashville bridge to this bridge resolved all of this potential problem in a heart-beat.
I really love this product, I have 8 of them so far. This is money well-spent!

citadel264  Mt. Prospect, IL
5 11-11-2010
Must-have with a Bigsby

I recently purchased an Epiphone Wildkat, which comes with a Bigsby from the factory. Everything about the guitar drew me to it, and once I had it in my hand a few things came to surface immediately. The first was that this was, indeed, what I had been looking for in a hollow body guitar. The second was that the bridge was woefully inadequate. I suddenly knew why everyone complains about guitars not staying in tune with a Bigsby in play.

My local tech recommended a roller bridge, and I ultimately settled on the Schaller. It has done wonders for the Wildkat, both increasing the sustain of the guitar (thanks to greater mass) and completely eliminating the need for constant tuning. I can't imagine playing the guitar without this bridge.

It is worth noting that the Schaller is NOT a direct drop-in replacement for the Wildkat's factory bridge. ***CHECK ALL YOUR MEASUREMENTS BEFORE BUYING*** With a little cleverness and reckless abandon, I was able to install it (without using a single tool), but not everyone may be so lucky. It really is best to plan ahead and know things will work.

In short, I wouldn't trade this bridge for any other.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
4 5-27-2010
Works great with a Bigsby

I'd always dreamt of making a 'Tele' with a Bigsby and TV Jones pickups but finding a suitable bridge was a problem. I took the plunge and tried the Schaller roller bridge in conjunction with the Bigsby and TV Jones pups. The Schaller has a fixed 14" radius, which is why I rated it 4 instead of 5. To compensate, I had to make a conical fretboard, 7.25" to 12", and tilted the neck back 1.5 degrees. The adjustable string spacing and the roller saddles result in perfect matching of the strings to the pup pole pieces, and I have no problems keeping the guitar in tune, thanks to the roller saddles.

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 31 – 39 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 63 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce