Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric Guitar Bridges : Schaller Roller Bridge

Schaller Roller Bridge


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Schaller's unique variation of the Tune-o-matic bridge features low-friction roller saddles for smoother tuning and tremolo action.

See details below

Email a friend
Schaller Roller Bridge
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1266 Chrome Yes
$51.34
3 or more $44.61  

1266-G Gold Yes
$61.15
3 or more $53.71  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Model B70 Bigsby Vibrato



Bigsby B50 Vibrato



ResoMax Wrap Bridge



Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Model B70 Bigsby Vibrato
Bigsby B50 Vibrato
ResoMax Wrap Bridge
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
Guitar Player Repair Guide



Details
 Pictures
Specs
These intonation-adjustable brass saddles allow adjustable string spread, and are angled slightly for correct alignment with the offset mounting studs and threaded bushings. The bridge can be used with standard Gibson® guitar tailpieces.

Adjustable
string spread

1-29/32" to 2-1/4"
(48.42mm to 57.15mm)
Saddle radius
14"
(355.60mm)
Post spacing
2-29/32"
(73.82mm)
Stud threads
M5 coarse


About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




Positioning the bridge
Find bridge placement for any scale with our free online tool fret position calculator.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 7-11-2012
Schaller Roller Bridge on Epiphone Casino Elitist

First thing this is a great bridge and in my humble opinion functions better than the stock elitist epiphone bridge (especially with a bigsby retrofit). The posts on the Schaller are wider than on my Japanese Epi Casino Eltist. But the width of the Schaller seemed spot on.
To adjust the bridge height I (v. carefully) cut a slot in the top of each post and then screwed them further in to lower the action (this was preferable to drilling a wider screw hole in the top of the elitist to take the Schaller posts!!) Took a little trial and error to get the action right, but was able to use the original Epi circular nuts for the bridge to rest on, so it is supported. So not a perfect drop in for a casino, but adaptable. Note: when I brought my elitist it was about half the current (and slightly scary RRP). If I'd paid today's price I wouldn't be mucking around with it and would prbably have referred the task to a guitar tech! The US pick ups on the Epiphone Elitist are great, and the body is nice. But I've got a much nicer neck on an 84 Casino - so am not 100% impressed with it and have hence been a bit gung ho with the hacksaw and drill. So it fits, but proceed with care :-)

CurtisCline  Wales
5 6-26-2012
Great Bridge!

I have been working on a project to "clean up" a 73 Gibson SG. Part of the project was installing a Bigsby tailpiece, which did not work very well with the original harmonica bridge on my SG. I was quite pleased with how well the Schaller Roller Bridge worked with the Bigsby, smooth and very responsive. Installation was a breeze. Very pleased with the item!

MJH  New York Read my reviews (3)
4 6-11-2012
Great when it fits

I bought a few of these to replace some of the ABR/Tune-o-matic bridges on my guitars with Bigsby tailpieces.

It fit great on my Gibson Midtown Custom, but sits far too high on floating bridges (like my Gretsch's) since the holes for the pegs don't go all the way through the bridge. They simply sit atop the posts. Unless I find some floating bridges with much shorter posts, these are not going to be able to go on a few guitars that I wanted.

I am not going to knock them for my own mistake at not doing enough research.

They appear to be wonderfully constructed and do not rattle. Tone seems the same as the ABR bridge. I don't feel as though the guitar lost any sustain.

Gabbo  Sherman Oaks, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-06-2012
Wow

Very good

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
5 5-23-2012
Schweet

This bridge is the bomb. Problems with intonation and string alignment are things of the past for me now. If you have an Epiphone, check the other reviews for installation as it's not just a drop-in replacement. The mounting bushing needs to be inserted in the existing bushing. I routed mine out with a Dremel, but apparently others just tapped it straight in with a nylon mallet.

davideo  San Francisco, CA
5 5-06-2012
Nice piece

Does the job super well But the height adjusters that came on my Gibson ES-339 can't spin freely (and can't be replaced by the Schaller ones that came with the bridge due to Gibosn's peg design) and so getting the action just right is a but of a hassle. I'm willing to put up with it, but if they machined a little more room in the bottom of the bridge then it would work perfectly.

mattywohl  Great Barrington, MA Read my reviews (2)
5 5-02-2012
This is the one you want

This is the perfect bridge replacement for a Tune-O-Matic. This is the roller bridge that fits the Nashville style studs without modification. If you put a Bigsby on your Les Paul, use this bridge. Also, if you use the Vibramate, you can use a B-5 Bigsby and this bridge, and you're good to go. Also don't forget the Nut Sauce for the nut. You'll be wangin' and twangin' in no time.

Scone Mason  Los Angeles, CA
4 4-30-2012
Fine german engineering...mostly

I recently bought the Schaller roller bridge as a replacement for a Gibson Tune-a-matic on a used Gibson "Classic" series SG; the previous owner had attempted to slot the saddles on the factory bridge and has used something far too coarse, leaving the slots much too wide for the string gauge. This resulted in a very dissonant tone to the axe, even though the intonation was correct.

The Schaller bridge sounds solid and correct, giving much enhanced "sono-coupling" through the bridge to the body, and the lack of consonance in the tone is gone...really rings like a bell now!

My only criticism is that the string spacing adjustment is very easy to disturb, as the rollers are very easy to move around on their threads and don't lock down in any way. When changing strings, one must be very careful not to drag the new string through the slot in the roller or it can become completely displaced. I may try putting a dab of clear nail polish on the threads either side of the roller saddles to keep them in place, but it does beg the question of how well this bridge would work with a Bigsby if I ever decided to add one.

Apart from this, however, I find that the bridge is a big improvement over the standard Tune-a-matic in terms of the enhanced tone and better intonation. I also like that the posts for the height adjustment thumb-wheels do not come through the top of the bridge...presents a much smoother, snag-free profile and just plain looks better. I really would give this 5 stars except for the touchy string spacing adjustment; perhaps a finer machine thread would improve this...?

YoungTurq  Oregon coast Read my reviews (6)
5 3-18-2012
Perfect Gibson Nashville Drop-in Replacement

I like to fingerpick my acoustic and electric guitars. Matching the string spacing at the bridge for both is a BIG plus. The pickups and string spacing from the fingerboard edge easily support 2 3/16" spacing which matches my dreadnought. Nice!

Jon F  Allentown, PA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-14-2012
Perfect Drop-in Replacement for Gibson Nashville TOM

Studs screw perfectly into Gibson inserts and bridge mounts perfectly to replace a modern Gibson Nashville TOM. With the roller saddles I was able to increase the string spacing from 2" to 2+2/16", and match my acoustic guitar. Nice! It appears that the stud holes on the underside of the bridge are somewhat oblong and might also accommodate studs on the older ABR-1 post spacing.

Jon F  Allentown, PA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 63 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce