Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric Guitar Bridges : Locking Roller Bridge

Locking Roller Bridge


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Low-friction grooved saddles roll freely with a tremolo so your strings always return to pitch. Adjustable for precise intonation.

See details below

Email a friend
Locking Roller Bridge
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5276 Chrome Yes
$29.95
3 or more $26.45  

5276-G Gold Yes
$33.95
3 or more $29.95  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gotoh Stop Tailpiece



Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings



Schaller Roller Bridge



Wilkinson/Gotoh Adjustable Bridge/Tailpiece



Bigsby B5 Vibrato



Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Schaller Roller Bridge
Wilkinson/Gotoh Adjustable Bridge/Tailpiece
Bigsby B5 Vibrato



Details
 Pictures
Specs
String
spread
Saddle
radius
Post
spacing
Post
threads
2"14"2-29/32"M8 x 1.25

This unique post-mounted brass bridge has low-friction grooved roller saddles for smooth string return, plus advanced features for improved intonation stability. The holes for the bridge posts are elongated to allow overall intonation adjustment, and allen screws lock the bridge to the posts. The reversible roller saddles are individually adjustable for precise string intonation, and also lock to the bridge with allen screws. Allen wrench and thumbwheel mounting posts with bushings are included.

SAVE when you buy a roller bridge paired with a Bigsby Vibrato Tailpiece:
With Bigsby B50: Locking Roller Bridge with Bigsby B50 Vibrato
With Bigsby B70: Locking Roller Bridge with Bigsby B70 Vibrato

About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 12-15-2012
Roller Bridge

Very nice unit. Drops on to every metric guitar that I have put it on (4). Intonates very easily with supplied allen wrench. Excellent rollers. Quality at a good price.

DAVID SEIBERT  everett, wa Read my reviews (2)
5 12-14-2012
Major playability upgrade for SG with Bixby

I bought my Gibson SG deluxe (with rare factory Bigsby) in 1973. Soon after, I installed a wider-adjustment bridge so I could use ultra Slinkys and get the intonation right. The Bigsby never worked as well as I had hoped for. It would not reliably return in tune after bing used, so I seldom used it.

So fast forward almost 30 years later, and I bought this roller bridge from Stew-mac. The string spacing and arc was a perfect match for my SG. I did have to "egg-out" the stud holes a bit, and pad them with a little gaffer tape to get them snug, plus some counter-bore to get the bridge to set low enough.

After installing it, I tweaked the truss rod and set the action and intonation.

Shock! It was like getting a new guitar! The action is sooo low and fast, and no fret buzz at all! I am playing this SG for hours now until my grip gets tired and my fingers hurt! The action was NEVER this good, even when the SG was new. The Bigsby returns to perfect tune every time.

Thanks, Stew-mac! This was the best 30 bucks I ever spent on a guitar.

PauldB  Charlotte, NC
5 10-04-2012
Fixed two problems with Guitar Kit

After finishing an ES style guitar kit I found I drilled the bridge holes about 1/16 inch short and the high E string broke at the bridge indication a possible sharp edge on the stock bridge. I would love to say I installed the new bridge in five minutes but the holes were 3/64 inch wide. After sanding down the diameter of the post I was able to set the intonation and no more broken strings. Great product

RBM  Atlanta, Ga
5 6-22-2012
What should have been

Put this on a guitar that I just couldn't get the intonation right. After installing everything went smooth.

Terry B  Louisville, Oh
5 6-15-2012
Artcore Application

I read a suggestion on the Ibanez Forum, that this particular roller bridge was a much better value and quality than the bridge made by Ibanez. I am truely amazed and satisfied with this item. After my initial setup (10 min.),it took me about 5 minutes to adjust the bridge height and to intonate. 15 minutes total time to end up with better intonation, less tuning, better sound from my Bigsby Vibrato, and a better feel on the side of my right hand (I have a tendency to rest my picking hand on the bridge). I highly recommend this item.

Artcore Kelly  Omaha, NE
5 6-09-2012
Great Product and Service

I originally ordered this product along with a few other things. Lo and behold, it was missing from the order when it came. A quick call to StewMac and they shipped another one out right away, which got here two days later. To boot, the bridge dropped right into my Penco Japanese SG clone with a Bigsby, and really does a great job keeping it in tune.

Sea Level Sound  Portsmouth, RI Read my reviews (5)
5 5-27-2012
Finally

I use this bridge on all my Gibson's. I even suggest them for my customers. Stew Mac doesn't price it way up there either. This bridge locks to the posts. The rollers save on string breakage and help keep you in tune. Teamed up with a good slippery nut and locking tuners, ya can't go wrong.

BKJ  Va Read my reviews (3)
4 5-16-2012
Good for Bigsbys

I've used this with both a Gretch Baritone and an Epiphone Les Paul. With these bridges a decent teflon nut and locking tuners the guitars hold tune wonderfully. My only two complaints would be that the rollers cannot be removed from the chassis they sit in (if you notice on the les paul I didn't paint them). I would like to see some type of replacement roller I could buy in the future kind of like what Kahler tremolos have, though barring that I would buy again. The second complaint is color which I also wish there were more variety. Though, I can say firsthand (and from the image of my les paul) it is possible to paint these as long as you use car paint a number of coats, with a clear coat on top. But only if you're okay leaving the part with the roller in it chrome and not painting it. This means painting the posts and the metal base only (I reiterate do not paint the rollers). As far as maintenance goes it's recommend you oil the rollers on occasion.

Flintkid  Clarksville, TN
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-21-2012
This bridge works!

I have an Epiphone Riviera P93 that would refuse to stay in tune and this bridge made the instrument much more dependable and it stays in tune.

TimK  Lincoln, NE Read my reviews (3)
5 2-10-2012
Fixed a Near-Fatal Production Line Mistake

Purchased a Left-Hand Hagstrom Ultra Swede, which was equipped with a Gotoh Tune-O-Matic. Problem was not with the bridge, but the stud placement, which had the slight angle of a production RIGHT-hand model. The bridge did not have the travel required for .09-.046 custom light strings, as well as the odd look of the bridge angle.

After much research, the roller bridge had the required spacing, stud size and the fully adjustable stud adjustments, just what I needed. Item arrived quickly, and with minimal effort, I had the roller bridge installed and adjusted perfectly. Fit and finish is great for this price, and stud adjusters fit standard M8 threads.

This beautiful guitar was saved from functional disappointment by Stew Mac.

Thanks!

Dave Miller  Smithfield, VA
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 62 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce