Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Archtop guitar bridges : Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar

Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar


Read 28 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Tune-o-matic mounted on top of a rosewood base. The ideal upgrade for more accurate intonation on archtop and semi-hollow electrics.

See details below

Email a friend
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3958-G Gold Yes
$39.84
3 or more $35.74  
6 or more $32.16  

3958 Nickel Yes
$30.59
3 or more $27.53  
6 or more $24.60  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Archtop Guitar Bridge



Archtop Bridge with Bone Saddle



Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig



Grover Imperials

Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup



Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Bridge with Bone Saddle
Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig
Grover Imperials
Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup



Details
 Pictures
Specs
String
spread
Saddle
radius
Post
spacing
Post
threads
2-3/64"12"2-29/32"M4 x .7


The height is thumbwheel-adjustable from 1" to approximately 1-1/4". Saddles are pre-slotted and adjustable to set accurate string intonation.

About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




Positioning the bridge
Find bridge placement for any scale with our free online tool fret position calculator.


Tip: Slotting Tune-o-matic style saddles
Nut slotting files work great for metal saddles. Simply use the same techniques you'd use for nut slotting (read more in Making a Nut, Step-by-Step). After filing to the desired depth, we suggest polishing the slot with Mitchell's Abrasive Cord to remove file marks and burrs.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 28 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 28 < 1  2  3
5 4-03-2011
Smile-o-matic

Another great product guys. Looks fantastic. Very high quality!! Am currently fitting to a 1970's model Melody archtop acoustic, will post some pix when it's done.

Millz Project  Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 3-28-2011
Archtop Bridge

I purchased this bridge for a restoration of a mid '60s Harmony thin-line archtop electric guitar. A Gotoh Tune-O-Matic bridge and base for this price is a real bargain. Thanks for another top quality product from my friends at Stew-Mac.

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
5 2-17-2011
A Must Have

I bought a Gretsch Synchromatic G400 Archtop acoustic guitar. It is brand new but a reissue of the G400 made in the 1940s. The bridge is one piece of wood. Very nice, but impossible to get the guitar in perfect tune. Old technology and all that! Simple solution. Get the "tune o matic". It fits like a glove on the original base. Tuning each string individually allows perfect pitch (goodbye annoyance factor), yet you can put the wooden bridge back on anytime to restore it to original antique. Win, Win,Win! Thanks to Stewmac again!

Jonesy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (3)
4 2-09-2011
nice replacement bridge

Nice replacement bridge. I purchased this as an upgrade for my Gretsch Electromatic 6125 which had a non-adjustable bridge. The StewMac bridge is slightly narrower than my original but you can't really notice. I used a little Teak oil on the rosewood prior to installing it and that really brought out the detail in the wood.

mlannoo  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (2)
5 1-08-2011
Bridge replacement for Ibanez GB-10

I have a 1978 Ibanez GB-10 George Benson model guitar. This is the first model year of this instrument and I have owned it since 1981. For years, I had wished I could do a precision intonation but could not because of the standard archtop-style wooden pin bridge. I did not want to destroy the integrity of the guitar by installing something that was non-standard, and also didn't know what the Tune-O-Matic style bridge would do to the guitar's tone.

Well, I went ahead and ordered this bridge, figuring there was little risk since the bridge floats (not permanently attached to the guitar body). When I installed the bridge, I swapped its wooden mounting foot with the old inlaid one from the original Ibanez bridge - it fit perfectly. I located the new bridge to center it based on the original bridge location (just mark the location of the old one before you remove it with post-it notes), strung the guitar up, tuned up, intonated the bridge as I would for any of my other guitars, and in my opinion it sounds better than before - maybe just a bit brighter, but still warm and jazzy.

N. Pela  Phoenix, AZ
5 12-03-2010
Archtop Bridge

This bridge was a perfect fit for an Epiphone Emperor II Joe Pass. It brightened the guitar right up. The fit to the top was great. I lined up the saddles to match the wooden bridge and placed it in the same position. Worked like a charm.

PaulJ  Washington State
4 11-24-2010
A good solution for a good price

I had to replace a broken bridge on a cheap archtop. This bridge solved the problem and vastly improved the tone, for a low price. It needed to be sanded down about 1 mm, but it worked fine. Thanks, StewMac! Mike Hart

covert gitarist  Woodstock, CT
5 10-07-2010
Intonation at last

My old Gibson with the trapeze bar bridge was corroded and no individual string adjustment for Intonation.
This bridge plus a new tail piece allowed me to fix that.
I had to sand about 1/16ths inch off the bottom for the correct string height and it works great.

Pvee  maineville, Oh.
Displaying 21 – 28 < 1  2  3 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 69 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce