Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Archtop guitar bridges : Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar

Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar


Read 28 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Tune-o-matic mounted on top of a rosewood base. The ideal upgrade for more accurate intonation on archtop and semi-hollow electrics.

See details below

Email a friend
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3958-G Gold Yes
$39.84
3 or more $35.74  
6 or more $32.16  

3958 Nickel Yes
$30.59
3 or more $27.53  
6 or more $24.60  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Archtop Guitar Bridge



Archtop Bridge with Bone Saddle



Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig



Grover Imperials

Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup



Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Bridge with Bone Saddle
Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig
Grover Imperials
Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup



Details
 Pictures
Specs
String
spread
Saddle
radius
Post
spacing
Post
threads
2-3/64"12"2-29/32"M4 x .7


The height is thumbwheel-adjustable from 1" to approximately 1-1/4". Saddles are pre-slotted and adjustable to set accurate string intonation.

About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




Positioning the bridge
Find bridge placement for any scale with our free online tool fret position calculator.


Tip: Slotting Tune-o-matic style saddles
Nut slotting files work great for metal saddles. Simply use the same techniques you'd use for nut slotting (read more in Making a Nut, Step-by-Step). After filing to the desired depth, we suggest polishing the slot with Mitchell's Abrasive Cord to remove file marks and burrs.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 28 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 1-05-2014
Nice addition to my jazzbox

I really needed to do something with intonation on my Broadway and did not want to carve a new bridge. The tune-o-matic did the trick. I could not use the supplied base with the bridge, or rather I choose not to. After cutting the base down to have a reasonable action,it required so much trimming the two feet were pretty small square inch-wise. I just did not that much bridge pressure concentrated on two small areas. The bridge did fit on the stock base which comes in contact to the guitar's the width of the base. After I had the action to my liking, the intonation was easily set using my Peterson StroboClip. The bridge looks great and the guitar sounds and plays even better!

Archtop Bill  Asheville NC Read my reviews (6)
5 12-07-2013
muy bueno

puente colocado en mi epi joe pass, pequeño ajuste en la altura de la base de madera ,excelente afinacion y sustain.

dexter  españa Read my reviews (2)
5 11-06-2013
Huge Improvement

Huge improvement to my Gretsch 5120. The factory bridge was awful. If you have an older one with the original bridge on it then you know of the dreaded rattle. The good news was that I was able to use the original wood piece which made the install way easier. I do wish it was a little more robust but it was cheep and it works... Vastly improved intonation.

DanDanTheGuitarMan  Laconia, NH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-21-2013
tune-o-matic bridge

tightened up and brightened sound on my Godin 5th ave. archtop w/single p90!

jd foreman  tacoma WA
5 2-13-2013
Great choice

I bought two of these in gold..one for my Epi Joe Pass and the other for my Epi Emperor Regent.The main reason was because I put an ebony tailpiece on the Emperor(also from Stew) and it was the only way to ground the strings. But it also looks great and it makes for exact intonation. I wish Stew would have had an ebony base for them , but I stained them with the ebony fingerboard stain. My guitars look and sound beautiful thanks to Stew.

7strings  New York Read my reviews (2)
5 12-27-2012
Great Bridge

Quality product. Pleanty of room for sanding to fit my archtop hollow body.

IBstrummin  Frederick, CO Read my reviews (2)
5 10-24-2012
Not bad at all.

I put this bridge on a gretsch 5120 for a friend. This item is much better than the bridge that came with the guitar. He had a rattelig noise from the old one. The noise is gone, the guitar has a better tone and my freind is happy. All at a pretty good price. What more can you ask for?

Norwegian dude  Norway Read my reviews (2)
5 10-20-2012
Tune-o-matic Bridge for Archtop

Fitted to Heritage H-575, Nice, bright and articulate.

TimK  Lincoln, NE Read my reviews (3)
5 7-22-2012
works perfect

I put this bridge on a 1968 Conrad guitar. All I can say is that it is Great. Thank you very much.

Dave Fowler  Andalusia Ala USA
5 4-02-2012
Great product

As usual a great product from Stewmac, used it on an Epiphone Emperor, my client took me on the road for a festival in México city, changed it in less than 30 minutes (the old bridge was way too damaged) a little filing on the 6th and 5th saddles and the guitar was ready to go! intonation adjustment improved and he played a great show!

Pepis Room studio & guitar care  México
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 69 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce