Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Acoustic guitar bridge pins : Ivoroid Bridge Pins

Ivoroid Bridge Pins


Read 35 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Hand-turned, vintage style.
High quality, precisely machined with no mold lines.

See details below

Email a friend
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4965 Unslotted, no dot, set of 6 Yes
$7.58
6 or more $5.89  

4966 Unslotted, with black dot, set of 6 Yes
$9.58
6 or more $8.83  

4965-S Slotted, not dot, set of 6 Yes
$9.74
6 or more $7.79  

4966-S Slotted, with black dot, set of 6 Yes
$13.45
6 or more $10.76  

4979-S Slotted, oversized with no dot, set of 6 Yes
$9.74
6 or more $7.79  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Ivoroid Bridge Pins with Abalone Inlay



Bridge Pin Hole Reamer



Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files



Ivoroid Endpin



StewMacs Guitar Strap Button



Ivoroid Bridge Pins with Abalone Inlay
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
Ivoroid Endpin
StewMac Guitar Strap Button



Details
 Pictures
Specs
All pins have a 5-degree taper. Slotted pins have a 0.070" (1.78mm) string slot. Oversized pins are thicker for worn bridge pin holes. Sold in packages of 6.

Jewelry for your guitarA vintage material is reborn
Our ivoroid bridge pins, endpins and strap buttons are made of Galalith, a dense and durable casein-based material that polishes beautifully. Popular in the early 20th century, Galalith is found today in collectible vintage jewelry. It cannot be molded; each pin is precisely machined and has none of the unsightly mold lines common to plastic pins.

Our ivoroid pins match our endpins and the knobs on Waverly guitar tuning machines.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 35 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 10-05-2012
Looks better than original

Good quality, looks good not expensive for low end instruments... or if you don't mind going cheap on your 5k instrument..

Tmc  Trinity Ala Read my reviews (5)
5 10-04-2012
Just What I Needed

I actually swapped my bone pins out for these. Well made, great price, great customer service. Just what I needed!

P.T. Murphy  Chicago, IL
5 8-20-2012
Beautiful pins!

Great high quality pins, made in Japan according to the packaging.

Unfortunately they did not fit my made in Japan Takamine guitar, but that's my fault for not checking first. These pins have a 5-degree taper, Takamine pros need pins with a 3-degree taper. Hopefully StewMac will soon offer them in that size too!

Bruno Goh Luse  Singapore Read my reviews (5)
5 8-12-2012
Perfect for the job

I bought these for a 1966 LG0.. These make any Gibson sound better becasue Gibson always starts with crummy plastic pins -even on the high end models...what can you say, its just Gibson....these look even better than real ivory too.. real Ivory has a kind of dull yellow patina.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
3 7-30-2012
4967-S - Inconsistent Abalone, May require fitting

I purchased 2 sets, but because of inconsistent quality of the Abalone dots, I was only able to get 6 decent looking pins out of 12. These pins have a very steep graduation. While this might work well out of the box for some older vintage model guitars, some of the newer ones will have less graduation in the pin holes, and would require either heavy reaming all of the holes, or shaving of all of the pins. So in my case, out of the box, these were not usable on the the quitar for which they were originally intended.

JBY  Arlington, WA Read my reviews (4)
5 7-13-2012
Beautiful

Really dress up your guitar and add a little more tone.

Bobby Wonder  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
5 4-19-2012
The best I've seen

I am restoring several old acoustic guitars and these are just absolutely beautiful. I also bought the bridgepin reamer because bridge pin sizes vary. I ended up with a great fit too.

JHW  Lexington, KY Read my reviews (12)
4 3-25-2012
Pinned

I have a Guild OO that lives in a somewhat damp environment so Galalith was my choice over wood or bone.

My feeling is that this material will be more stable over the long run, saving me from jammed or loose pins.

The comments I see about pins not fitting properly?

Not every guitar is identical thank goodness, so the pins a made a touch oversize so the bridge can be reamed to a perfect fit.

Imagine how we would feel if these fit loosely?

The missing star is for a not so great match on the abalone.

I put the darkest ones on the 1st and 6th string and tried to fade the lighter ones over the center...

I'm weird that way, lol!

To match abalone for superb quality, there are a load of cast-offs in a batch of dots, but I would pay a couple of dollars more for perfection.

Still, great product and very well machined!

John Chase  New York
5 3-19-2012
Quality

While these are plastic, they seem much more rigid than the plastic pins that came on my guitar, and they do seem to provide better volume. Balance seems the same as with the old plastic slotted pins, but sound is louder and it is perhaps a touch more complex. Notes seem cleaner after the slotted bridge/solid pin setup (except on one of my strings, which needs repair to the bridge plate.

In comparison with the ebony pins, I would say these have a bit more volume and sound less complex (lots of fundamental, though I can't compare to bone right now).

Good Product, would buy again (depending on the guitar i'm working on), and good service from stewmac.

chaphal3  Mi
5 2-20-2012
Great bridge pins, get the reamer

These ivroid bridge pins add a nice touch to my epi Masterbilt dread. They look rich and might even be adding to the sound. I didn't need the reamer for these but I could have used it for the ebony pins I put in an older Takamine.

hbgb  New Braunfels,Texas Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 61 of our latest catalog.


Waverly® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce