Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Books, plans : Building and repair: Guitar, electric : How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine
Updated 2nd edition comes with DVD full of setup and wiring tips! Get your autographed copy only at StewMac!

See details below

Email a friend
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5198 How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great! Yes
$22.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Basic Setup Kit



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Basic Setup Kit
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Details
 Pictures
You'll find no better book for doing your own setup and maintenance than this trusted guide from the world's best-known guitar repairman.

Dan Erlewine packed this second edition with more photo-illustrated tips for guitarists and technicians. He shares expert setup and adjustment techniques, with valuable trade secrets along the way.

Contents in brief
  • Evaluating a guitar, from headstock to tailpiece
  • Using the right tools (pop-out radius gauges are included free in the book)
  • Troubleshooting your setup
  • Personalizing the action and intonation
  • Professional players’ setup specs.
  • New: Guitar wiring and pickup replacement
  • New: DVD with setups for Strat,® Les Paul,® Floyd Rose® and bass, plus tips for wiring and truss rod adjustment. 48 minutes.

134 pages, softcover.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 38 < 1  2  3  4
5 12-06-2011
Must Have

Best book I've seen to get your axe ready to play! Gotta get another one for my brother.

Dakotah  Port Richey FL
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-24-2011
Great Book

This is a great book that follows a logical sequence & does a great job of giving explanations. I would recommend it to anyone from beginner to advanced. It offers a lot of trade secrets that really work. Buy it, read it, do it.. then "shut up & play your guitar." -Frank Zappa

Dave_G  Raleigh, North Carolina Read my reviews (2)
5 8-23-2011
This book's great!

I've been building and repairing guitars for over 10 years and this book has taught me tips that I didn't know. Great even for beginners, will help you to have a great playing guitar in no time. I suggest buying the set up tool kit that SM sells as well, worth the money!

Jim Bellon  Orlando, Florida
5 5-27-2011
Excellent Setup / Troubleshooting / Intonation Book

I have read this book cover to cover 5 times, setup 3 guitars, and now I can write a review. This is the first book I bought from StewMac and I will probably buy more. So many items on StewMac get 5 stars that it's hard to figure out what to buy. First and foremost, this is a ELECTRIC GUITAR SETUP book. Period. Neck relief, fretboard radius, string height, nut building, bridge work, tremolo setup, and some fret dressing. Nothing on electronics, little on woodwork, little on finishes and cleaning. I don't say that as a negative, only to help you figure out what to buy since StewMac sells so many training guides. It's absolutely worth the money and the included radius gauges are useful. One thing I would add - if you're not sure that your nut's string takeoff point is correct, tune the guitar using the standard open (unfretted) method, then fret it one, two or three frets and check with a chromatic tuner. Then check at the 12th and 15th frets and see where things are at. If the string is equally sharp at every fret but is okay when you tune it open (unfretted), then you need to bring the takeoff point closer to the frets and away from the headstock.

Joel_B  Syracuse, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 4-06-2011
Nice Book

This is a great book,I needed something for a Floyd Rose Tremolo and this book had it all,if you want to set up your own guitar,you gotta get this book, Happy playing, chasguitar.

chasguitar  Bristol Ind.
5 3-24-2011
Where has this book been all my guitar playing life?

This book rocks.

T Bone  Lake Havasu City, AZ. Read my reviews (3)
5 12-11-2010
Learn from a master

When it comes to electric guitars, Dan Erlewine has seen it all, and generously shares his knowledge, experience, and innovative solutions in this great book. If you want to buy, setup, repair, or build an electric guitar, buy this book and save yourself the learning curve.

Cone Guitar  Kihei, HI Read my reviews (3)
5 11-29-2010
Amazing Book!

The title of this book is simply not enough! The section on evaluating a guitar made me look at my guitars in a completely different light. I learned a huge amount of knowledge in only the first 25 pages!! If you are more of an electric guy like me, get this book. You'll NEVER pay for another guitar set-up in your life. It even comes with your own set of radius gauges. Dan Erlewine is a true guitar grand-master!

Aaron Schmidt  Spruce Grove, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 38 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce