Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Books, plans : Building and repair: Finishing : Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie
Published by Stewart-MacDonald. The definitive book for finishing guitars and fretted instruments.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5095 Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Airbrush Outfit



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Airbrush Outfit
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Details
 Pictures
Learn from the pros: materials, equipment and techniques, plus three dozen recipes for famous finishes. This book helps give you the confidence to finish new instruments, refinish old ones, and perform flawless touch-ups.

The expanded 2nd edition features color stain mixing charts, a color gallery of vintage finishes, and detailed recipes for recreating them with professional results. Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step focuses on nitrocellulose lacquer, the most common guitar finish, but also includes addditional information on varnishes, oils and French polishing. Dan Erlewine's color-illustrated essay guides you through the steps of modern waterbase finishing, too. 188 pages, softcover.

A partial list of contents:

Materials and tools
Abrasives • Solvents • Fillers • Colorants • Topcoats • Buffing materials and equipment

Techniques
The basics of spray equipment • Sanding • Buffing • Basic finishing steps

Recipes for popular finishes
Fender blond, sunbursts and solids • Gibson goldtop, cherry red and sunbursts • Basic Martin-style finish • Lots more!

Color gallery
Stain mixing color charts • Examples of vintage finishes • Waterbase finishing steps

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 39 < 1  2  3  4
3 1-07-2011
Very theoretical

This book is very theoretical, and contains not enough color-pictures. A finishing book in black and white? It focuses on nitro, no recipe for french-polishing or other varnish.
A bit disappointed.

Mack Guitarworks  Hungary/Europe Read my reviews (11)
5 11-26-2010
Amazing

Very well written book. Thank You for it. Will put up photos of the candy red Strat I built for my sisters friends dad

Johnny Star  Napa, CA Read my reviews (4)
5 11-18-2010
A Reassuring Read

I'm finishing my second guitar using ReRanch products. Although the ReRanch instructions are pretty good and their forum is helpful, using this book has given me a much clearer picture of the what's and why's and how's. Feeling like this second guitar will come out much better.
And, like a lot of Dan's books and videos, if you are into guitars, they make just plain entertaining reading. He and co-author DonMacRostie include history, anecdotes, and dozens of tips that only someone with their experience would know about. They are very generous about sharing their knowledge, and their love of everything guitar shines through.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
5 11-08-2010
Great book!

I've found this book really great, full of useful info and describing all the process from general ideas to practical details. It is focused mostly on nitro lacquer finishes though, and I am starting to think about French polishing shellac technique, so I will have to buy also your DVD focused on this :-). Your web is really The Source of professional info about lutherie, great job, many thanks!!!

Yarek  Prague, Czech rep. Read my reviews (2)
3 10-28-2010
EXCELLENT book with two problems

First, let me say that this book really is a "must-have" for anyone doing or planning to do guitar finishes. Truly a wealth of good information on what I believe to be the most challenging and arcane aspect of guitar construction.

This would absolutley be a five-star book except for two things, and I see them as significant:

1. The book has a few glossy color pages in the middle (and they are GREAT), but a book like this DESPERATELY wants to be full-color throughout, with many more photo-examples of what to look for and avoid in guitar finishing projects. At $29.95, I think there's really no excuse for this book not to be full-color glossy.

2. This was clearly originally written as a book for folks doing nitrocellulose lacquer finishes. A good (not great) attempt has been made to incorporate tips and instructions for finishing with waterborne products, but it feels as though the information was shoe-horned into the most recent edition(s). It can be at times unclear which remarks pertain only to nitro, which pertain to waterborne, and what applies to both. As more and more small scale builders and hobbyists switch to waterborne finishes, this book needs to take the topic more seriously, perhaps splitting into two editions -- on for nitro, one for waterborne.

I hope this review was helpful, and I hope the authors will consider my suggestions when they work on the next edition!

Sam K Shaw  Queens, NY
5 8-03-2010
Best for me!

I'm a novice,but I plan to start my own business building/finishing/repairing guitars!
This book is well written, easy to understand, and I'm doing some great looking work!
Thanks !

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-14-2010
Great Finishing Book

I just purchased your Guitar Finishing Step by Step.What an Eccellent book.I don't plan on doing any spray finishing but the section on stains and the recipes for two color stains was worth the price of the book for me.And if I do decide to ever do a spray finish with aerosols I'll have it covered.Thanks for a great book. I'll be using several of the recipes on current and future projects.

hotlickslynn  Alexandria,VA Read my reviews (6)
5 5-15-2010
My "go to book" for finishing

I received this book from my wife for christmas before my first guitar project, and now that I have done dozens of finishes on a variety of instruments, I never fail to refer to this great book. With step by step instructions it is a God send for the beginner, and a trusted companion for the established Luthier. With recipes, tips, step by step instruction, and color reference pages, I recommend this to anyone even thinking of finishing any woodworking project.

J Stotler  Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-13-2010
A must for guitar finishers!

The definitive book for finishes. You can dive deep in the finishing world, or following complete and easy schedules. You won't miss a detail with this book.

Luis García-Cascón  Madrid, Spain Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 31 – 39 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce