Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Mandolin: wood and parts : Mandolin Fingerboard

Mandolin Fingerboard


Read 12 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Flat or compound radius playing surface! Our kiln-dried ebony and rosewood fingerboards are accurately slotted for 29 frets and 13-7/8" scale length.

See details below

Email a friend
Mandolin Fingerboard
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2115 Ebony, compound radius Yes
$31.68

0762 Ebony, flat Yes
$26.36

0762-R Rosewood, flat Yes
$15.27


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Narrow Fretwire



Fret Cutter



Titebond Wood Glue



Fingerboard Band Clamp



Black Fingerboard Stain



StewMac Narrow Fretwire
Fret Cutter
Titebond Wood Glue
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Black Fingerboard Stain



Details
 Pictures
The .023"-wide fret slots are ready for our fretwire. Each fingerboard is supplied unprofiled (rectangular); you can simply cut it shorter to fit an A-style mandolin.

Available with traditional flat playing surface, or with modern compound radius surface for lower string action.

Dimensions: 1-15/16" x 12" x 13/64" (49.21mm x 304.80mm x 5.16mm)

Compound radius fingerboard: The playing surface radius gradually changes from 7-1/4" at the nut, to 10" at the 12th fret, to 12" at the 29th fret, to allow lower string action and easier playability. 13" bridge saddle radius is recommended. Learn more about compound radius with this Free Information Compound Radius: Explained.

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson®, Paul Reed Smith® and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Mandolin Fingerboard
Mandolin Fingerboard
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 12 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 1-11-2014
Great time saver at fantastic cost.

I'm making my first instrument so I'm no great expert but buying a fingerboard with the fret slots cut has saved me the cost of expensive fretting saws, etc. I am a joiner though and the fingerboard is of excellent quality rosewood. I would definitely recommend this fingerboard from my experience.

Paul From Devon  United Kingdom Read my reviews (2)
5 4-06-2013
Flat Ebony Mandolin Fingerboard.

The item was exactly as described in the catalogue. Removal of the first fret and trimming of the dusty end matched the scale length of the quality old banjolele I was restoring very closely. A touch of ebony stain blackened the slightly lighter streaks and it polished to a fine finish. It fretted solidly and easily and looks splendid on the instrument.

Colin Sillence  England
3 3-20-2013
I made it work

With ebony being so expensive and somewhat hard to get, I decided to make the one they sent me work. It wasn't exactly flat but then again, fretting never helps. I WILL ORDER AGAIN but hope for better quality next time

Fleer  Imperial, Mo. Read my reviews (29)
5 1-28-2013
Mandolin fret board

I used the mandolin fret board to make a Cigar Box Guitar / Mandolin. I am not yet done with the build. I have to stain the neck, then do a final glue up and assemble. I'm not sure how it will sound but hopefully it will sound good.

Chappy  New Mexico
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-02-2012
Flat ebony fretboard is perfect

This fretboard was installed on my F-5 mandolin. It had excellent color and didn't need dyeing. this is an excellent piece to use.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
4 11-06-2011
Nice but not perfect

It came fast as always but with a small crack that it is not nice

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
4 10-31-2011
Consistent quality

I have purchased a number of pre-slotted fretboards, both guitar and mandolin, from StewMac over the years, and they are of consistently good quality: the faces are always flat, the slots are always cleanly cut, with no fuzz or chips, and the wood choice is excellent. I have tried fretboards from others, and occasionally I get a more dramatic piece of wood, but not the same reliable quality. It means satisfied customers and less time on the workbench. I can cut my own slots if I get a weird order, but usually I order from StewMac.

Fred Hocker  Stockholm, Sweden Read my reviews (9)
5 10-12-2011
mandolin fretboard

I cut my own fretboards for my own builds, but for those starting out this is great. I use them for all my resoration projects

Foley String Instruments  Dallas, Texas Read my reviews (4)
5 9-08-2011
They are great!

I don't know why the other reviews only show 4 stars when there is no complaint to be had that was not promptly remedied. I have used two of these, and both had well-cut slots and an even radius.

Nick Waters  Brookfield, CT Read my reviews (3)
4 8-04-2011
Worth the Money

The Ebony was solid if a bit variable in color. The slots were precise and properly spaced. Saves me a lot of time.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce