Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar necks : Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar

Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Shaped, inlaid, fretted and finished - feels and plays great! Hard rock maple finished in clear satin polyurethane, with a walnut "skunk stripe" down the back.

See details below

Email a friend
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5715 Rosewood fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5716 Maple fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5713 Compound radius, rosewood fingerboard 3-4 weeks
$124.00
2 or more $111.60  
5 or more $100.44  

5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard Yes
$140.00
2 or more $126.00  
5 or more $113.40  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar String Retainers



Grover Midsize Rotomatics



Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners



Golden Age 63 Body for Strat



Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Guitar String Retainers
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Golden Age '63 Body for Strat
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Details
 Pictures
The 22 frets are nicely finished, and the nut is shaped and slotted. Maple or rosewood fretboard with dot inlays and side markers.

Screwholes for attaching to the body are not drilled. Each neck has a truss rod with a 4mm adjusting nut at the peghead. We recommend Allen Truss Rod Wrench for adjusting neck relief.

Peghead is drilled for 6-in-line tuning machines. 11mm-diameter holes fit sealed gear tuners with threaded peghead bushing. See all tuners.

Specifications
Scale length 25-1/2" (647.70mm)
Width at nut 1-11/16" (42.86mm)
Width at 22nd fret 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Fretwire .045" high x .095" wide (1.14mm x 2.41mm)
Approximate heel length 3-5/8" (92.07mm)
Fretboard radius 9-1/2" (241.30mm)

Compound radius necks
The fingerboard surface radius gradually changes from 9.5" at the nut, to 12" at the 22nd fret (241mm to 305mm), for lower action and cleaner string bending. 14.75" (375mm) bridge saddle radius is recommended.

Neck thickness (approximate; not including fret)


Ideally, the neck should just drop into the neck-pocket, or be a little snug. Don't force the neck into the pocket. If the body is unfinished, remember that the finish will make the neck pocket smaller with lacquer build up on the edge of the rout. Be sure to compensate for the finish buildup or the neck will be too tight after finishing.



Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck
Tweaking a replacement neck so it's ready to play
Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman pulls his old Strat out of mothballs and gives it a new neck. He shows what's needed to get a replacement neck ready to play.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 8-07-2011
Maple Strat neck

Nice dense tight grained neck for my son's new guitar. Perfect fretting. Lovely feel. Good price. With Gotohs, The Golden Age wired pearloid pickguard is next for the Hank/Hendrix tone he's chasing. Thanks.

Clive Doak  Victoria, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 7-31-2011
Great "bang for the $" neck!!

I got this neck for a Strat clone I was building. It arrived in near record time and the quality is above and beyond what I expected for the price. The neck & f/b are both high quality woods, the neck even has a good amount of "flame" in the grain. The frets are finished to perfection and follow the compound radius f/b w/o flaw. The trussrod is easy to adjust, and more functional than on many "factory" necks...it's also rattle free, which is VERY important. I followed StewMacs "trade secrets" section on installing Strat necks, and it went on flawlessly. It's settled in nicely requiring only 2 adjustments to reach perfect action. This neck has allowed me to have an action on a "budget home build" that matches my American Deluxe Strat, so I can't complain in way.

Blue Leroy  N.E.Alabama
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-21-2011
Great

I could not find better anywhere else
a great upgrade neck

Bumble  Atlanta,Ga. Read my reviews (18)
2 7-01-2011
Not as hoped

I was disappointed to find that this neck is a Mighty Mite item. I find the fret ends not finished well, the fretboard edges are sanded roughly (100grit?)and not shaped evenly along the length of the neck. In general, the necks surface seems to need sanding to a smoother grit before finishing, or at the very least, should have another layer of lacquer on it. I am a luthier myself, and to maintain my standards of quality I feel as if I should resand and refinish this brand new neck, and that was NOT part of my plan or budget for this project. In the past I have ordered one of the Stewmac necks with the blank headstock lower edge, which was EXCELLENT quality, so much so that I had a hard time matching the quality of the finish after I cut and shaped the headstock edge. In summary I wish these strat replacement necks were up to the quality of the blank headstock necks.

Jonny 
5 6-06-2011
what a neck!!!

great neck, eally comfortable, one problem - the frets are a bit bites the hand but not too much

Artem Mor  Ashkelon Read my reviews (5)
5 6-05-2011
5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard

Just put one of these on my Line 6 James Tyler Variax (JTV-69B). I did not like the original neck on the JTV-69 (very tall frets and a chunkier neck). This is a Mighty-Might neck, but it's the bomb on this guitar. I also ordered Schaller Locking tuners from Stewmac. The neck had to be drilled to put it on the guitar, but anyone with decent skills can do this. The neck fit perfectly in the neck pocket of the JTV-69. The Stewmac neck had a light satin finish and wonderful fretwork. The JTV-69 is now an awesome guitar! I've got great guitar modelling and great playability now, with this replacement neck (for under $200)!

Alan Vance  Smithfield, VA, US
5 5-30-2011
replacement neck skeptic

when I first viewed the replacement necks I was a little skeptic about ordering because I was trying to assemble a guitar from three different manufacturers. I bolted the neck up temporary, marked my spots to drill the anchor posts for my tremolo, which I also ordered from StewMac and proceeded to install tremolo. I bolted the neck on to the body with my neck plate on, put strings on, adjusted my tremolo posts tuned the guitar and played a gig. the nut was already in place and the string grooves cut, I did not have to re-cut or fill the grooves, they play like I built the neck and then hand cut my nut grooves. GREAT JOB. Mike

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-30-2011
Replacement neck

I purchased and replacement neck for my custom swamp ash Im building, and it is fantastic. It came to the door very quickly, has a lovley satin finish on the back of the neck-after applying several coats of nitro to the fret board, it was ready to rock! Love Stew Mac

Michael Powers  Topeka,Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-14-2011
These are the necks Fender should be using.

I just bought my fifth compound radius neck!!! That means I've replaced the Fender necks on my four Stratocasters and one Telecaster. The silky feel means no "stickiness" and the compound radius means no fret out even with a pretty low action. And they are a perfect fit to the bodies on all my guitars so fitting them was a piece of cake. I cannot speak highly enough of these necks. You really should try them out.

Tore Hauge  Scotland
5 2-13-2011
Kevin Nova Scotia

I had previously bought a maple neck from stewmac with the unfinished machine head and put it on an old Strat body I had. It worked ok but it was too thin and tonaly the guitar did not sound right. Then I saw this neck and I bought it. This was a home run! the neck fits in the hand because it is beefier and the guitar sounds 100% better! Sustain is vastly improved and the guitar sounds like a Strat again.

Kevin Irvine  Kentville NS Can Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 73 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.

These necks are made for us by Mighty Mite, and have peghead shapes licensed by Fender.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce