Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar necks : Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar

Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Shaped, inlaid, fretted and finished - feels and plays great! Hard rock maple finished in clear satin polyurethane, with a walnut "skunk stripe" down the back.

See details below

Email a friend
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5715 Rosewood fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5716 Maple fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5713 Compound radius, rosewood fingerboard 3-4 weeks
$124.00
2 or more $111.60  
5 or more $100.44  

5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard Yes
$140.00
2 or more $126.00  
5 or more $113.40  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar String Retainers



Grover Midsize Rotomatics



Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners



Golden Age 63 Body for Strat



Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Guitar String Retainers
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Golden Age '63 Body for Strat
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Details
 Pictures
The 22 frets are nicely finished, and the nut is shaped and slotted. Maple or rosewood fretboard with dot inlays and side markers.

Screwholes for attaching to the body are not drilled. Each neck has a truss rod with a 4mm adjusting nut at the peghead. We recommend Allen Truss Rod Wrench for adjusting neck relief.

Peghead is drilled for 6-in-line tuning machines. 11mm-diameter holes fit sealed gear tuners with threaded peghead bushing. See all tuners.

Specifications
Scale length 25-1/2" (647.70mm)
Width at nut 1-11/16" (42.86mm)
Width at 22nd fret 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Fretwire .045" high x .095" wide (1.14mm x 2.41mm)
Approximate heel length 3-5/8" (92.07mm)
Fretboard radius 9-1/2" (241.30mm)

Compound radius necks
The fingerboard surface radius gradually changes from 9.5" at the nut, to 12" at the 22nd fret (241mm to 305mm), for lower action and cleaner string bending. 14.75" (375mm) bridge saddle radius is recommended.

Neck thickness (approximate; not including fret)


Ideally, the neck should just drop into the neck-pocket, or be a little snug. Don't force the neck into the pocket. If the body is unfinished, remember that the finish will make the neck pocket smaller with lacquer build up on the edge of the rout. Be sure to compensate for the finish buildup or the neck will be too tight after finishing.



Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck
Tweaking a replacement neck so it's ready to play
Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman pulls his old Strat out of mothballs and gives it a new neck. He shows what's needed to get a replacement neck ready to play.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
4 4-05-2012
Maple neck

I ordered the one piece maple neck and I must say I am impressed! The grain is beautiful and the frets are set superbly. The neck is made by mighty mite which is mentioned on the website in the fine print(many customers failed to see it) My only complaint is that the nut is poor quality and I will have to replace it with a bone or lsr roller nut at some point. Thank you Stew mac for your amazing service and quality.

Heinrich de Beer  Polokwane, South Africa Read my reviews (4)
5 4-05-2012
maple strat neck

i have been playing the guitar for a living for over 20 years now and i can assure you that you `re never going to hear the sound you need from your instrument if the neck is not able to talk loud and clear.even if you use the greatest pickups on earth.i have 10 el.gyitars at this moment and i used to have even more in the past.i have been customizing them all in any way i could and i know exactly what i mean when i say that no pickup can make the difference that a neck can do.this maple neck you made can really play. thank you very much, good job!

sakis golihas  athens Read my reviews (2)
4 3-30-2012
Squier strat replacement

Replaced a Squire Strat neck with this. Major improvement. Had already replaced the electronics, which made it sound great, now it plays great, too.

DaveH  Metuchen, NJ
5 3-28-2012
It made the guitar

I changed the neck on my Line 6 JT-69 Variax to a 5714 Compound Radius Maple neck and it made all the difference in the world. It went from being difficult to play, mediocre guitar to an instrument I am happy to play out on gigs. I highly recommend this neck swap.

Gene T  St. Simons Island, Ga
5 3-19-2012
StewMac Strat replacement neck

StewMac Strat replacement neck, rosewood, compound radius. Great choice. Awesome. I put some Shaller tuning keys on. Plays great. Intonation is perfect. I wouldn't change a single thing. 110% satisfied!

Robert Williams  Atlanta, GA
5 12-28-2011
Good neck ever ! but too much pressed frets

This neck is good. Response is good. But one or two frets was really crushed.It seems be too much pressed .I must level the frets .This is not a too much problem for low price and high quality.

yasu  Tokyo Japan Read my reviews (2)
5 12-02-2011
je suis totalement (flabergaster)

En effet, le manche est totalement parfait a l’exception du bord des frets qui écorchent les doigts légèrement mais ce petit détaille est très facilement remédiable. En fait il est tellement bien que j’hésite a installer le lock nut a propos si vous avez des suggestions j’apprécierais beaucoup vos commentaires. Merci! je suis totalement (flabergaster)!

grognon  montreal Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-17-2011
I like to neck

The satin poly finish on the back of the neck has the best feel of any neck. The back of the neck has a great shape of a gentle V near the nut and comfortably round and just the right amount of meat going up the neck. It is not too small and not too big. Frets are perfect med size and beautifully finished. The slotted nut needed no work. Amazing value for the money.

Ron Siwicki  Winnipeg Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-24-2011
Good for the bucks!

The woods are really good. The craftwork is almost perfect, because the frets may need a finishing at the edge, to make the playing easier.

martino_15  Spain Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-02-2011
Nice Neck!

I would definitely buy this neck again although maybe not the compound radius. I had to try one though. I'm not feeling that great a difference in the compound radius and compared to the single radius neck it pretty much throws every action setup technique I've used previously out the window. Great quality & beautiful wood, and the frets were perfectly level right out of the box although they would benefit from a little dressing up. But that should be expected from any pre-made neck. I've been wanting to carve my own neck from scratch but these necks make it difficult to justify especially at the price point. I've only bought one, but so far there's absolutely no reason for anyone to be dis-satisfied.

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 73 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.

These necks are made for us by Mighty Mite, and have peghead shapes licensed by Fender.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce