Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar necks : Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar

Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Shaped, inlaid, fretted and finished - feels and plays great! Hard rock maple finished in clear satin polyurethane, with a walnut "skunk stripe" down the back.

See details below

Email a friend
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5715 Rosewood fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5716 Maple fingerboard Yes
$118.00
2 or more $106.20  
5 or more $95.57  

5713 Compound radius, rosewood fingerboard 3-4 weeks
$124.00
2 or more $111.60  
5 or more $100.44  

5714 Compound radius, maple fingerboard Yes
$140.00
2 or more $126.00  
5 or more $113.40  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar String Retainers



Grover Midsize Rotomatics



Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners



Golden Age 63 Body for Strat



Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Guitar String Retainers
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Golden Age '63 Body for Strat
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar



Details
 Pictures
The 22 frets are nicely finished, and the nut is shaped and slotted. Maple or rosewood fretboard with dot inlays and side markers.

Screwholes for attaching to the body are not drilled. Each neck has a truss rod with a 4mm adjusting nut at the peghead. We recommend Allen Truss Rod Wrench for adjusting neck relief.

Peghead is drilled for 6-in-line tuning machines. 11mm-diameter holes fit sealed gear tuners with threaded peghead bushing. See all tuners.

Specifications
Scale length 25-1/2" (647.70mm)
Width at nut 1-11/16" (42.86mm)
Width at 22nd fret 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Fretwire .045" high x .095" wide (1.14mm x 2.41mm)
Approximate heel length 3-5/8" (92.07mm)
Fretboard radius 9-1/2" (241.30mm)

Compound radius necks
The fingerboard surface radius gradually changes from 9.5" at the nut, to 12" at the 22nd fret (241mm to 305mm), for lower action and cleaner string bending. 14.75" (375mm) bridge saddle radius is recommended.

Neck thickness (approximate; not including fret)


Ideally, the neck should just drop into the neck-pocket, or be a little snug. Don't force the neck into the pocket. If the body is unfinished, remember that the finish will make the neck pocket smaller with lacquer build up on the edge of the rout. Be sure to compensate for the finish buildup or the neck will be too tight after finishing.



Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck
Tweaking a replacement neck so it's ready to play
Fine tuning a bolt-on replacement neck Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman pulls his old Strat out of mothballs and gives it a new neck. He shows what's needed to get a replacement neck ready to play.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 4-18-2014
Sweet neck

I love this compound radius neck. Everything was great except for the fret ends. It was like rubbing a saw. Customer service said it was because of the weather so I guess it's only meant to be played in the summer. They offered to replace it but instead I filed down the fret ends. I figured it would be replaced with another just like it. Now it's like butter. Just plan on a little filing.

SavageBeatLabs  Marion, AR Read my reviews (6)
4 1-01-2014
worth the price strat neck

un manche de strat pas cher et de qualité.Un poil de finition à faire soi même sur les frettes et c est parti ...bonne affaire! Merci StewMac...

nixnix  france Read my reviews (4)
5 11-15-2013
Line 6 JTV-69S - Perfect replacement neck

The Variax guitars are a great concept and the James Tyler version takes it to a much higher level, but...I just hated the neck on the thing! Problem is, these things are expensive and the idea of re-profiling the neck to something more usable for me would a) invalidate any warranty (obviously) and b) not guarantee a great result. The answer; one of these amazing value necks - in my case, the 5716. The neck is an almost perfect fit in the JTV neck pocket and the two screw hole near the body are just about spot on. You'll need to drill a pilot hole for the two other screws. One word of warning; make sure your pilot holes are big enough. The neck fixing screws on the JTV are of very poor quality and I sheared the head off one of them so I took the opportunity to replace all of them with better ones. The tuners on the Variax fit straight in to the 5716 and I fitted a string tree as usual. The guitar is now brilliant!

JohnL  UK Read my reviews (10)
5 11-03-2013
Top Drawer

I bought this neck to replace a custom neck from another manufacturer. It went into the neck pocket perfectly. I checked the relief with a StewMac Neck Relief Gage, the StewMac neck was flat - IE had no relief. (Exactly is what I wanted). I was able to set the low E string to less than 4/64" from the bottom of the string to the top of the 12th fret with no buzz and no fret out - marvelous. The other strings set up similarly.

CB  Colorado Read my reviews (2)
5 10-02-2013
Great neck for my project.

It plays great feels like it should couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you for the great craftsmanship.

Bubba CGD  Austin Texas Travis
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-25-2013
Maple Strat Neck Better Than Original

I recently purchased a Fender 2000 american standard strat body. The first place I looked for a neck was StewMac. I have purchased a variety of parts and luthier tools here before. I have always been impressed by the quality of the items I have bought here and the customer support is the best I have ever encountered. I always get a reply within 24 hours. The maple neck that I received was in my opinion better than the stock Fender neck that was on my original 2000 american standard start. The finish was impeccable, there was absolutely no fret sprout, the neck was already adjusted for the proper neck relief I did not have to adjust the truss rod after installation, the neck fit the body perfectly. If you are looking for guitar parts or luthier tools there is no better place to shop than StewMac.

Terry Chislett  Rochester, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-24-2013
Neck rosewood

Neck Fantastic!I recommend!

S.S 
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-04-2013
Nice

I replace the neck in my fender mexican strat, i really happy with my neck compound radius maple. I recommend.

Carlos Girón  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 3-13-2013
Maple Compound Radius

Just put this on my strat and although I had to shim it out a little, it plays awesome! Night and day difference! I highly recommend it! Put some locking tuning machines in there and they fit perfectly! This neck is super smooth and plays easy! Will recommend this neck to anyone looking for an upgrade!

DCMetalhead  RI
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-05-2012
Just dandy for Line-6 JTV-69

Line-6 makes a great modeling guitar with an unfortunate neck. After installing a compound radius rosewood fingerboard it's an entirely new instrument. A highly recommended modification!

snhirsch  Burlington, VT
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 73 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.

These necks are made for us by Mighty Mite, and have peghead shapes licensed by Fender.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce