Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar fingerboards : Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars

Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

25" scale • 12" radius • 24 slots
Slotted for Paul Reed Smith®, Dobro®, National™ and other 25" scale guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4655 Ebony, radiused Yes
$45.90

4655-R Rosewood, radiused Yes
$21.81

5479-R Rosewood, flat Yes
$20.69

5479-M Maple, flat Yes
$13.65


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Titebond Wood Glue



Fingerboard Band Clamp



Black Fingerboard Stain



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Titebond Wood Glue
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Black Fingerboard Stain



Details
 Pictures
Our kiln-dried fingerboards have flat undersides, are unfretted (no inlays), and ready for trimming to fit a variety of neck widths.

Approximate dimensions: 2-3/8" x 19" (60.32mm x 482.60mm)
Fret slots: 24 slots, 0.023" wide (0.58mm). Ready to accept our fretwire.
Radius boards have 12" radius, and are 15/64" thick (304.80mm radius, 5.95mm thick)
Flat boards are 13/64" thick (5.16mm)

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson®, Paul Reed Smith® and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 4-30-2013
Works for banjos too

I've been using the flat rosewood boards for building short scale banjos and they've worked out great. The fret slots are cut well and accurately. Using these allows for wider fingerboards than standard banjo widths too, which is a nice for those of us who don't like narrow necks. I only wish flat ebony boards were an option.

S. T.  Athens, OH Read my reviews (5)
4 4-25-2013
Turned out to be very good

I bought the Rosewood radiused fingerboard. The color is quite dark which I like, almost like ebony. When I got the fingerboard I thought the grain was to rough and deep. But after I had sanded it down to 800 grit it turned out very good. The slots made the fretting very easy, I used medium seized frets also from Stewart-MacDonald. But be careful to not sand down the fingerboard to much because the slots are not so deep.

Mikael Sundberg  Örebro, Sweden Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-04-2013
Love Stewmac!!!

I love everything about Stewmac. The products, the online ordering, the service etc. Very happy!

Rik Bagtaz  Avon MA
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-21-2012
Excellent Service

I was a little apprehensive about ordering a fretboard without being able to examine it first, so I asked specifically in my order for what I wanted, a dark, consistently grained piece. Shipping was very fast, and the board they sent was exactly what I wanted, beautiful, straight, consistent dark grain. I will definitely purchase again for future builds.

nStratton  GA Read my reviews (3)
2 6-22-2012
Way Too Thin

Unfortunately this Fingerboard is way too thin, it gives you nothing to work with. A Fingerboard is a major factor in sound, the thickness of a radiused fretboards should be minimum 1/4" on the sides, I had to buy another Fingerboard and radius it myself. However the Fingerboard is of a good quality.

Dani988  NY,NY Read my reviews (2)
5 6-19-2012
Ebony was amazing!

This stuff polishes up amazing. Its a bit brittle though so be careful when cutting. work slow and you will have an amazing fretboard

Pestvic  Sparks NV Read my reviews (10)
4 6-07-2012
A Nice Piece of Wood

I used the rosewood version for my first guitar build. Without any previous experience with building guitars or with exotic woods like this, I can still say I think this was a quality board. 4 stars since I'm sure you could hunt down an even better piece, but it was more than good enough for me. No cracks or splits and it polished up nicely - a mirror shine if you look at it at a shallow angle! Very satisfied.

Matt Travers  MA Read my reviews (4)
4 6-07-2012
Good but Pricey

Very accurate fret slots and uniform arch make this board easy to complete. Ebony was streaked but easy to stain black.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
5 4-19-2012
Nice Fingerboards

The pre-slotted Fret board from Stewmac was really usefull in my project. It's nice, beautiful and very well constructed. It makes your life much easier and without compromising the quality of your work.
Very good.

Ricardo Trentin  Porto Alegre, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
5 4-17-2012
Pre-Slotted Finger Board

I used the pre-slotted Fret board in my first ever build. Not only was it an excellent product, it took all the stress out of the project for me. I no longer had to worry that I made a simple math or measuring error turning my labor of love into a pretty piece of wall art.

Gene Milne  Minneapolis
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.


National™ is a registered trademark of National Reso-Phonic Company.


Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce