Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar fingerboards : Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar

Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar


Read 56 Reviews   |   Write a Review

24.562" scale • 12" radius • 24 slots
Note: Gibson® guitar scale is commonly referred to as 24-3/4" but is actually 24.562".

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1058 Ebony Yes
$47.32

1058-R Rosewood Yes
$21.47


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Titebond Wood Glue



Fingerboard Band Clamp



Black Fingerboard Stain



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Titebond Wood Glue
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Black Fingerboard Stain



Details
 Pictures
This is the most common of three different scales described as 24-3/4" by Gibson over the years. Many Gibson's have alternate scale lengths—please measure your guitar before ordering!

Tip: For 20-fret necks, simply cut off the four highest slots.

Gibson® 24-3/4" scale changes over the years
The Gibson 24-3/4" scale is one of the most common, and most confusing of all scale lengths-this is because it rarely ever measures out to be 24-3/4 inches! This scale has gradually changed over the past fifty or so years due to changes in production equipment.



Learn more about scale length and how scale length affects tone.

Our kiln-dried fingerboards have flat undersides, are unfretted (no inlays), and ready for trimming to fit a variety of neck widths.

Approximate dimensions: 2-3/8" x 18-1/2" x 15/64" (60.32mm x 469.90mm x 5.95mm)
Scale: 24.562" (623.87mm)
Radius: 12" (304.80mm)
Fret slots: 24 slots, 0.023" wide (0.58mm). Ready to accept our fretwire.

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson®, Paul Reed Smith® and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 56 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 11-18-2011
BEAUTIFUL!

I've used 2 of these now, The work saved is tremendous. I can't make mine any better. I was nervous at first about buying tonewood sight unseen, after all the fingerboard is a VERY visible part of the over all look. Both fretboards have been of very high quality in both grade and construction. I also like that the backside is not finished smooth, I use Behlens hot hide glue to attach my fingerboards and I've found the unfinished underside to give me a better joint, especially when gluing to maple.

Rayzor  Lenawee county Michigan Read my reviews (11)
5 9-28-2011
Rosewood fingerboard

Beautiful fretboard, very nice grain and the frets fit perfectly! It's a huge time saver!

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 9-10-2011
Nice wood!

I got a rosewood board. It was pretty straight and flat when I got it. The figuring was pretty.

szlash280z  Jacksonville, FL Read my reviews (8)
5 9-05-2011
The Best Preslotted Fingerboards Around

Every time i need a fretboard, especially ebony, and i dont have time to cut one myself; i can always count on stew macs fretboards. The ebony is very consistent in coloring, the rosewood is fantastic, very red/purple, not the dull brown rosewoods that you usually see in the big name guitars.

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-04-2011
Rosewood fretboard - awesome!

Beautiful fretboard. There were horizontal machine marks running the length of the board. After sanding with 600 grit paper, I cleaned it with denatured alcohol. This is a beautiful fretboard! This is for a flying-V. My last build was an Explorer with an ebony board, also a very nice board. My next build will definitely be another Rosewood board from Stewmac.

danz  Round Rock, TX Read my reviews (2)
5 8-30-2011
Nice Fretboard

Great piece, nice grain on the rosewood, frets fit perfectly, finished nicely with fret oil.

Ron Snell  Dundee, Michigan Read my reviews (6)
5 8-05-2011
Best Value for Money Fretboard

Over the last few years I have been going to the wood work shows in Australia and looking at fret boards. I am amazed at the cost of just a blanks being asked by the merchant ...... sometimes as high as $200. Stewmac have really thought through their Fret Board and taken away all of the fiddly shaping work for guitar builders.

When I got my first one I checked all of the fret slots and found every one of them was right on dimension for scale length. They also fit the frets perfectly. I cannot think of ever wanting to use another fret board. Keep up the good work.

Mal MacRae  Sydney - Australia Read my reviews (4)
5 7-30-2011
Excellent quality boards

Stew Mac fingerboards are of the highest quality and fit their frets perfectly. Never had one go wrong, high precision fret slots and perfect radius every time. Such a huge time and money saver.

JZ Guitars  Edison, NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-26-2011
Low price and amazing quality!

I love these fingerboards, they all have beautiful grain, are straight as a bullet, sound great, and are slotted perfectly. I usually finish mine with the ColorTone Fingerboard Finishing Oil (#3863) and they just pop after it. The price on these is unbeatable too. There a great deal and I'll be ordering many more.

Nolan Peach  Colorado Read my reviews (10)
5 7-04-2011
Ebony board

I have used one of these Ebony boards for my LP project in 2005. I was scared when I measured the scale on the actual board (it was not 24 3/4"). But then I noticed 24 3/4 is actually the compensated value of the true scale of 24 9/16". It fit perfectly on my neck.

StewMac suggests using black stain for darker appearance but I don't think it is necessary. A grainy ebony board looks and feels better in my opinion. Just sand and polish the surface up to 800 grit before fretting, then apply linseed oil to prevent "dry" feel.

And remember that ebony boards are extremely hard and fragile to cracking and chipping. Be careful when sawing, fretting and especially when de-fretting (chips easily). I suggest NEVER to use glue when fretting. You will most likely chip out quite a bit of wood if/when you have to re-fret the instrument.

Kench  Istanbul Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce