Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Electric guitar fingerboards : Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius

Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius


Read 13 Reviews   |   Write a Review

25.5" scale • 10" to 14.5" radius • 24 slots + nut slot
A compound radius allows cleaner string bending and lower string action without fret buzz.

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1164 Ebony Yes
$58.14

1164-R Rosewood Yes
$27.78

1164-M Maple Yes
$15.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Medium Fretwire



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Pearl Fretboard Side Dots



Fingerboard Band Clamp



Black Fingerboard Stain



StewMac Medium Fretwire
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Black Fingerboard Stain



Details
 Pictures
We've done the critical work for you!
Our kiln-dried fingerboards have flat undersides, are unfretted (no inlays), and ready for trimming to fit a variety of neck widths.

Approximate dimensions: 2-3/8" x 20-3/8" x 15/64" (60.32mm x 517.53mm x 5.95mm)
Fret slots: 24 slots, 0.023" wide (0.58mm). Ready to accept our fretwire.
Nut slot: 1/8" wide (3.18mm)

Compound radius: The playing surface radius gradually changes from 10" at the nut, to 13" at the 12th fret, to 14-1/2" at the 22nd fret. We recommend setting your bridge saddles to an overall radius of 16". Learn more about compound radius with this Free Information Compound Radius: Explained.

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson®, Paul Reed Smith® and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 13 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 8-15-2013
Fantastic fretboards!

Received two of the rosewood boards. The wood was beautiful, and it was well machined. Will buy them again!

rich.chaffins  Morgantown, WV Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-23-2013
Ebony compound radius fingerboard - excellent

Excellent quality, very precise slotted and fast delivery. Compound radius fingerboards allow a very low action on any guitar and make fast playing a breeze. Highly recommended.

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
5 2-06-2013
Excellent boards

These, along with the other slotted fingerboards StewMac offer, are simply brilliant. They take the worry out of getting the slot measurement correct, which is great for people like me who don't have the tools or experience to confidently slot our own fretboards. They all look and feel great, nice grain and colours. The ebony is very brittle, so it's worth taking care when working with it, but makes for a beautiful board.

CS Guitars  Scotland Read my reviews (2)
5 1-27-2013
Why bother make your own?

So Cheap and amazing quality

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
5 11-29-2012
Convenient product

Rosewood and ebony really irritate my skin, so being able to buy prefabbed boards is a real life saver to me. Couple the compound radius boards with some tall SS frets, and necks become bending machines! Every board I have recieved has been straight with great grain. The Rosewood can be a bit purple sometimes, but a little oil or stain can fix that easily.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
5 11-16-2011
Muito bom

gostei muito do produto, atendeu minha necessidade.

Danilo Lima  São Paulo Brasil Read my reviews (2)
4 8-15-2011
Works fine but...

I got my Ebony fretboard for a V I'm working on and well.. it was perfect. It did taper slightly as you said... but backwards! Didn't affect my build but for someone else it might. Oh and I wish you carried 7-string width fretboards, these are just a cm short :C

Bryan Francis  Austin Read my reviews (3)
5 5-08-2011
Project T

Along with many other bits and pieces, I ordered a slotted ebony fret board out of curiosity for my latest project. Not knowing what to expect, I was blown away when my entire order arrived after only 3 working days. All Timber components were what I would consider absolute First Grade.
The grain of the fret board was nice and even, perfectly quartersawn right up to the last fret, and had a very nice color to it. I will definitely order through Stewmac again.

Greg W.  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 3-18-2011
Ibanez overhaul

I used one of the ebony boards on an Ibanez the end product blew everyone away. The change made this guitar a real gem.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
2 2-17-2011
Hit or miss

I bought one of these in maple a year or so ago and it was pretty nice - a mostly riftsawn cut which only started going flatsawn around the 19th fret, so it works on a 22-fretter. But then a few weeks ago I ordered another one, and I got total flatsawn garbage; it looked like the wood panelling in your grandfather's basement. By the time I decided I wasn't going to ruin a decent neck with it, I had already cut it for a Floyd nut, so I can't expect to return it.

Now I'm building a compound radiusing jig for my router table. Live and learn.

veganMalcontent  Baltimore, MD, USA
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.


Strat®, Tele®, P Bass®, Jazz Bass®, and Broadcaster® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce