Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Dulcimer Soundboard Wood

Dulcimer Soundboard Wood


Read 9 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Sitka spruce. Our thickness-sanded bookmatched 2-piece soundboard sets are sized for traditional dulcimers.

See details below

Email a friend
Dulcimer Soundboard Wood
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3583 Dulcimer Soundboard Wood 1-3 days
$19.46
3 or more $15.56  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Kerfed Lining For Mandolin



Spool Clamps



Titebond Wood Glue



Natural Wood Bindings



Dulcimer Kit



Kerfed Lining For Mandolin
Spool Clamps
Titebond Wood Glue
Natural Wood Bindings
Dulcimer Kit



Details
 Pictures
Each quartersawn half measures approximately 4" x 32" x 1/8" (101.60mm x 812.80mm x 3.18mm). These sets are supplied unprofiled (rectangular), for joining and custom cutting in your shop.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dulcimer Soundboard Wood
Dulcimer Soundboard Wood
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 9 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 9
2 10-26-2013
dulcimer soundboard wood

I purchased a few sets for the first time over a year ago and was pleasantly surprised; tight, straight grain. The last 2 orders this year not as good. Wide growth rings and although nicely quartersawn, definitely not from split billets. A lot of run out making jointed tops difficult to thickness and finish with half the top tearing whether planing or scraping. Not sure if you switched suppliers or why such a big difference from previous tops.

Bernd Krause  Maine, NY Read my reviews (5)
4 4-12-2013
Sitka Spruce for dulcimers...

High quality Sitka Spruce and well shaped. It is easy to work with and is making wonderful dulcimers!

Great Vibrations  Big Lake, LA
3 12-14-2012
Quality?

In the past I have agreed with all other reviews here. The wood was excellent. However, the latest batch was not nearly as good. Wider grain, not nearly as pretty. I hope this is an aberration.

Turko  San Diego Read my reviews (6)
5 3-28-2012
Spruce for dulcimers

High quality spruce pre-cut for dulcimer soundboards is hard to find. As far as I know, Stewart MacDonald is the only luthier supply source that advertises and sells it in small quantities. The price is fair, the wood is beautiful.

Appalachian Tree Works  Brevard, NC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-12-2011
Good quality, good price

I was surprised and pleased to find sitka spruce at such a good price. It is quality wood; well matched and well machined.

Tod Roush  Wausau, WI
5 7-20-2011
dulcimer spruce soundboards

Perfect!

eackerg  oxford, ohio
5 10-26-2010
Beautiful tonewood

I have used the Cedar in the past. This is the first time for the Spruce.
Both are beautiful, with the straightest of grain.
Either one would be a great choice.
Again, I am very pleased with the material and the results.

thunderclap  Bella Vista, Ar Read my reviews (2)
5 8-18-2010
Dulcimer perfect

I have been buying Sitka Spruce from
you for about 20 years and have yet to have to return a piece. Most of the wood is in a AAA grade with some in the Master grade. Very nice wood

Unicorn Woodworks  Caldwell, Id.
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-14-2010
Very nice soundboard wood

Have used several sitka spruce pieces and have had no problems. Very good looking wood. Quality is great!

LowDollar  Tulsa, OK 74135 Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 9 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 88 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce