Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Archtop guitar kerfed lining strips : Kerfed Guitar Linings

Kerfed Guitar Linings


Read 28 Reviews   |   Write a Review

We offer traditional angle-cut linings with kerfing that faces outward, and a newer radiused style with reverse kerfing.

See details below

Email a friend
Kerfed Guitar Linings
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1019 Traditional kerfing, mahogany Yes
$2.93
100 or more $2.52  

4511 Traditional kerfing, basswood Yes
$2.44
100 or more $2.10  

4512 Reverse kerfing, mahogany Yes
$3.20
100 or more $2.76  

4513 Reverse kerfing, basswood Yes
$2.63
100 or more $2.26  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Kerf Clamps



Titebond Wood Glue



Glue Brush



Guitar Brace Chisel



Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard



Kerf Clamps
Titebond Wood Glue
Glue Brush
Guitar Brace Chisel
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard



Details
 Pictures
The reverse style can add more stiffness to the sides, and a smoother appearance inside the body.

Traditional kerfed linings
7/32" x 9/16" x 15-1/2"
(5.56mm x 14.29mm x 393.70mm)
Reverse kerfed linings
7/32" x 5/8" x 16"
(5.56mm x 15.88mm x 406.40mm)

Kerfed lining ("kerfing") forms a surface for gluing and reinforcing a guitar's soundboard, sides and back. Each lining is kerfed (slotted) to allow easy bending to fit a guitar's curved sides.

Dreadnought and National™ style guitars require eight strips. Dobro® and soundwell instruments require twelve strips. Specially sized kerfed lining for mandolins (also for dulcimers) are available.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 28 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 2-02-2014
kerfing

very easy to do, I finally bended wood with a home made bender and my 1st attempt to build a hollowbody is going very well

brianr  california Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-04-2014
Kerfed Guitar Linings

What can I say. These are a wonderful time saver. Can't imagine trying to make something like this. Actually I did try, once. Then ordered a set for what I was working on. Awesome fast shipping too...

Dave Johnson  Palmetto Fl.
5 6-12-2013
Reversed Mahogany Kerf

Fine wood, predictably good dimensions and stability, and it looks stunningly good as well.

Joseph Vallis

Studio de Vallis 
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-01-2013
Does What You'd Expect

And it does it very well. Cheap too!

Highline Guitars  Denver, Colorado Read my reviews (30)
2 3-14-2013
Read the small print

I was surprised by the short sections of kerfing. It is shorter than other suppliers so you need twice as much.

John G  Cleveland, OH Read my reviews (2)
5 2-11-2013
Kerf linings

How refreshing to see such clean and accurate cuts on the kerfing yet be strong enough to be pliable in tight curves. I've bought these before from StewMac and I will keep doing so.

Lucien Chaker  Ojai, CA, USA
5 1-27-2013
So Easy to Use!!!!

Why bother making your own!!!!

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
5 12-29-2012
Nice looking, ergonomic shape

I got the mahogany reversed kerfing and they look awesome. Their shape made the clamping easiest.

sofislele  Athens, Greece Read my reviews (8)
5 12-04-2012
Worth every pennies.

Very high quality kerfing. Do not miss it for your next project. Here's my triolian resonator guitar reproduction. Hold a steam curved 1/4" ash with titebond on a birch plywood.

Michel Boissonneault  Qu√™bec, Cab Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-09-2012
Prefab lining

After spending too much time making my own linings, I decided to try out the reverse mahogany linings from Stew Mac. What a time saver, and way more consistant than what I can make. Never again will I have to make them.I used them on an ABG, recently, "perfect".

Dean W Richardson  Kirkland, Washington Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 77 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce