Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Archtop guitar fingerboards : Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar

Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar


Read 56 Reviews   |   Write a Review

24.562" scale • 12" radius • 24 slots
Note: Gibson® guitar scale is commonly referred to as 24-3/4" but is actually 24.562".

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1058 Ebony Yes
$47.32

1058-R Rosewood Yes
$21.47


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Titebond Wood Glue



Fingerboard Band Clamp



Black Fingerboard Stain



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Titebond Wood Glue
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Black Fingerboard Stain



Details
 Pictures
This is the most common of three different scales described as 24-3/4" by Gibson over the years. Many Gibson's have alternate scale lengths—please measure your guitar before ordering!

Tip: For 20-fret necks, simply cut off the four highest slots.

Gibson® 24-3/4" scale changes over the years
The Gibson 24-3/4" scale is one of the most common, and most confusing of all scale lengths-this is because it rarely ever measures out to be 24-3/4 inches! This scale has gradually changed over the past fifty or so years due to changes in production equipment.



Learn more about scale length and how scale length affects tone.

Our kiln-dried fingerboards have flat undersides, are unfretted (no inlays), and ready for trimming to fit a variety of neck widths.

Approximate dimensions: 2-3/8" x 18-1/2" x 15/64" (60.32mm x 469.90mm x 5.95mm)
Scale: 24.562" (623.87mm)
Radius: 12" (304.80mm)
Fret slots: 24 slots, 0.023" wide (0.58mm). Ready to accept our fretwire.

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson®, Paul Reed Smith® and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 56 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 2-17-2011
Great product

I'm not sure how many more guitars I'll make in my life, but I know for sure I'll be using these fretboards. They save a ton of time and look great!

Brandon  Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-14-2011
If you need an EASY BUTTON, buy one.

Good wood that is ready to slap on and fret up. For the price and the work you save, it's kind of a no brainer.

Phil's Guitar Repair  Covington, IN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-12-2011
Fretboard

The fretboard has a great quality. I bought it because i wanted to save time and it was a great decision. The cuts are accurate and deep enough to grind the fretboard. I bought it for my completely selfmade guitar. After some months of playing I'm still excited of this great fretboard.

Lukas  Germany
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-19-2011
Excellent item

Many reasons i love the pre-slotted fingerboards, 1 it is a big time saver and time is money. 2 they are slotted very accurate. 3 very nice cuts of wood. 4 i like the fact they have the radius to them, i always sand and level that radius out in the end but it helps you having that radius to start with when you are inlaying so you do can accommodate for the curve. And last but not least, price, for the money to buy that good of a cut of wood and the time spent to slot it, not to mention extra tools needed, it is a price you can't really beat.

Gary Scott - GS Handcrafted Guitars  Cleveland, OH Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-16-2011
Rosewood preslotted fretboard

I wasn't sure about the quality of the rosewood when I ordered, but when it came in I was pleasantly surprised. It looks great, and everything was spot on. Great job Stew-Mac!

Va
5 1-05-2011
Quality Rosewood

The piece was machined with precision. The wood quality was good, nice looking too.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
4 12-19-2010
Correction

I commented earlier about this item. The fretboard I purchased from Stew-Mac was some time ago, but it WAS 24.75" scale exactly. The text in the ad for the item has changed since I purchased the item, so Stew-Mac probably figured out that Gibson scales are not exactly 24.75" and made a correction.

Murray Stefferud  Champlin, MN Read my reviews (2)
5 11-22-2010
I've used Both the RW and the EB..

When I find a supply of suitable wood I will make up a few boards from scratch, but i cant do it any cheaper or better than buying these boards from Stew Mac. Outstanding product.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
5 10-30-2010
Great Fretboard!!!

It don't get better than this if you are just learning like me. This is the way to go, pre-slotted, pre-radiused, Beautiful color with enough meat on it to sand to the thickness you want to make it vintage accurate or leave it as is for a thicker fretboard. Great for the novice or the pro. Excellent

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
5 10-28-2010
Rosewood fingerboard in 24.562 scale

Excellent grain and color. All the fingerboards I have received from Stew Mac are good quality. Radiused and slotted, can't beat it.

R Guess  North Florida Read my reviews (16)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce