Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Archtop guitar fingerboards : Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar

Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar


Read 56 Reviews   |   Write a Review

24.562" scale • 12" radius • 24 slots
Note: Gibson® guitar scale is commonly referred to as 24-3/4" but is actually 24.562".

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1058 Ebony Yes
$47.32

1058-R Rosewood Yes
$21.47


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Titebond Wood Glue



Fingerboard Band Clamp



Black Fingerboard Stain



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Titebond Wood Glue
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Black Fingerboard Stain



Details
 Pictures
This is the most common of three different scales described as 24-3/4" by Gibson over the years. Many Gibson's have alternate scale lengths—please measure your guitar before ordering!

Tip: For 20-fret necks, simply cut off the four highest slots.

Gibson® 24-3/4" scale changes over the years
The Gibson 24-3/4" scale is one of the most common, and most confusing of all scale lengths-this is because it rarely ever measures out to be 24-3/4 inches! This scale has gradually changed over the past fifty or so years due to changes in production equipment.



Learn more about scale length and how scale length affects tone.

Our kiln-dried fingerboards have flat undersides, are unfretted (no inlays), and ready for trimming to fit a variety of neck widths.

Approximate dimensions: 2-3/8" x 18-1/2" x 15/64" (60.32mm x 469.90mm x 5.95mm)
Scale: 24.562" (623.87mm)
Radius: 12" (304.80mm)
Fret slots: 24 slots, 0.023" wide (0.58mm). Ready to accept our fretwire.

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson®, Paul Reed Smith® and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 56 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 6-28-2011
Great Product

(Ebony) Arrived two days after I ordered and it looks and feels amazing. Great job StewMac!

Andrew M  Kansas Read my reviews (8)
5 6-05-2011
VERY FRAGILE

very fragile don't keep on couch but a very good piece of wood.

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
5 6-04-2011
A Rosewood by any other name

I recently ordered this product from StewMac for a Les Paul/Gretsch 6128 project. The items arrived quickly and the fingerboard had a beautiful grain pattern which will enhance my project. I strongly recommend this product and company.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
5 5-16-2011
Looks and feels great

I bought the ebony and it is flawless looks and feels great i highly recommend these fingerboards for any hobby or project worth finishing

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
5 5-01-2011
High quality and a great value

I am very impressed with this pre- slotted fingerboard (ebony). It matched up to my 1982 Gibson XR-1 LP's deteriorating fretboard perfectly. This is a great buy and is of very high quality.

Shane Berry  Morganton, NC.
4 4-26-2011
Not bad

I will always use these for my builds, simple as that. There are other slotted boards you can get around(like allparts) that are only 22 or 21 frets, but I love ow this is made longer, 24 with a good inch and a half overhang.

I purchased ebony and rosewood, both well made, the ebony needs no stain, very little grain, and what little there is, I like the look of.

My ONLY disappointment is that my Rosewood really looked more like Bloodwood, it was pinkish-red streaked, so I couldn't use it, as the colour would clash with the body, but I think I can make use of it in the future. I am sure this is a one-shot thing, and won't hold it against StewMac.

Mitchell Henderson  NS, Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-25-2011
great boards

i don't know why anyone would go to the trouble to make there own fret board when for 20 bucks all the work is done for you. could not do as good a job myself.

smokinaces  Soddy Daisy, TN Read my reviews (6)
5 3-24-2011
dont think i will ever slot or radius another board...

My first time using a pre-cut and radius-ed board... saves a ton of time! just had to use 3 12" radius sanding blocks as cauls for the top and V cauls for the bottom...

smashedguitars  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-22-2011
Excellent figerboards

I bought ebony and rosewood fingerboards ant they are very well slotted and radiused, and the wood looks great!
But it would be nice if you also sold wider fingerboards for 7 and 8 string guitars!

Ambrosius Guitars  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
2 2-22-2011
Slotted ebony fingerboard for Gibson guitar

Used it to repair an SG.
Wood itself was great but the slots were way too deep. I liked to use the whole thickness of the fingerboard , now I had to use a plainer to get the slot as deep as the fret tang would go.
At StewMac they suggested I filled the spaces with super glue ,I think that's not the way it should be.
Next time I will buy the unslotted version

Alfaredsilver  The Netherlands Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce