Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Archtop guitar back, top, and sides : Side Bending Practice Wood

Side Bending Practice Wood


Read 9 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Don't split the good wood! Before that beautiful set of AAA side wood touches your bending iron, you'll want to practice with this inexpensive wood.

See details below

Email a friend
Side Bending Practice Wood
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4822 Side Bending Practice Wood Yes
$13.22


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bending Iron



Side Bending Strap



Surface Thermometer



Archtop Side Set



Archtop Guitar Design and Construction



Bending Iron
Side Bending Strap
Surface Thermometer
Archtop Side Set
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Start with this set of two 4" x 25" practice strips, and you'll lessen the chance of splitting the good wood. These quartersawn wooden strips have the same thickness as our guitar side woods (.095"-.100"). Wood type may vary. See our instructions on side bending to help you get started.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Side Bending Practice Wood
Side Bending Practice Wood
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 9 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 9
5 2-03-2013
just the ticket

It was so helpful to be able to practice bending the first time. Every species will be different - this was maple, I used mahogany for the guitar. But I figured it out. Trying to keep the costs down I might have gone without, but it was SO WORTH IT.
Thanks Stewmac!

Al K  Scituate, MA Read my reviews (3)
5 5-31-2012
Confidence builder

It was great to be able to practice on this wood before bending my actual sides.

Adams Guitars  Wisconsin Read my reviews (20)
5 1-24-2012
excellent

excellent material for training. And the price is low.

Ilya Li  Blagoveshchensk, Russian Federation Read my reviews (3)
4 11-30-2011
Practice Wood

Perfect for giving me some confidence on my first guitar on a homemade bending pipe. Cheap lessons learned before going to my real sides.

MarkD  Illinois Read my reviews (3)
4 11-18-2011
correct for beginning

but too short

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
4 7-10-2011
Good

Well, this was only for practice. The wood is a little short in length but i managed to practice a little with it.

Steve001  Montrea, Qu├ębec, Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 2-18-2011
Bending for beginners

I tried the practice side bending wood with my homemade bending iron. The wood was pretty much as stated in the website listing; unmatched wood of some species (Maple I believe). The first one bent very oddly (my technique and inconsistent heat across the pipe)and I am not sure that it was actually quartersawn.

The second one was quite "flamey" making it a more of a challenge to bend (it split in three places as I thought it might) although the bends actually came out better. The pieces weren't the "easy to bend type" I thought they would be. Never the less, I think trying these two pieces first gave me a chance to see how challenging bending can be. I am attempting now to find a local source of straight grain, dried quartersawn hardwood to resaw and practice on for a while before I attempt real instrument wood.

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
3 2-18-2011
Nice wood, but too short for actual use

Pay attention to the length of this wood, it is too short for an actual guitar. Would be perfect for a mandolin or Uke though. Otherwise, very nice.

Jim Kath  Santa Fe, NM, USA
5 12-16-2010
Awesome Practice Wood

The wood arrived in excellent condition. Stew-Mac doesn't say what kind of wood it is, but I think it is maple. My set had a slight curl to it. Excellent value if you want to make low cost sides for an acoustic.

R Anthony  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 9 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 76 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce