Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Acoustic guitar kerfed lining strips : Kerfed Guitar Linings

Kerfed Guitar Linings


Read 28 Reviews   |   Write a Review

We offer traditional angle-cut linings with kerfing that faces outward, and a newer radiused style with reverse kerfing.

See details below

Email a friend
Kerfed Guitar Linings
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1019 Traditional kerfing, mahogany Yes
$2.93
100 or more $2.52  

4511 Traditional kerfing, basswood Yes
$2.44
100 or more $2.10  

4512 Reverse kerfing, mahogany Yes
$3.20
100 or more $2.76  

4513 Reverse kerfing, basswood Yes
$2.63
100 or more $2.26  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Kerf Clamps



Titebond Wood Glue



Glue Brush



Guitar Brace Chisel



Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard



Kerf Clamps
Titebond Wood Glue
Glue Brush
Guitar Brace Chisel
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard



Details
 Pictures
The reverse style can add more stiffness to the sides, and a smoother appearance inside the body.

Traditional kerfed linings
7/32" x 9/16" x 15-1/2"
(5.56mm x 14.29mm x 393.70mm)
Reverse kerfed linings
7/32" x 5/8" x 16"
(5.56mm x 15.88mm x 406.40mm)

Kerfed lining ("kerfing") forms a surface for gluing and reinforcing a guitar's soundboard, sides and back. Each lining is kerfed (slotted) to allow easy bending to fit a guitar's curved sides.

Dreadnought and National™ style guitars require eight strips. Dobro® and soundwell instruments require twelve strips. Specially sized kerfed lining for mandolins (also for dulcimers) are available.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 28 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 7-26-2012
Mahogany reverse kerfed linings- Good product

I have used the Mahogany reverse kerfed linings in guitars and ukuleles (for ukes they need to be trimmed down in height) and they work great. I'd rather pay a few $$$ then make these suckers ever again.

Beau Hannam Guitars  Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-09-2012
Great Mahogany Kerfing

I ordered some mahogany kerfings for repair of old Framus 12 string guitar. They worked perfect and I am able to used this guitar after laying around for over 15 years. Great service thank you.

EN McM  St Thomas, Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 4-11-2012
The only way to go.

The tiny incremental cost weighed against the labor required for me to do it myself make it no contest.

I experienced the usual fast delivery and a well made product. This is the only way to go.

flat7th  Tacoma, WA Read my reviews (2)
4 1-18-2012
Basswood linings.

For the small shop it doesn't pay to make your own linings. These guys are
very uniform from one piece to the next.....JCM

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
4 11-28-2011
Not to scale with the vintage guitar's remaining Linings

This guitar was literally coming apart at the seams, and some of the hand cut Kerfed lining was broken or dry rotted.
This kerfing is not to scale with the 1938 home-built archtop guitar's remaining Linings, but, the quality is good and they got the job done.

Jerry U.  Sacramento, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-16-2011
Kerfing

Good quality as usual from Stew Mac. I'll buy again.

David OMara  Escondido, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-14-2011
Excellent produit !

Comme toujours un produit bien fait et de bonne qualities

grognon  montreal Read my reviews (3)
4 6-23-2011
kerfing

I was very pleased with the product, very easy to work with, and it made my job much easier. Seems to work well to produce a secure bond between the top and the bottom of the guitar for proper tension. I would like to see them come in a bit longer length like we used in the better Martins, Gibsons and Guild guitars of the early 70's.
Thanks ... JC

Silverstrings  Bogart, GA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-05-2011
Strength restored!

I used the reverse mahogany linings on a brittle old archtop I am pulling back from the edge. The body sides were decidedly weak and not wishing to use too much bracing, I opted for the reverse type.This type of kerfing has restored a lot of stiffness to the body. I can heartily recommend it to anyone with a need to add stiffness to weak or cracked sides.

Junk Shop Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-11-2011
Kerfed lining

Nice pieces of lining. It met all my expectations as it usually does when I order from Stewmac. Thank you so much.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 77 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce