Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Acoustic guitar braces, blocks, and blanks : Peghead Overlay Veneer

Peghead Overlay Veneer


Read 25 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Beautify your guitar, banjo or mandolin with matching peghead overlay wood. Thickness-sanded to 3/32". Veneers are 3-1/2" x 7" unless otherwise noted.

See details below

Email a friend
Peghead Overlay Veneer
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0983 Ebony, 4" x 8" 1+ month
$21.61
6 or more $19.44  
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0991 Ebony Yes
$15.24
6 or more $13.70  

0981 Rosewood Yes
$6.95
6 or more $5.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swivel Handle Clamp



Titebond Wood Glue



Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck



Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck



Pearl Inlay Book



Swivel Handle Clamp
Titebond Wood Glue
Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Pearl Inlay Book



Details
 Pictures
0983 Ebony 4" x 8" x 3/32" (106.36mm x 203.20mm x 2.38mm)
0991 Ebony 3-1/2" x 7" x 3/32" (88.90mm x 177.80mm x 2.38mm)
0981 Rosewood 3-1/2" x 7" x 3/32" (88.90mm x 177.80mm x 2.38mm)

A note about ebony:
Ebony is usually not uniformly black. We offer Black Fingerboard Stain, as used by Gibson, Paul Reed Smith and other makers, for darkening the streaks on ebony fingerboards, bridges and peghead overlays when desired.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 25 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 2-27-2014
Perfect!!!

Beautiful pice of wood!! uniformly black and much thicker than I expected, I'm very happy with it. Thanks Stew Mac

RR  New York
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-10-2014
Excellent!

Nice piece of wood! Perfect thickness for a replacement pick guard for my Epiphone Ultra-339. Had to dye the wood with black leather dye to get it truly black. I dyed it, let it dry, wiped it off, SANDED it again with 2500, repeated this process like four times. Still isn't as black as ebony used to be, but really cool, none the less.

Davini  Minnesota Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-06-2013
Peghead Veneer

Great consistancy, even color. I dyed two with the black "Fingerboard Stain" and left the others natural. Very pleased. Necks still in the rough

A Monroe  Clinton, AR
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-22-2012
good

i donĀ“t go 5 start just because it came a little crack i had to manange to get a fine job , and i live in the U.K no make sense send it back, duty and tax are very expensive, i just would like to say for you guys very carryfully when you pack stuff. I will buy some more stuff soon.

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
4 6-18-2012
Veneer to my heart

Bad puns aside, this is a well cut veneer and has consistent thickness. Useful for many small applications. The ebony does benefit from staining black if you want a consistent color, but most ebony does.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
5 3-08-2012
Good wood

Bought this as donor wood for shimming an ebony fretboard extension, also using it to hand carve a truss rod cover. Have kept a bag of all my sawdust for fretboard chips as well. Got some mahogany for shims as well... good wood, some gets to shine on headstocks and look all pretty, mine has more utilitarian purpose :)

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-24-2012
Wonderful Overlays

I had only purchased 2 Ebony ones and both were uniform in color and size. Works really well, will buy more!

JVan  Granger,IN Read my reviews (17)
5 1-26-2012
other uses as well

I bought this for a peghead veneer, but ended up using to make a back cover for the guitar pictured, the company (not this one) I bought the body from send they would send a cover, well didn't happen, but I had this rosewood on hand and used it, made the guitar even more beautiful...good for other uses as well...beautiful wood. Many of the other parts are from Stew Mac on this build, too.

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-06-2011
Peghead veneer

Its a good piece of wood. Good quality. The great thing was the fast service. Couldn't believe how fast it got here.

Lynn  Albuquerqe Read my reviews (2)
5 9-28-2011
Great

These veneers are great. Beautiful figure, and are extremely easy to work with. I highly recommend these.

Dave Snider  Advance, North Carolina Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 75 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce