Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets

Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets


Read 14 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Precision-shaped spruce! Quartersawn braces with bottom curvature for Dreadnought. Accurately shaped and sanded by machine to save you hours of work.

See details below

Email a friend
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4634 Complete top and back sets SAVE $5.00 Yes
$39.95
3 or more $34.95  

4632 Soundboard braces Yes
$24.47
3 or more $21.98  

4633 Back braces Yes
$20.48
3 or more $18.43  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Uncarved Guitar Braces



Guitar Brace Chisel



Go-bar Deck Hardware Kit

Go-bar Clamping System



Uncarved Guitar Braces
Guitar Brace Chisel
Go-bar Deck Hardware Kit
Go-bar Clamping System



Details
 Pictures
The soundboard braces are accurately shaped to a 28-foot radius. Click for larger photos and you'll see the subtle curves and tapers are already there. The back brace set has a 20-foot radius and includes five flat cross-grain spruce center strips.

For fast, efficient clamping when gluing and shaping braces, use our Go-bar Clamping System radiused dishes.

Banjo Killer? The scoop on forward X bracing for greater guitar volume.
Banjo Killer? The scoop on forward X bracing for greater guitar volume.
Banjo Killer? The scoop on forward X bracing for greater guitar volume. Read more

In this issue:
Todd Sams gives a simple and clear explanation of how to position dreadnought braces for the sound and volume of an early-30s Martin.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 14 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 8-06-2013
Love these

Oh what a time saver these are, but I really need to make my own, yes lazy I know.

David Vicars  Texas Read my reviews (11)
5 6-27-2013
Saves me ages

These do save me ages. It would be nice if the design was modified so that the X braces fitted together more elegantly, say, with a glued-on top piece as the two separately arched profiles cannot match perfectly.

KevinA  Cyprus Read my reviews (4)
5 5-03-2013
like the braces

braces have nice shape. wood looks good clean with no week spots

kdscmb  fl Read my reviews (4)
5 1-27-2013
Major Time Saver

Well worth the money. On OM/000 size instruments I remove quite a lot of material but still come out well ahead of the time/drudgery curve compared to working from a brace billet.

Bill Meyer/Jack Straw Guitars  Prescott, Arizona Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-10-2012
Great!

Got my spruce back brace kit through and very happy. Good quality wood and nicely shaped.

CA Guitarworks  UK Read my reviews (9)
3 4-25-2012
X brace set

I liked every thing about the set but the x brace the profiled side make it a bad lap joint it wold be a beter joint if the sided were square so you could get a tight fit

pedsteed 
5 8-07-2011
Shaped braces sets

I received my order within 3 days of ordering. Excellent. The braces were perfectly shaped. It is bit costly due to the exchange rate and the shipping, but I used the set as a mould to shape and carve my own sets using the spruce brace block also from Stwewmac, especially the bottom curvature that could be tricky. Thanks

Topan

Topan  Malaysia
5 6-23-2011
Back Braces for Acoustic Dreadnought

I have to tell you, I was pleasantly surprised how nice these braces were. I was expecting to have to do a lot of refining work, but ended up doing only a little. What a time saver .... it has my vote!
Thanks .... JC

Silverstrings  Bogart, GA Read my reviews (4)
4 3-25-2011
Soundboard braces

Thank you Stew-mac for your great service and quality guitar parts the back braces are first class and time saving a wonderful product. The only small thing i would like to see improved is the top braces the X- brace cross over would be perfect if left flat to get a nice tight joint but apart from that they are great value for money i hope Stew-mac are always around you are the best.
Best wishes
Philip.

Philip murphy  Northern Ireland
4 1-06-2011
Great product

A really great timesaver but like Capu, I would like to see the x-braces squared at the intersection. I would still use them though.

Gerry A.  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 77 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce