Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bodies, necks, wood : Dreadnought Guitar Kit

Dreadnought Guitar Kit


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Quality parts made by Stewart-MacDonald! The highest quality Dreadnought kits available, with solid bookmatched grade-AAA back, sides and soundboard for great tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5295 Mahogany, dovetail neck Yes
$467.00

5296 Rosewood, dovetail neck Yes
$520.00

5293 Mahogany, bolt-on neck Yes
$467.00

5294 Rosewood, bolt-on neck Yes
$520.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Tools for Building the Dreadnought Guitar Kit

Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Tortoloid Pickguard Material



Snakewood Bridge Pins with Shell Inlay



Tools for Building the Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
Snakewood Bridge Pins with Shell Inlay



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Instructions
NEW: Shaped slotted bone nut and shaped saddle included.

We manufacture these kits right here in our own shop, so every part is of quality wood and machined for accurate fit.

No other instrument kits give you this level of instructional detail:
Full-size plan and bracing template
Building an Acoustic Guitar Kit DVD
Sold separately for $39.95, yours FREE with this kit!
Learn more about it...
Acoustic Kit Assembly Instructions, 36 pages of photos and
diagrams to guide you through every stage of construction.
Read instructions...


Build a fine quality guitar you can be proud of!

"People who saw the finished instrument were astonished that it came from a kit... Anyone wanting to begin a guitarmaking career this way won't be disappointed. All the components are high grade and meant to last a lifetime."
— John Calkin, American Lutherie
Read more from the review for American Lutherie

A hands-on course in guitar making.
We include full-size plans drawn by Don MacRostie, who designed our kits based on prized vintage Martins. The kits are adapted for the small shop so you won't need factory tools. We do the precision machine work, so you can hand build a great guitar.

We include illustrated assembly instructions and a FREE DVD, Building an Acoustic Guitar Kit! This DVD demonstrates the process in a way that would take a book to fully describe — and you can see what you'll be doing before you do it yourself. No other instrument kits give you this level of instructional detail!

These kits and instructional material are a solid introduction to guitarmaking.

These are great sounding guitars!
You get a bookmatched AAA back and side set, available in rosewood or mahogany. The AAA solid spruce top has been thickness-sanded and profiled. We've slotted the rosewood fingerboard, included pre-cut inlays and a genuine bone nut and saddle.

Choose a bolt-on neck or a traditional dovetail—both are machined for an accurate fit, saving you hours of complicated work. Width at the nut is approximately 1-3/4". Only the final trimming and sanding are required.

Included in the kit is a Hot Rod Truss Rod, to make the neck two-way adjustable.

Save time, save tools.
You don't need to tool up for critical machine work like side bending, shaping the neck and cutting the heel joint. You'll hand build and finish an heirloom quality instrument.

Solid AAA tonewoods: Spruce, rosewood and mahogany
Precision-machined neck joint
Precut heavy cardboard molds for trouble-free body assembly
Detailed instructions, DVD and builder's plans included FREE!
Hundreds of our kits have been built by first-time builders and
experienced luthiers

View the complete parts list for the Dreadnought Guitar Kit (PDF file 105KB).

Recommended tools and supplies
See the Instructions page for a complete list of what you'll need to build your kit.

You add the tuners.
From years of supplying kits to builders we know that you'll want to choose the finishing touches, so tuners and strings are not included. To personalize your guitar, see our selection for the tuning machines of your choice.

"What tools do I need to build a kit?"
Our experienced luthiers recommend the right tools to make your build easier and more professional: Tools for Building the Dreadnought Guitar Kit

Customize your kit to be a left-handed instrument.
Though our guitar kits are intended for right-handed players, the soundboard bracing patterns can be reversed to build a left-handed instrument. You can make a left-handed bridge from scratch using one of our bridge blanks.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 2-25-2013
StewMac Dreadnought Guitar

This D-28 replica guitar has had time now to set in. Built in 2010, my 1st ever, it sounded great right away and 3 Years later sounds even better. I have had nothing but compliments on this instrument! This guitar is an American Classic in its own right!! I found the instructions very helpful but the video did the trick as you "SEE" how it is done. All of the materials were 1st rate and I have used what I learned building this kit to delve in to other acoustic projects. This hobbiest gives 2 thumbs up!!!!

Dan Schultz  Stillwater, Mn
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-06-2013
Rosewood bolt-on

First build and I was extremely happy with the product and service received. The end result was a great sounding guitar that I can't put down. I'm hooked and can't wait to build another.

Luc  Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-27-2013
Unbelievable Value!!!

So well chosen and made. Just follow the instructions.

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
5 1-23-2013
Great Kit

Built my first guitar in 2010 with this kit, and the result was great. I have also built the 000 kit, and it too came out very nice. Everything supplied with both kits are as stewmac says. Accurately sawn woods, and a very good instruction manual. Both guitars look and sound great

Phillip Jones  Jackson, tennessee Read my reviews (5)
5 12-06-2012
Dreadnought Guitar Kit

I bought my kit in May 2006. Although I had lots of woodworking experience, I did have a patience issue. I glued the sides incorrectly (so read and reread then dry fit first). I had to order two new sides and StewMac was very quick to fill order and I was back on my way. The one thing I did differently was to get Adirondack Spruce and made my own top and carved bracing with them. The result was a guitar that is a match in tone to my Martin HD28-V. I am sure as it ages it will be superior due to the Red Spruce. My only tip is to read all instructions, get the DVD and watch it at each stage of progress, and if still unsure, give StewMac a call and they will help you.

Les Tomazic  Glendale,az Read my reviews (2)
5 11-12-2012
Stunning customer service

After finding few imperfections on couple of parts of the kit, I've contacted StewMac and replacements were at my address in less then a week. 10 out of 10 for customer service. Kit is excellent, this is mu second one and I'm enjoying every second of working with it.

Shoma  Melbourne,Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 7-04-2012
NUMBER 30

I have built 29 Instruments from scratch. I wish I had built from the kit first. I learned a lot. Especially when it came to adjusting and setting the neck. I am well pleased with the completed guitar. My grandson is too.

Bob Duncan  Pleasanton, Texas
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-06-2012
Be Careful!!!!!!!

I had a lot of fun building this guitar. I am a beginner in the world of building. I had built a parts-caster the past summer and i thought, why not drop $500 on the table and build an acoustic!? The kit took me about 2 months to complete. It all depends on how often you work at it though. I put in some long days using stupid little hand tools laying around my garage. Just to clarify, i didn't use a shop or shop tools. I basically did everything by hand except for the binding routing which is a loud of fun if your a first timer! One tip to start, if you don't have files or chisels get some because you are going to need them, and when your impatient like me, you'll try to use something else instead and you'll mess things up so just get yourself the right tools to start with. There's a trapeze tailpiece on it because my neck angle was off and the height of a traditional acoustic saddle wouldn't compensate. The bone nut was bending and looked like it was going to break from the pressure of the strings. So I needed something stronger. I dropped another $60 on the tailpiece and the new bridge. But it worked! Don't let me scare you away from trying it though. It's an extremely rewarding experience and you really do come out with a great sounding guitar. Stewart McDonald gives you a really good start with some high quality woods and such. I bought the mahogany bolt-on. You can't really blame them for anything that goes wrong because its most likely a result of your impatience when something goes wrong. And one more thing. When you first get the thing don't rip it out of the box and start gluing stuff together like i did. The first step of the whole build can mess up your neck angle. Just saying. Overall this is a great kit and think twice before buying.....but on that third time you think about it just click the buy it button.

Derrick B.  NY
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-27-2012
She loves her guitar

I wanted to give my daughter, for her 16th birthday, something different... something that she would remember for a long time. She is a great singer and guitar player, so… I decided to committed myself to this project. This was my first kit ever that require glue! I had zero experience, but I was welling to learn. It was a very rewarding to build this guitar. Thank you Steward MacDonald for helping me to build memories that will live for the rest of my days.

Antonio Simao  Traverse City, MI
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-01-2012
My best guitar

My first build and it went pretty well. Some minor differences between the manual and video so you study both and make up your mind. Access to truss rod is tough due to lateral sound hole brace and location of neck bolts. Enlarged hole in neck block before assembly and use alan key socket on socket wrench for adjustment. The tinted filler is tough to use to both fill and not leave surface residue. If sfc cleaned well the pores tend to scoop out. If pores well filled the sfc residue is so hard to get off you wind up sanding through the stain and starting over. Definitely level the frets after assembly. Nice sound, good booming bass and strong mids in balance with high tones. Sounds way better than my previous instrument.

Phil C  Selkirk, MB Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 96 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce