Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Wood binding and purfling : Natural Wood Bindings

Natural Wood Bindings


Read 80 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Beautiful hardwood bindings are a natural accent preferred by many contemporary luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
Natural Wood Bindings
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2018 Cocobolo Yes
$3.93
12 or more $3.14  

2019 Cocobolo with b/w/b trim Yes
$6.13
12 or more $4.90  

2020 Rosewood Yes
$3.78
12 or more $2.94  

2021 Rosewood with w/b/w trim Yes
$5.59
12 or more $4.46  

2022 Curly maple Yes
$3.50
12 or more $2.73  

2023 Curly maple with b/w/b trim Yes
$6.24
12 or more $4.97  

2024 Ebony 1+ month
$5.86
12 or more $4.68  
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
2025 Ebony with w/b/w trim Yes
$8.18
12 or more $6.54  

2026 Curly koa Yes
$8.18
12 or more $6.54  

2027 Curly koa with b/w/b trim Yes
$10.60
12 or more $8.39  

2028 Bloodwood Yes
$3.10
12 or more $2.48  

2029 Bloodwood with b/w/b trim 5-7 days
$5.33
12 or more $4.26  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Titebond Wood Glue



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Rubber Binding Bands



Binding Router Bit Set



Scraper Blades



Titebond Wood Glue
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Rubber Binding Bands
Binding Router Bit Set
Scraper Blades



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Each unbent strip is approximately .080" thick, .250" tall and 33-1/2" long (2.03mm x 6.35mm x 850.90mm). The optional triple lamination is .010"/.020"/.010" white and black fiber.

Note: Cocobolo is a naturally oily wood. For best results, clean with acetone and glue with epoxy or super glue.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 80 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 6-05-2013
Perfect

I have purchased both the rosewood and curly maple strips, both of which looked great. It was my first wood bending experience, and I only used my mom's curling iron, some damp paper towels, and some aluminum foil. Yet, it still worked perfectly. I used the rosewood to bind the inside corner of my semi hollow build, making a cleaner looking corner. Now just on to the maple for binding the 'f-hole'.

Andrew H.  South Carolina, USA Read my reviews (44)
5 5-15-2013
Bindings review

The bindings are top notch and service is great

Armadillo  Louisiana
5 5-12-2013
Striking curly grain !!

I used this binding for my resonator and couldn't be happier with the results!

Johnny Banjo  Michigan Read my reviews (13)
5 4-16-2013
Bloodwood bindings

First coat of clear and they realy stand out, Very easy to bend as well.

Ronald Borrink  Sparta MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-20-2013
Ottimo

Ottimi binding. Excellent

LuzziLuke  Italy
5 3-15-2013
je râle !!!

Oui je râle vraiment de ne pas en avoir pris plus . j'en ai acheté pour voir, et maintenant il va falloir faire une nouvelle commande . Dommage que ça coûte si cher de faire venir toutes ces bonnes choses en France . j'espére qu'un jour proche, une solution sera trouvée . Ou alors un petit voyage au Etats unis !!!OU le contraire!? Bonne journée à tous chez Stewmac

guitares Jelas  France Read my reviews (3)
5 2-15-2013
Matching Purfling needed

I cannot fault these on their own, they are consistently accurate. I usually buy enough to match the variations of color and grain. I do however agree with some other reviewers that a matching purfling would be very welcome for tying up the end graft.

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
5 1-19-2013
wood bindings

Excellent product. Does the job it is intended for without any problems.

gman10000  Mesa, Az. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-18-2013
Superior Customer Service

I ordered the curly maple with BWB bindings. Got them two days after my order, just like they said I would. They were well packed in a cardboard tube inside of a larger cardboard box. I removed them and inspected. They were at least as nice as I had expected, if not more so. This is where the unthinkable happened -- while replacing the plastic plug that holds the bindings in the tube, the tube itself collapsed in my hand. It unraveled and bent, breaking each of those lovely bindings. The next day I called customer service and told them the story, stressing that the bindings had arrived in great shape, but it was my and/or the tube's fault for the incedent. But they immediately offered a replacement without further question (or making me feel any more stupid for what happened). If they had not replaced these bindings, I certainly could not hold it against them. But by replacing them for me they demonstrated superior customer service over and above what is normally seen today. And they have sealed me as a grateful future customer. Way to go STEWMAC!

gotbluegrass  Brownsburg, IN
5 1-03-2013
Excellent Binding

I use a lot of the curly maple with B/W/B pin strip and some of the rosewood & ebony with W/B/W pin strip for binding. I also use the curly maple for lining fret boards and peg heads. I highly recommend it.

g hopkins guitars  Old Town, Fl Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 34 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce