Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Weld-On Cement

Weld-On Cement


Read 45 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For use with all our plastic binding products. Fast-drying, high-strength clear acrylic cement that bonds plastics to porous surfaces.

See details below

Email a friend
Weld-On Cement
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1975 Weld-On Cement
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$6.90
3 or more $5.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

White Plastic Binding



Binding Tape



Black Plastic Binding



Scraper Blades



White Plastic Binding
Binding Tape
Black Plastic Binding
Scraper Blades



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Clamps or binding tapes can be released from the glued bindings in an hour or less, and the bindings can be scraped flush after about 12-hours. 1.5-ounce tube.

Weld-On Cement is best for plastic bindings, or for plastic and wood bindings used together. It sets extremely quickly, so practice on scrap to get a feel for it, and don't try to glue long sections at once. It's thin enough to be worked into crevices. Clean up residue with acetone.

Contains methylene chloride, methyl ethyl ketone and acrylic resin.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 45 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 10-24-2012
Good Plastic Glue choice

Glue set fast, so use it in small increments. For bigger pieces have 4 hands to move quickly. Bonded great! Will use again.

Gary Drinkwater  Baton Rouge, La Read my reviews (2)
5 8-19-2012
Easy as pie.

This stuff is great. I just did my first binding job with it and it worked very well. The only problem I had was doing the purfling. After I put all the strips together it was hard to shape it. The strips did not hold and separated. This may have been something I did wrong but the glue did not hold when I had to bend around the tight corners of the horns, but was easily repaired afterwards. Other than that, it came out awesome!! I was not made aware that you could get the purfling already done, Duh!! That would have helped a bunch.

Nevjim_3  Santa Rosa, Ca.
Customer supplied image for review
1 8-11-2012
Why would you sell this?

This stuff is horrible. There is no easy way to apply this. The glue dries in the tip of the tube and when you go to apply, it just gushes out. My hands are covered in this stuff. The glue so fast and you have to do it in sections, which it says no where on the page you order it. It does say it on a completely different page about binding. Why would you put the instructions on how to use this product on a different page that tells you binding details? The only positives are that it does hold and doesn't soak into the wood much so it's not too hard to get extra off. After getting so many quality products from stewmac, I don't know why they would sell this glue in a tube.

Chris Sereday  O'Fallon, Illinois
StewMac responds

Chris,
We're sorry you had such trouble with the binding cement. It does take some practice to get the hang of the application and how fast it dries. We'd be happy to ship a replacement tube if that would help. Just let us know. Thanks for your order.

4 7-06-2012
Weld-On Cement

excellent

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
3 5-09-2012
Dries Too Fast

Bought this for binding but tried it to glue on a plastic headstock overlay on a Harmony Sovereign . I had to apply to a large area and the glue dried before I had a chance to clamp it .
Should be fine for binding if instructions are followed and glue is applied a section at a time and pressed onto guitar . I didn't look at the online instructions until after my first try .

fanfab4  New Jersey
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-16-2012
Good stuff

I have been using this for over 15 years, never had any problems with it.

Keith Hollenbach  Sunbury Pa Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-24-2012
Great stuff for first time user

Used this for my 1st complete binding job on a Tricone neck. Make sure the channel is clean & work in small increments, use the binding tape and/or rubber bands and you should get great results. I used a brush to better control how much went on and it worked great, but each brush was frozen stiff after about 5 minutes or so.

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-11-2012
catch it before it runs

nice stuff, but it does run like syrup, best to mask at the binding line

stoked  milanville pa Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-08-2012
Wood Absorbtion

I've used this in the past with no problem except, the stuff absorbs into the wood. I would say this is great for repair work where the wood has something sealing the wood pours. On raw wood watch out for absorbtion into the wood. Also the aplicator tube is out dated. A syringe type applicator would be better. Also take warnings seriously, gloves, mask, and ventalation are important using this product.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
5 1-28-2012
Better than CA

Tried CA Gel first and didn't like the results. The Weld-On was much easier to use and not as messy. Good working time while still sticking.

Lefty Kevin  Canton, MI Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce