Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Scraper Blades

Scraper Blades


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For ultra-smooth wood surfaces. The first time you use a scraper blade, you'll discover why it's a favorite tool of traditional woodworkers.

See details below

Email a friend
Scraper Blades

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0654 Large, rectangular Yes
$6.84

0628 Large, curved ends Yes
$6.38

0655 Large, French curve Yes
$9.64

0625 Mini, concave/convex 1+ month
$6.98
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0626 Mini, oval Yes
$6.49

0627 Mini, rectangular Yes
$7.98

0629 All 3 mini scrapers SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$21.45
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0630 Scraper blade kit (all 6 scrapers) SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$41.31
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Burnisher



Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



De-Glue Goo



Scraper Burnisher
Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
De-Glue Goo



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Our versatile stainless steel scrapers leave wood surfaces ultra-smooth. They're also the best tools for smoothing plastic bindings, because they don't heat, soften or scratch the material the way sandpaper can. Occasional squaring and burnishing of the edges keeps them sharp and efficient (the Scraper Burnisher makes it easy). These scrapers are available with convex, straight and concave edges, for smoothing and fine-contouring wood surfaces on practically any instrument.

Large scrapers have a variety of contours for trimming bindings, neck profiling, fingerboard surfacing, archtop contouring and graduating, wood deburring, acoustic bridge shaping, and more. Supplied unburnished.

#0654 Rectangular2-1/2" x 6" x .028"(63.50mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0628 Curved ends2" x 6" x .028"(50.80mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0655 French curve3-1/8" x 5-1/8" x .028"(79.38mm x 130.17mm x 0.7mm)


Mini scrapers are for smoothing smaller areas with finer control. Among their many uses, the concave/convex version is handy for acoustic guitar bridge contouring, and the oval scraper makes quick work of spot-leveling drop-fill finish repairs. The rectangular version has rounded 1/8" and 3/32" notches for fast and easy acoustic bridge saddle crowning (a bonus inspired by an idea from Freddie Cisneros). Supplied unburnished. Order all 3 and save!

#0625 Concave/convex1-31/32" x 1-17/64" x .016"(50mm x 32mm x 0.4mm)
#0626 Oval1-25/32" x 1-3/16" x .008"(45mm x 30mm x 0.2mm)
#0627 Rectangular1-25/32" x 63/64" x .016"(45mm x 25mm x 0.4mm)


Our scraper blade kit includes all 6 scrapers (3 large, 3 mini) in a versatile money-saving set for the guitar shop.

Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows why he uses scraper blades instead of sandpaper for the final smoothing before the finish goes on a guitar.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 2-26-2012
Great tool

Very easy to use A++++++

Peem  BKK,Thailand Read my reviews (4)
4 2-17-2012
good little helper

the mini rectangle is good when you need to scrape off some staind on the binding, it's small and will remove any paint or staind that ran on the the surface of the binding

DT  New-brunswick Read my reviews (22)
5 1-22-2012
ideal tool

Flexible enough to bend to my needs / tough enough to do a perfect job

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
5 1-04-2012
Great scrapers!

I recently purchased the 3 large scraper blades, burnisher & instructional DVD. The quality is excellent as is the instruction. Saves a lot of sanding time

Dr. Steve Griffin  Fairhope, Alabama
5 11-18-2011
Scraper Blade

This scraper saved me a lot of time. Here I'm using it on a Mahogany overlay (Broken Headstock Repair) Also great for trimming binding!

Eugene Moles  Nashville, TN Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-21-2011
Excellent!

Just ideal for these wee tricky bits on the neck and headstock. An excellent addition to my tool kit!

Hilsley57  UK Read my reviews (6)
5 9-15-2011
Simply Awesome!

I purchased all 3 mini scrapers and they are PERFECT for smoothing/finishing my violins. They are very thin, flexible and the edge stays sharp longer than other scrapers I've used in the past. Sandpaper is now obsolete in my mind! If you want a silky smooth surface then these scrapers are a must!

Tom R.  Wayne, NJ Read my reviews (3)
5 9-08-2011
Scraper Blades

I recieved my scraper blades and as always Stew Mac is right on the ball. Very impressed at the timely shipping. I am refinishing a 1950's Kay Archtop and these scraper blades made my life so much easier! They save a lot of time and in my opinion do a much better job then sandpaper. Very pleased to have these wonderful tools.

Hawwkeye  Portland, Me. Read my reviews (2)
5 9-08-2011
easy and fast!

These tools are very handy! (0655 and 0625)!

Armen Movsesian  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (17)
5 9-02-2011
Scraper Blades

Had to replace my old ones. Stewart McDonald had them. I bought the whole set. Love them.
Mick Roeg Roeg Custom Shop.

Roegster  Brooksville Fl USA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce