Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig

Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig


Read 34 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Design update: now works for ukuleles, too!
Cut perfect soundholes and rosette channels for guitars and ukes.

See details below

Email a friend
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0686 Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig Yes
$79.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits



Precision Router Base



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Foredom Power Tool



Laminated Wood Purfling



Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Precision Router Base
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Foredom Power Tool
Laminated Wood Purfling



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Easy and accurate, this jig now adjusts from 6"-diameter to a small 2" cut for ukuleles.

Another innovation from StewMac
The Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig is a quality machined tool, designed to be used with our Precision Router Base and works with your Dremel. Router base and rotary tools are not included.

  • Solid aluminum and brass parts
  • Adjusts from 2" to 6"-diameter cuts (50.8mm to 152.4mm)
  • Indexing scale to quickly set routing diameter
  • 3/16" registration pin for perfectly concentric circles
  • Mounting screws and instructions included

How it works
Attach the jig to the router base, then mount your Dremel or Foredom tool. Insert the registration pin through the center of the uncut soundhole, and into your work surface. Place the jig on the pin. Set the diameter of cut with the adjusting screw, and lock it down. The router base adjusts the cutting depth. Rout your rosette rings first, then cut out the soundhole.

For the cleanest cut when routing tonewoods, we recommend the Carbide Downcut Bits.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 34 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 6-28-2012
Accurate!

Worked great and even allowed me to reroute and replace purfling in the same channel of a rosette.

jdaigle  CA Read my reviews (2)
5 6-08-2012
Perfect circle

Worked like a charm!

mopillar  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-27-2012
sound hole

when used with the router base this makes cutting rosette and sound hole very easy

steve.14  stranraer Read my reviews (2)
4 2-07-2012
Could be improved

The jig works extremely well. The only thing missing is a coated bottom. The one I received leaves marks like pencil lead when you rotate it against the top. I used two-inch clear packing tape to solve this problem with mine.

Chapman  Jackson, Ms
4 1-31-2012
How did I ever live without?

Was immediately modded upon taking it out of the box to cut circles up to 161mm. But otherwise I must say this tool has astonished me with it's precision, ease of use, and utility.

Jedidiah Guitars  Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-14-2011
Excellent

-Je suis toujours surpris de la qualite et la precision de tous les outils de chez STEWART-MACDONALD,

grognon  montreal Read my reviews (3)
5 9-25-2011
Well made, precision tool

Worth every penny. The quality of materials and workmanship show in the performance of this tool. It cut perfectly concentric rings for sound hole trim and a perfectly centered hole on two sound boards in 20 minutes. No practice cuts required after the initial set up. The scale for circle diameter is very accurate. I purchased the dedicated router base and circle cutting attachment from Dremel but it wasn't nearly accurate enough to do this type of work. This is a no-brainer purchase. Every guitar shop should have one of these.

cknob  Media, PA Read my reviews (17)
5 9-21-2011
Revelation!

Takes all the heartache out of creating perfect rosettes every time.

Hilsley57  UK Read my reviews (6)
5 9-16-2011
Fantastic

This rosette jig along with the precision router base worked great to make a perfect cut for my rosette. The fine dial lets you shave a little at a time for a great fit. Couldn't do the rosette's without this.

MarcMaria  San Jose CA Read my reviews (6)
5 7-16-2011
Perfection

Love this jig. Extremely precise and very easy to use.

MN_Jeff  Appleton, Wi Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 31 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce