Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Bosch Colt Router

Bosch Colt Router


Read 9 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Great for binding work & pickup cavities.
A practical combination of power and compact size.

See details below

Email a friend
Bosch Colt Router
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0489 Bosch Colt Router Yes
$114.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set



Binding Router Bit Set



MacRostie Binding Trimmer



Ball Bearing Router Bits



TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Binding Router Bit Set
MacRostie Binding Trimmer
Ball Bearing Router Bits



Details
 Pictures
We chose the Bosch® Colt router as the ideal companion for the MacRostie Binding Trimmer and our TrueChannel Binding Router Jig. It has a smooth-running single-speed 1-hp. motor, featuring circuitry to help maintain constant speed under load, for clean cuts. The sturdy removable cast-aluminum base provides convenient thumbscrew adjustment of routing depth.

Specifications
Motor: 1 hp. 5.6 amp, 672 watts, 35,000 rpm at no load
Base opening: 1-9/16" diameter (39.69mm)
Plunge depth: 1-3/16" (30.16 mm)
Height with base: 7-3/4" (196.85mm)
Collet: 1/4", with front spindle lock for easy one-wrench bit changes
Power cord: 10-foot length
Weight: 3.3 lbs (1,5 kg)

The Bosch Colt Router is a 120-volt AC electrical appliance with a U.S. standard Type A plug with two flat parallel prongs, ungrounded.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bosch Colt Router
Bosch Colt Router
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 9 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 9
5 1-13-2014
STEW MAC should have been selling a router like this YEARS ago.

As a guitar builder using a router, the key is "SMOOTH CONTROL." I have been using this router and the Bosch Laminate Trimmer since they came out. 5 Stars! All other routers are too large and too powerful. This router is just right for Electric and Acoustic guitars. It's also very versatile. Buy one now, before you chip out another flamed maple top or back with a big router. This is also a very competitive price.

D. Bennett  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (2)
5 10-25-2013
Easy to handle

First time use of a hand held router. Very easy to control and it doesn't torque out of your hands. It operates smoothly and with a brand new bit it cuts flawlessly (just cut in steps). No tear out cutting the binding channels on my first acoustic build! Just follow the instructions and do your climb cuts first and finish counter clockwise. Very impressed with this router, it does the intended job and very user friendly.

Cannonball  Saratoga, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-16-2013
I love this router

For hand routing on guitars, this is your router. Powerful enough to route solid hardwood and smooth enough to route delicate binding channels. The micro adjustment wheel gets stiff very fast and needs to be kept clean. Unlike other routers Ive used, it runs fairly cool and is light and easy to handle. With safety gloves on I find the on/off switch hard to use sometimes but its nearly impossible to accidentally turn on which is much more important. The base plate will get scratched up but you can get a replacement from Bosch.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 3-20-2012
I love this router!

I used this router for hollowing out a semi-hollow body and for initial steps of a carved top. Works great in conjunction with bearing bits.

Ryan K  Calgary, Canada Read my reviews (7)
5 2-16-2012
The best

This is an exciting router. Amazing production quality. No loose parts, high precision, durability and easy adjusting at the same time. It's small (one-hand working is possible too!) and powerful enough to do any small job like routing pickup cavities. It's small base plate makes possible to route precisely even on small spots (so, for example, you don't need to disassemble a guitar totally to make pickup cavity a little deeper) On europe markets this model is calles GKF-600, I own one for years and this is my primary router. I use heavy 1400W model only in big jobs (routing body contour etc.)

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
4 1-18-2012
Cool handy router.

I'm from Singapore. Here, we only have power supply of 240V. I had to get a step down transformer to be able to use the tool.

Otherwise, the Colt router is a handy tool, it
does what its supposed to do and it does it well.

It would only be better if it comes with a case. :)

Hazhar. :)  Singapore.
5 11-04-2011
Excellent

I have ordered this little wonder last month and I've just completly routed two guitar bodies and corrected pickup routes in two other with it (before I used to use a bigger columm router). It's amazingly easy: to adjust, to operate and to control the depth of passes. I loved it.

W. Moura  Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Read my reviews (2)
5 8-08-2011
Smooth

Although I purchased one of these a year or so ago from another source for a different type job (didn't know Stewmac sold them), these little things work great, easy to control for edging and routing. Go light and slow. However, don't use anything but an approved router bit. I attached a drum sander bit for a drill and hold on tight! It was like trying to latch on to a greased weasel!

Martin E.  Little Rock
5 1-28-2011
The router

Best thing made since swiss cheese

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 1 – 9 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 33 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce