Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Special tools for Binding : Scraper Blades

Scraper Blades


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For ultra-smooth wood surfaces. The first time you use a scraper blade, you'll discover why it's a favorite tool of traditional woodworkers.

See details below

Email a friend
Scraper Blades

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0654 Large, rectangular Yes
$6.84

0628 Large, curved ends Yes
$6.38

0655 Large, French curve Yes
$9.64

0625 Mini, concave/convex Yes
$6.98

0626 Mini, oval Yes
$6.49

0627 Mini, rectangular Yes
$7.98

0629 All 3 mini scrapers SAVE $3.00 Yes
$21.45

0630 Scraper blade kit (all 6 scrapers) SAVE $3.00 Yes
$41.31


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Burnisher



Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



De-Glue Goo



Scraper Burnisher
Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
De-Glue Goo



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Our versatile stainless steel scrapers leave wood surfaces ultra-smooth. They're also the best tools for smoothing plastic bindings, because they don't heat, soften or scratch the material the way sandpaper can. Occasional squaring and burnishing of the edges keeps them sharp and efficient (the Scraper Burnisher makes it easy). These scrapers are available with convex, straight and concave edges, for smoothing and fine-contouring wood surfaces on practically any instrument.

Large scrapers have a variety of contours for trimming bindings, neck profiling, fingerboard surfacing, archtop contouring and graduating, wood deburring, acoustic bridge shaping, and more. Supplied unburnished.

#0654 Rectangular2-1/2" x 6" x .028"(63.50mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0628 Curved ends2" x 6" x .028"(50.80mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0655 French curve3-1/8" x 5-1/8" x .028"(79.38mm x 130.17mm x 0.7mm)


Mini scrapers are for smoothing smaller areas with finer control. Among their many uses, the concave/convex version is handy for acoustic guitar bridge contouring, and the oval scraper makes quick work of spot-leveling drop-fill finish repairs. The rectangular version has rounded 1/8" and 3/32" notches for fast and easy acoustic bridge saddle crowning (a bonus inspired by an idea from Freddie Cisneros). Supplied unburnished. Order all 3 and save!

#0625 Concave/convex1-31/32" x 1-17/64" x .016"(50mm x 32mm x 0.4mm)
#0626 Oval1-25/32" x 1-3/16" x .008"(45mm x 30mm x 0.2mm)
#0627 Rectangular1-25/32" x 63/64" x .016"(45mm x 25mm x 0.4mm)


Our scraper blade kit includes all 6 scrapers (3 large, 3 mini) in a versatile money-saving set for the guitar shop.

Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows why he uses scraper blades instead of sandpaper for the final smoothing before the finish goes on a guitar.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 8-18-2011
Mini Scrapers

I use these mini scrapers for carving guitars. They are unique in the sense that they are much easier to control in tighter areas. The three unique shapes are unlimited.

Jim I.  Arizona
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-13-2011
great mini-scrapers!

I've usually used taped-off razor blades to level drop-fills (and still do) but these new mini-scraper blades are a great alternative, particularly in areas with curves.

The added bonus, however, is the cutout on the #0627 scraper... it's perfect for adjusting and shaping the tops of saddles.

Michael Kolb  Sheridan, OR Read my reviews (5)
5 7-10-2011
Good Stuff

Use them all the time.

Goodson Guitars  Odessa, Tx Read my reviews (18)
5 7-06-2011
A must-have

I bought the large rectangle and the mini concave/convex - I wish I'd bought them all! Don't know how I did without them, especially the small one. Brilliant for getting to the small places that would be very difficult to sand, and the finish is cleaner than sanding. Great product.

J. Carter  Manchester, UK Read my reviews (4)
4 6-17-2011
tiny but mighty

I purchased the mini oval scraper in preparation for an arched top for a solidbody electric. Much smaller than I thought it would be and very thin in thickness,... more of a touch up scraper for small detailed work or for finishing binding after paint. I recommend the larger scraper for heavy duty shaving especially when working with hardwoods.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
5 5-07-2011
Excellent tool

These are fantastic!! Easier and faster than sandpaper.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
5 4-18-2011
nice tool

at first i was kinda skeptical about using a scraper and even though i still sand for most of what i do i love this tool. there are just thing it will do that you cant with anything else

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
5 4-03-2011
Love the scraper!

Very nice. Only wish I'd ordered all the shapes. Going to do that now.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
5 10-28-2010
back away from the sandpaper!!

I had no idea how useful and easy a scraper was to use, and now how essential it is in the tools I use everyday. You can spend a ton of time sanding or breeze through the task with a sharp scraper!! I use one every time I make a neck!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-26-2010
Scraper Blades are go!

Used these for final shaping of a laminated pickguard for restoration. Experimented first to get the feel. Very good and there are countless uses for the 3 different blades. Easy to sharpen.

PToneGuitars  Melbourne, Australia
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce