Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Special tools for Binding : Scraper Blades

Scraper Blades


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For ultra-smooth wood surfaces. The first time you use a scraper blade, you'll discover why it's a favorite tool of traditional woodworkers.

See details below

Email a friend
Scraper Blades

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0654 Large, rectangular Yes
$6.84

0628 Large, curved ends Yes
$6.38

0655 Large, French curve Yes
$9.64

0625 Mini, concave/convex 1+ month
$6.98
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0626 Mini, oval Yes
$6.49

0627 Mini, rectangular Yes
$7.98

0629 All 3 mini scrapers SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$21.45
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0630 Scraper blade kit (all 6 scrapers) SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$41.31
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Burnisher



Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



De-Glue Goo



Scraper Burnisher
Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
De-Glue Goo



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Our versatile stainless steel scrapers leave wood surfaces ultra-smooth. They're also the best tools for smoothing plastic bindings, because they don't heat, soften or scratch the material the way sandpaper can. Occasional squaring and burnishing of the edges keeps them sharp and efficient (the Scraper Burnisher makes it easy). These scrapers are available with convex, straight and concave edges, for smoothing and fine-contouring wood surfaces on practically any instrument.

Large scrapers have a variety of contours for trimming bindings, neck profiling, fingerboard surfacing, archtop contouring and graduating, wood deburring, acoustic bridge shaping, and more. Supplied unburnished.

#0654 Rectangular2-1/2" x 6" x .028"(63.50mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0628 Curved ends2" x 6" x .028"(50.80mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0655 French curve3-1/8" x 5-1/8" x .028"(79.38mm x 130.17mm x 0.7mm)


Mini scrapers are for smoothing smaller areas with finer control. Among their many uses, the concave/convex version is handy for acoustic guitar bridge contouring, and the oval scraper makes quick work of spot-leveling drop-fill finish repairs. The rectangular version has rounded 1/8" and 3/32" notches for fast and easy acoustic bridge saddle crowning (a bonus inspired by an idea from Freddie Cisneros). Supplied unburnished. Order all 3 and save!

#0625 Concave/convex1-31/32" x 1-17/64" x .016"(50mm x 32mm x 0.4mm)
#0626 Oval1-25/32" x 1-3/16" x .008"(45mm x 30mm x 0.2mm)
#0627 Rectangular1-25/32" x 63/64" x .016"(45mm x 25mm x 0.4mm)


Our scraper blade kit includes all 6 scrapers (3 large, 3 mini) in a versatile money-saving set for the guitar shop.

Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows why he uses scraper blades instead of sandpaper for the final smoothing before the finish goes on a guitar.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
2 7-06-2012
Scraper Blades

Soft material, needs a lot of sharpening.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 7-02-2012
scraper

these are great for all kinds of jobs

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-08-2012
Small Scraper

Just received the small mini scraper now offered. This is just what the doctor ordered. Great for small areas, binding work, and fingerboard cleaning. A good product.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
5 5-07-2012
Awesome!

I bought the 3 pc set of mini scrapers because I need something smaller then a full size cabinet scraper for detail work. I found the mini convex/concave scraper and the mini rectangular scraper to be just excellent for cleaning up glue from around bracing. They hit the spot and saved a lot of time. Just right in so many ways!

Thanks!

arie s  los angeles Read my reviews (2)
5 5-03-2012
Excellent scraper kit

Except for the little oval one, which feels light and flimsy, the kit is superb. With the proper edge (attained with the burnisher also from StewMac), you can easily and swiftly scrape (or microplane) an entire hollow body guitar. I used my kit for carving sometimes. The scrapers are well sized and balanced, except for the little oval one, which appears to be cut from a tomato soup can. Excellent for the price.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (33)
5 5-03-2012
New Favorite tool

I have been using the large scraper, with curved ends to level the finish on a solid body electric...this is now my new favorite finishing tool!

Jeff P Blues  Space Coast, FL Read my reviews (4)
5 5-02-2012
Scraper blades

These are just the right size for those picky little areas. Extremely good quality steel, sharpen in a jiffy.

Randy Bryan  Rhinelander, WI Read my reviews (2)
5 3-08-2012
mini scrapers

Great little scrapers for tight places around the heel and for cleaning wood bindings without digging into the top or back

Ken.Jacobs  E.Yorks,England Read my reviews (5)
5 3-07-2012
They are just right

I´ve bought scrapers many different places, but these are the best. Just the right hardness etc. And they are even set up when they arrive. Just a touch with the burnisher and off you go scraping.

Andruski  Spain
5 3-05-2012
mini oval scraper

I love the mini oval scraper, im using it to work on a violin scroll and it work like a charme!

gabrielbizeau  Québec, QC, Canada
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce