Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Special tools for Binding : Binding Router Guide

Binding Router Guide


Read 32 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Great for archtop instruments! Works where a standard router base can't. Fits Dremel and Black & Decker rotary tools. Router Bit sold separately.

See details below

Email a friend
Binding Router Guide
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5248 Binding Router Guide Yes
$42.70


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Router Bit for Binding



TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Binding Router Bit Set



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Router Bit for Binding
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
Binding Router Bit Set
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
This versatile attachment was designed by our own Don MacRostie for use with our Binding Router Bit. It screws onto the Dremel tool, and its thumbscrew-adjustable edge guide lets you cut an accurate ledge for any binding thickness up to .220".

Made of precision-machined aluminum and brass, it's great for routing the edges of archtop instruments, where a standard router base won't work. It installs easily on Dremel MultiPro™ or Professional rotary tools (and Black & Decker Wizard™/RTX™ tools), replacing the threaded plastic collar on the tool housing (fits 12 threads per inch).

Designed to be used with 5/16" diameter carbide-tipped Binding Router Bit.

Piloted Binding Router Bits also available.

"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 32 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
4 9-09-2012
Pretty Good, but steep learning curve.

Bought this binding guide and tried it on my new build. Overall, it worked well, but I'm very glad i cut at .5mm increments. It is a bit hard to hold steady, especially through the cutout on my new OM. I think with practise, it will prove a handy tool. But, I'm going to get a toolmaker I know to fabricate a better guide system to the sides. It wobbles very easily, and can put gouges just where you don't want them--ask me how I know....I think that the modifications I have in mind will make it a very handy tool....

DMI Handcrafted Guitars  Australia
5 8-11-2012
Binding router guide

When I recently completed the body for a 00-18 accoustic, I decided to treat myself to the binding router guide, rather then use the laminate router, I generall use. It was easy to set up and did and continues to do a great job. I have read a few reviews where people have had issues with run out. My recommendation is take a light first pass and follow up with one or two additional cuts. Slow and easy and the results will be very good.

Doug Raineault  Middletown, CT Read my reviews (9)
4 7-27-2012
It did the job well...

I bought this tool to remove the binding from my mandolin, which needed the soundboard taking off. It did that well, but you have to hold it vertically very carefully. For routing for a new instrument I would want to add something extra to stabilise it.

Cambridge Riffs  Cambridge UK
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-16-2012
Good for the price

As others have mentioned, it is not the most stable router base, as it is small, but that's what it's suppposed to be - as advertised, for archtop instruments. I haven't used it on a guitar yet, but testing on a piece of scrap I think that this can work, although it will need lots of care. I'm sure there's better solutions, but for the price, I would give it a try.

Jorge  Spain Read my reviews (9)
3 4-25-2012
Great tool, refinement needed, tough.

It is a great tool, except for the fact the height of the roller is not adustable. Being so, I always have to improvise some sort of template or jig to employ it. I think the pictures in the site are a bit misleading, as this product is not ideal for long routes. There are better/more stable tools for routing extensive lenghts. This tool (IMO) is better suited to headstocks, cutaways and small hard to reach areas.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
3 3-13-2012
Tricky to use

As others have noted, keeping the roller flat against the side of the guitar is tricky at best. VERY easy for the Dremel tool to rock. The brass roller is just too small. I made a new screw and roller with the roller about 3/4" long and left an extended screw head to provide a grip with my other hand. Now and can easily see when the roller is in full contact with the side and I can guide the tool with two hands. It's still a bit frustrating to set the cutter bit depth (length?), having to remove the tool, loosen the collet, move the bit, lock it down and check it again. I'm thinking of making some thin plastic shims to put between the tool and the Dremel.

It ultimately did the job, but sure am glad I am working on a cheap guitar for my first effort.

Brisco  North Carolina
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-29-2012
Superb tool!

I am in the process of finishing a Stewmac A mandolin kit and needed to cut my binding channels. Since this is my first mandolin build I didn't want the expense of the router table and needed a simple tool for the job. This tool is fantastic - it does a superb job IF you do your part! Let me give you a few details. First, you will need a good instrument vise, you CANNOT route a binding channel with an instrument body in a sloppy mount. If the mandolin or guitar body is solidly mounted you will be able to hold this tool perpendicular to the edge and get excellent results. Simply move the body around in the vise to where you can comfortably observe your cutter. Secondly, do NOT climb cut... conventional cut your way around the body. Look up the differences between climb cutting and conventional cutting. In my case I started with the back of the mandolin facing to my right and the bearing of the Dremel on my left (on the side of the mandolin body). I continued all the way around the instrument in that fashion. The top is done in the same way. Thirdly, find some scrap and practice your settings - they are easy to set, but take your time and make sure it is exactly what you want/need. The only time my settings shifted a bit was when I climb cut the end of my test piece to fit my binding - lesson learned... don't climb cut!!! The Stewmac binding bit is great, as well. My binding channel is actually more accurate than my binding! Yes, binding tends to be of different thicknesses through its length- so take note. I set my speed at about 25K and got clean results, no burning or tearing of the wood. In truth, it is more difficult to chisel out the remaining wood where the cutter can't reach than to use this tool. One last thing, don't worry if you get the channel a little skew, or deep. You can keep some of your cutter remnants and fill the area before you glue in the binding - all the little sins are hidden by the time you scrape/sand the binding to the sides, top, and bottom. I'll take a few shots after the glue dries. Much success in your projects!

Craig Rantz  Shoreline, WA
5 2-19-2012
Not sure why others are having problems...

This tool works precisely the way it's advertised, provided you also buy the recommended carbide bit. I am a non-pro who makes relatively few instruments, and this tool does exactly what I expected it to do. You do need to continually monitor the roller to make sure it's got good contact, but ANY handheld tool requires similar care.

M Dixon  Reading, MA Read my reviews (3)
2 11-06-2011
Has created problems.

I am not happy with this tool.
1. This tool very much not convenient, it is difficult to expose the necessary parameters.
2. The worst in it that the six-sided screw (which regulates depth of bit) is made of a soft alloy of metal. The screw has quickly failed. I had to cut a six-sided screw under a screw-driver somehow to use this router in my work.
3. Now I am compelled to search for stronger screw for replacement of an old screw.
4. I consider that the tool demands completion.
5. I put two stars only because by means of a router I could make something in my project.
It is better to get expensive, but the qualitative professional router.

Armen Movsesian  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (17)
3 10-20-2011
It works, but be careful

I bought this tool to rout an archtop for binding. Be forewarned - this tool will do the job but you must be VERY CAREFUL. Go very slowly and monitor the guide bearing continuously. It must be absolutely parellel to the side of the guitar or you will have a rout of varying depth and width. Even then, some variation will occur, but it is manageable.

My experience: for archtop guitars the TrueChannel binding jig would probably be much better. This Binding Router Guide works best on flat top guitars.

mesaman11  Delta, CO Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 31 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce