Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Special tools for Binding : Binding Router Bit

Binding Router Bit


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For cutting precise binding ledges with our Binding Router Bearings. Carbide-tipped for long-life sharpness.

See details below

Email a friend
Binding Router Bit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1298-B Binding Router Bit Yes
$46.48


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Binding Router Bit Set



Binding Router Bearings



TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Rubber Binding Bands



MacRostie Binding Trimmer



Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bearings
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
Rubber Binding Bands
MacRostie Binding Trimmer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Our binding router bit has a 1/4" arbor to fit your shop router. 6-degree cutting edge downshear prevents grabbing on climb cuts, for cleaner results. The bit has an Allen screw with wrench for installing our Binding Router Bearings—choose from a wide selection of depth-of-cut sizes for practically any binding job. A special extension bushing is also supplied for routing "stairstepped" multiple binding ledges.

This bit is included with a selection of depth-of-cut bearings in our money-saving Binding Router Bit Set.


Router bit dimensions
Cutter diameter.925" (23.50mm)
Cutting height without bearing.375" (9.52mm)
Arbor shank diameter.25" (6.35mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 2-20-2014
Router bits & bearings work great!

Everything works as advertised, bits are sharp and neatly cut the work, even with someone who's new to using a hand held router (Bosch Colt). Bearing diameters are precise. After flush cutting, make sure to do your climb cuts first! Build on....!

Cannonball  Saratoga, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-29-2014
Used it for the first time.

I built my own binding machine using an old drill press stand for the column. It ain't pretty but thanks to the Stewmac Binding Router Bit and bearing, it worked great!

Dan Vines  Aberdeen, Washington Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-30-2013
Makes a tough job much easier...

This bit & bearing make an extremely daunting task much easier to accomplish. Cuts a really clean channel that the binding can snuggle into..

Greg G.  Coldwater, MI Read my reviews (7)
5 6-29-2013
Binding Router Bit

I thought this bit was a above my budget, until I tried it out! Practice on scrap wood first! Then when working on the guitar, make several Shallow cuts instead of one deep one. I had never used a router before, but with a Laminate Trim Router and this bit and bearing, I had a Perfect binding channel in under 5 minutes! I had purchased several inexpensive Tele bodies on e-Bay just to practice on, as I ruined one while using a Dremel tool to route a channel. The Dremel cannot navigate the sharp turns at the upper bout of a Telecaster. As you can see in the photo, no burn marks, no bearing marks. Take your time and still be done in 5 min. Ready to sand and finish. After buying this bit, NO Telecaster will be "plain" in my shop again! I can see some great part-time money coming in, thanks to Stew Mac and this bit! Great Quality Stew Mac! Super Fast Shipping Too !

Spot's Dad  Kentucky Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-10-2013
Awesome

Fast shipping (5 days to Italy with DHL Express) and excellent products.

AlessandroT  Verona Read my reviews (3)
5 5-19-2013
Brilliant

Superbly sharp cutter matched to the bearing produced an extremely accurate binding ledge. Took a moment to pluck up the courage to start the cut but used Stew Macs binding tutorial and got a great result. Recommended.

G-man Guitars  Camborne, Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (2)
5 3-27-2013
Perfection.

I used the bit with bearing guide on my router table and was able to route both sides of my Tele body for a binding in less than ten minutes. Clean, precise and super-easy. Take you time setting and testing the height and the rest is easy.

Jed  Raleigh, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-20-2013
Binding Router Bit

You need one of these. In a proper router set up, they are great. The bits can be cleaned in acetone to remove wood resins and cleaned after each routing job

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
5 6-23-2012
Great bit...

Not that I really do much binding compared to the amount of guitars I build without binding, but its no different than the other bits, well made and stay sharp for a pretty long time. No better or worse than any other quality router bit. They all get dull eventually and then you have to get another one...

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
5 6-18-2012
Watch those fingers!

This router bit is one of the nicest you can buy anywhere. It is extremely sharp and well made (be careful removing the covering from it!). It cuts a very clean channel and does so in one pass when paired with a good router and steady hand.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 33 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce