Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Binding Router Bit

Binding Router Bit


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For cutting precise binding ledges with our Binding Router Bearings. Carbide-tipped for long-life sharpness.

See details below

Email a friend
Binding Router Bit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1298-B Binding Router Bit Yes
$46.48


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Binding Router Bit Set



Binding Router Bearings



TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Rubber Binding Bands



MacRostie Binding Trimmer



Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bearings
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
Rubber Binding Bands
MacRostie Binding Trimmer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Our binding router bit has a 1/4" arbor to fit your shop router. 6-degree cutting edge downshear prevents grabbing on climb cuts, for cleaner results. The bit has an Allen screw with wrench for installing our Binding Router Bearings—choose from a wide selection of depth-of-cut sizes for practically any binding job. A special extension bushing is also supplied for routing "stairstepped" multiple binding ledges.

This bit is included with a selection of depth-of-cut bearings in our money-saving Binding Router Bit Set.


Router bit dimensions
Cutter diameter.925" (23.50mm)
Cutting height without bearing.375" (9.52mm)
Arbor shank diameter.25" (6.35mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 5-01-2012
Binding channel

The binding router bit worked well with my Bosch router and the bearings. I was able to rout the binding ledge in one pass.

Jack first  Hemet, CA
5 4-01-2012
Binding Router Bit

Great tool!

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
4 2-24-2012
Good deal, good bit

This bit and the various bearings are of good quality and are pretty long lasting with a good clean cut.

Ayers Guitar Co.  Phoenix, AZ Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-21-2012
Easy binding ledges

Great tool! Once you have developed the feel to run it around the edge of the guitar, it is a breeze. I like the accuracy and consistency of the cut. Make sure you use a strong enough router.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
4 12-06-2011
Binding router bit

The router bit is an excellent partner with the Bosch Colt router. It is expensive, but cutting into an assembled top, back and sides with much time and money invested is no time to work with a cheap cutter. Some fuzz will be left on spruce tops. I ignore and sand off when sanding/scraping the purfling flush.

New River Guitars  Todd, NC Read my reviews (3)
5 10-04-2011
Binding Router Bit

Works really well and cuts a neat channel.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
5 9-26-2011
Binding Router Bit

Great bit. Setup with bearing was simple, and made perfect cut.

Josephus  ID Read my reviews (2)
4 8-04-2011
Nice Job

I recently purchased your binding bit and was very pleased at the quality of channel it cut. The channel was square and crisp with no need to clean up or tweak. Just two passes and zip zam bam you're done. Highly recommended.

Bill from Puyallup  Puyallup WA Read my reviews (8)
5 5-23-2011
router bits

I love the oversized bearings-less chatter marks along the sides due to the inevitable slight wobble in my various routers, as I route for the bindings. I find that the .05 bearing works better for the .04 cream binding, especially around the neck heel on the back since I don't use any sort of compensation for the bow of the back. I believe the .04 binding is slightly thicker and I find it easier to sand down the mahogany sides a fraction than it is to sand down the plastic bindings.

nilsericksonguitars  framingham Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-06-2011
Binding Bit

I had forgotten just how great this bit performs when new. My first one is now three years old and I just ordered and received the second one. From now on I'll just make it a point buy a new one every year. What a difference! Effortless, clean sharp cutting performance.

J.P. Johnson  Sanford, NC
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 33 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce