Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Accessories : ToneRite : ToneRite for Guitar

ToneRite for Guitar


Read 30 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The ToneRite® has the guitar world buzzing!
Simulates the effects of actual playing to bring out the best in your guitar.

See details below

Email a friend
ToneRite for Guitar
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0480 For guitar, domestic 110-volt Yes
$149.00

0481 For guitar, international 220-volt Yes
$169.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Oasis Guitar Humidifier



Peterson StroboClip Tuner



GHS Phosphor Bronze Strings



ToneRite for Mandolin

Oasis Guitar Humidifier
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
GHS Phosphor Bronze Strings
ToneRite for Mandolin



Details
 Pictures
This revolutionary "play-in" simulator is based on the observation that the more an acoustic instrument is played, the faster it reaches its full sound potential (its "play-in" period).

The ToneRite applies direct vibration to a guitar at controlled frequencies, to simulate the effects of actual playing. Many players report increased volume and dynamic range in their instruments after using the device between playing sessions.

"The ToneRite® has made a dramatic difference in the tone of new instruments, and has helped to 'wake up' vintage instruments that haven't been played in years."
—Eric Schoenberg, Schoenberg Guitars

"After one week with the ToneRite on the guitar, the voice of my LaVenezia opened-up beautifully!"
—Bob Benedetto, Benedetto Guitars, Inc.

"All I know is the ToneRite works. It has caused several instruments in my shop to develop tone and response to a significant degree."
—Michael Lewis, luthier

3rd Generation models are the newest and most advanced ToneRite:
  • New electronics for finer control of intensity and harmonic content
  • More efficient, better fitting Elastone feet
  • Can be used on steel or nylon string acoustics, archtops and hollowbody guitars

ToneRite fits between the strings of a steel-string, archtop, classical or acoustic bass guitar (up to 2-5/32" / 55mm string spread) and rests against the bridge. The special Elastone feet are designed to safely and quietly maximize energy transfer to the instrument. The intensity of vibration can be controlled by a convenient dial on the power cord.

The manufacturer recommends an initial usage of 72-144 hours. It will be the first step in achieving your instrument's top potential. Subsequent treatments will be required to maintain and further develop your instrument. The ToneRite is not designed to make a poor instrument great, it is simply designed to bring out the best in an instrument. Your instrument will retain its individual character, with enhanced balanced tone and playability.

Domestic model is a 110-volt AC electrical appliance, 60Hz. It has a U.S. standard Type A plug with two flat parallel prongs, ungrounded.

International model is a 220-volt AC electrical appliance, 50Hz. It has an international plug Type C (Europlug) with two round prongs, ungrounded.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 30 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 1-21-2012
Gobsmacked

I plugged it onto my rebuilt 1954 Southern Jumbo ( new top, fretboard, bridge and finish )for 72 hours at the full setting and then gave it another 8 for luck. With trepidation I picked it up and strummed it. Gobsmacked- absolutly no change whatsoever, still sounded like a brand new constipated guitar, what a disappointment, what a waste of money. In desparation I stuck it back on again at the lowest setting for another 30 hours. Picked it up, strummed it and ------ GOBSMACKED,it sang it far exceeded all my expectations. Don't give up folks it works. Fantastic./

John TheAntique  UK
5 12-21-2011
Awesome

This device really works!!! Anyone who owns acoustic guitars should invest in a ToneRite - it's worth every penny.

Dan R  USA Read my reviews (5)
4 8-31-2011
I think it works therefore it works...

Well I tried it on my Carvin Cobalt 12-string,which guitar has felt quite "stiff" since new. Ran the ToneRite for a solid week at varying intensities. Then changed the strings and tried the guitar.
The instrument "seems" to feel and sound better, has a more connected response and is generally a nicer playing experience. No science in my testing or use of the ToneRite, just plain feeling and hearing. I think it was quite worth the $$ and effort!

jsmith  FL Read my reviews (2)
5 8-31-2011
Works well. Improves the sound of a guitar.

The ToneRite has worked well for me by improving the sound of my guitars. One way to describe the change is to say that each one sounds more like itself. It also seems to "mellow out" the sound. I first used it on a hybrid archtop/flattop guitar which had a definite edge to the sound.

The Tone Rite mellowed it out and to me it sounds like it would after being played for many years. The second experiment was with a 1953 Gibson L7. I didn't think it could sound any better but I was surprised how good it sounds now. All in all I'd say it works as advertised. The changes are subtle but they are there.

One small nit. It only works on steel string guitars. Doesn't work on classical or bass guitars so you would have to by one for each instrument.

Frank Sole  Green Village, NJ
5 8-30-2011
Tonerite 3G

This thing does everything it says on the tin. I used it on my Taylor 512 which had not been played for about 6 months. The sound it produce after 72 hours on medium setting was nothing short of stunning! I am well impressed, money well spent with no regrets. Highly Recommended Product.

BeeGee  UK
5 8-19-2011
ToneRite

When it arrived I put it to work on a mountain duclimer I'd just finished. Like others, I was amazed at what it accomplished overnight. Five days later was even more amazing. It works.

wayne simms  Bennington, Oklahoma
5 7-08-2011
niceeeeeeee

brings your guitar to life ...

Raj Pereira  dubai, UAE Read my reviews (5)
5 6-25-2011
Update on Tonerite/HD28

I've had the Tonerite on the HD28 for a bit longer now and would like to change my rating to 5 stars! The guitar's performance is definitely more noticeably improved!

Normhart  Guam Read my reviews (5)
4 6-19-2011
Tonerite w/HD28

I did the recommended 144 hours on full settings with my '96 Martin HD28. Actually, the guitar was already loud enough to begin with so I was curious what the Tonerite would do to it. What I perceived initially as loss of bass response was more emphasis on mids and highs giving the guitar a more even response rather than the somewhat bass heaviness it had prior to the Tonerite.

After a few days, it seemed to get its bass back to some degree and now it's just the way I expected -nice and full but more 'even'. I figured this as a kind of 'settling in' period after the treatment. Another thing is that the strings I used to restring were ones I've never used before (d'Addario med phosphors) -I'd normally used Martin or Martin SP+ so I'm not too sure if this had anything to do with differences before and after that I might have perceived.

Recently, I've been using the lower settings and that seems to be working well. I'll be trying it out on my electric next just to see if there'd be any benefit. It's my 2004 Fender '54 Anniversary master build. I figure if it works with it, it'll make the guitar even more like a 'real' vintage instrument!

Normhart  Guam Read my reviews (5)
5 6-08-2011
That's right, use your ToneRite

Used on a custom built OOO brazillian guitar w/carpathian top, a newly built F-5 mandolin, and a '56 Gibson LG-1 that has been hotrodded with 100yr. old scalloped X-bracing and I am very impressed. All 3 instruments opened up very nicely and have a wonderful sound. It didn't work at all on a 2008 814 Eastman F-4 that hasn't been played an hour. I believe the top and back wood on this mandolin are to thick in the re-curve area. I am ready to pull the back and rework. But in the mean time, do your instruments a favor and buy a ToneRite.

Phillip B. Gifford  Lebanon, Ohio USA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce