Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Accessories : Cleaners, polishes, lubricants : Preservation Polish

Preservation Polish


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Silicone-free and repair shop friendly, with no wax or silicone residues. 12-ounce bottle.

See details below

Email a friend
Preservation Polish
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3006 Preservation Polish
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$8.85
3 or more $7.81  
6 or more $6.77  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Polishing Cloth



Guitar Player Repair Guide



ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil



ColorTone Lemon Oil



Polishing Cloth
Guitar Player Repair Guide
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Lemon Oil



Details
 Pictures
Preservation Polish gently cleans, polishes and protects lacquer and varnish finishes.

Ordinary guitar polishes shine by leaving a long-lasting silicone residue that's very hard to remove. If your guitar ever needs a repair, the silicone will prevent glue or finish from adhering, making even simple repairs more difficult and costly.

Simply apply Preservation Polish with a clean cotton cloth. It leaves no wax or silicone residues, so there's no cloudy film, stickiness or build-up. And it won't discolor the patina of vintage finishes.

Luthiers and repair shops: You've learned the hard way that guitars and silicone are bad company. Silicone residue makes it difficult for glue or finish to adhere properly and is a primary cause of "fisheyes" and cratering in lacquer finishes. It's even worse if silicone reaches bare wood or gets into the cracks of older finishes. Even the simplest finish repairs can become more difficult, time-consuming and costly. Do your colleagues a favor — use Preservation Polish and recommend it to your customers!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  4  5  6
5 2-14-2011
Great Stuff

Preservation polish is the best. I've used all brands of guitar polish from Gibson, Duncan, Fender none of them clean and shine the way Preservation Polish does-and no streaking! Stew Mac is the best guitar products company going, shipments are always timely, and the parts and supplies are top notch!!!

Michael Powers  Topeka,Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-06-2011
Great Stuff

This polish is the best there is. It has no equal. If you are using something else, you need to try this. You'll never go back.

dwcpsc  South Africa Read my reviews (3)
5 1-06-2011
Great Investment

This is by far the best guitar cleaner/polish I've used. I purchased a used 12 string that had been well worn and caked with layers of cigarette film and grime. After a few polishes the guitar finish came out beautiful and the neck is smooth as silk.

Chard  Walla Walla, Wa. Read my reviews (2)
5 10-23-2010
polish

Preservation polish works great, smells good and seems to clean well as well as leaving a great shine to the finish.

Guitar Guy  Naples Maine Read my reviews (2)
5 10-17-2010
The real deal

There comes a time when you just have to put aside the household polishes and use the proper polish on a fine guitar. I wont use anything else from now on.

Jack  San Bernardino, Ca. Read my reviews (5)
5 10-16-2010
I am speechless!

I've been trying for over 40 years to get my guitars to look this good!

Dug  Ohio Read my reviews (2)
5 10-08-2010
This Stuff Works Great!!!

On a recent project I restored and refinished a vintage Epiphone Accu-bass. After the final polishing of the lacquer it appeared to be completed, but since a friend had recommended Restoration Polish I gave it a try. It made a world of difference, even on my new finish, bringing out the final luster. This is an economical product as well; a tiny bit goes a long way. I'll be using this product on all my projects going forward. Thanks Stew-Mac!

Restorer  Swannanoa, NC Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-22-2010
perfect polish

Technical babble aside, this is the best stuff I have ever used, and I've been at it for 40 years.

Rocket  USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-08-2010
Preservation Polish is fantastic!

Bought 7 bottles since 12 ounces of this stuff is cheaper than 6-8 ounces of about anything else. Upon receiving the bottles, I noticed that Preservation Polish has mineral spirits in it. I've since found that, besides giving a haze-free shine, Preservation Polish easily removes sticky adhesive, such as that which is applied to pickguards. The smell is not particularly offensive either, in that it has a faint aroma of glue and vinegar, to my senses. Therefore, the mineral spirits do not overwhelm everything. Is definitely worth every penny. 7 bottles should last me about 2 years.

Charles Bevell  Bloomington, IN
5 7-31-2010
Preservation Polish

Before I bought Preservation Polish I used to use Martin guitar polish. It served me well when I was young and my guitar finishes were young. However, in recent years I have not been able to get the results that I was used to getting. I would work real hard at polishing an instrument only to place it on a stand and have the light in the room reveal a smudged surface that looked terrible. Preservation polish makes your efforts worthwhile by delivering a proper shine to your finish. It is similar to the Gibson Luthier series guitar polish which I prefer to the Martin polish; however, I only ever had a small expensive bottle of the Gibson polish and it ran out fairly quickly. When I got the Preservation Polish through the mail and saw the results on the first guitar I had chosen to polish I immediately polished another five guitars. The results are the best I have experienced in years and I will continue to use this product going forward. Tip: Before polishing your guitar clean the entire surface of the instrument using the moist-breath treatment - no point in trying to polish over dirt and dust - you will achieve best results this way.

LouRoi  Philadelphia
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  4  5  6 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce