Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 76 – 100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 4-10-2014
Amazing stuff!

I bought the 3/8's and the 1/2", both with extra bearings. The bearing that came with the 1/2" didn't slide all the way down onto the shaft. Wrote stewmac and there was another at my door the next day! That's great service!!!!! Bits and bearings both are top notch, couldn't get by without them. Word to the wise though, shallow cuts make for more consistent results. Thanks Stewmac!!!!!!!!

Hepburn  New Albany, Indiana Read my reviews (6)
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 4-10-2014
great basic tuners

They have a nice feel, smooth tuning.

Chris R  Qu├ębec, Canada Read my reviews (6)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 4-10-2014
Rosewood binding

I used this binding on a bass guitar neck. The binding is very attractive with a rich color and I haven't oiled it yet. It glued well using CA.

maaark38  San Clemente, CA Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 4-10-2014
ColorTone Stain

I couldn't be happier with this product. It was exactly as described. This was my first attempt at re-finishing a guitar and it turned out great!

rico5082  Cincinnati, OH
Snark Guitar, Bass, and Violin Tuner
Snark Guitar, Bass, and Violin Tuner
5 4-10-2014
no need to unplug

This little guy snaps on the headstock and does just as good a job as the best plug-in tuner I have. Very fast, sensitive, and easy to use.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 4-10-2014
works as advertised

So far I've just used it once, but it seems to have done an excellent job. When fretting with a hammer, I expect to have to do lots of leveling afterwards, but initial tests with the Fret Rocker show this neck is nearly perfect already. I will probably end up tapping down a few places with the hammer and then stoning the whole thing perfect before I am completely satisfied, but that's just because I am fussy about these things. I found it is easier to do a fret (especially a long one) in several steps - push one end, then the other, then the middle down hard. Much the same way you would hammer it. That also puts less stress on your drill press, which isn't really designed for this kind of thing, but seems to do it well enough. Better, faster and *quieter* than hammering. Although I must say I found the whack whack whack method more satisfying somehow. Alas, I will probably never do it that way again. The Stewmac neck caul is the other end of this rig, and is pretty much essential.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
5 4-09-2014
I was lucky on this one

The truss rod nut did exactly what I needed to do. After having extracted the old stripped nut from a used Squier Strat (that was over-tightened), I could reassemble the instrument easily. Inexpensive, quality part, and quick delivery.

CharlieInOmaha  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 4-09-2014
Great Book

The Repair Guide amazes me because it provides a fundamental understanding of the guitar. I have been learning far more than simply how to fix it. I now know what I need to do a thorough job. Furthermore, this book is really fun to read.

CharlieInOmaha  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Guitar Bridge
4 4-09-2014
Bridge Adjustment

Got the Ebony bridge for my Epi ES-175. Did some sanding of the bottom but the bridge still seems high. Will take it to pro for proper setup and bridge adjustment. A very beautiful wooden bridge!

Johnny A  Phila. Pa.
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 4-09-2014
Big-boy fretwire

Needed some really big fretwire to act as a zero fret for an 1969 Zim-Gar (Teisco). This really did the trick. Too bad you don't sell it by the fret!

Bryan was taken already  Houston Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 4-09-2014
Learning curve

There was a bit of a learning curve (wasted fretwire) in determining what its maximum cut was - and that maximum was not big. Knowing this is important since I could not go back to make a second cut because it would mangle the crown. I would have liked to have been able to go back and nibble a little more of the tang away as needed on some frets. It's a good thing I started by the headstock and worked my way down as it allowed me to reuse some mis-trimmed frets. Still, it was a massive timesaver in my last bound-fingerboard refret once I learned its peculiarities. Some adjustment instructions would be nice as well instead of having to waste fretwire learning tool setup through experimentation.

Bryan was taken already  Houston Read my reviews (2)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
2 4-09-2014
CREAM BINDING

I took a chance with this color. I was hoping it wouldn't be too pink or orange like some have said it is . . . well it's pretty pink/orange. This very well may be the perfect color for a vintage Les Paul but not for anything else imo. Stew Mac needs to offer a true cream binding, this should be called Gibson shell pink. I'll have to order white and tone it instead. Other than the color I have not a complaint. I've been ordering from Stew Mac for 10 plus years and I don't plan on stopping now.

J.M. Haas  RVA
Alnico Bar Magnet
Alnico Bar Magnet
5 4-09-2014
Honk instead of ice pick

For just a few bucks, this little alnico 2 bar changed the sound in an Asian HSH Strat quite pleasantly. The bridge pickup originally had an alnico 5 mag in it and BOY was it ice picky! It was a $200 guitar so what the heck. I put the StewMac alnico 2 bar in it and left it unpotted. Has a nice little "honk" to it now instead of ice picks in your ear. Didn't really lose output either. Thanks again Stew Mac.

JLane  Brackett, Texas
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 4-09-2014
nice

where else are you going to find one of these? Stew Mac rocks!

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Pre-wired Harness for Gibson Les Paul
Golden Age Pre-wired Harness for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 4-09-2014
nice idea

if you have minimal soldering skills just buy all the parts and solder them together yourself. it is a cute packaging idea.

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Pot Cleaning Cap
Pot Cleaning Cap
1 4-09-2014
whoa

still sparys all over the place. save your money

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 4-09-2014
nice

cleaned up my pots nicely

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 4-09-2014
great

everything I've ever wanted in a knob position indicator. shiny and new

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
5 4-09-2014
Great Choice

I was getting ready to put together a Jazz Bass and was looking at bridges. I have always liked the vintage Fender bridges with the knurled saddles. When I first saw this bridge on Stew Mac's site I was a bit hesitant because there were no reviews. Then I saw it was stainless steel so I took the plunge. I can tell you this bass bridge is much better in hand than it seems looking at it on the PC screen. It is very stout and does have a little weight to it but I can tell you my jazz has fantastic sustain and I can feel the notes resonate in my thumb all the way up and down the neck. I also thought the price they were asking for this type of bridge was a little high but after getting it on my bass and playing it for a few weeks I can tell you it was well worth it. Intonation was easy. Plenty of adjustment room and the knurled saddles makes for easy placement of the strings over the pickup pole pieces. It really is a nice bridge!

Mike B.  Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
White/b/w Laminated Pickguard Materials
White/b/w Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 4-09-2014
L.P. Pick Guard

It is easy to find LP pickguard for humbucking pickups. This guitar was equipped with P90 pickup and original copies are rare to find. It is great to find materials which will allow you to make an exact copy of the original part.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Pickguard Screws for Gibson
Pickguard Screws for Gibson
5 4-09-2014
Keep it original.

For whatever reason, most of the instruments I receive are missing anything from one to all of the original screws. These screws are a perfect match for the original parts on a Gibson guitar. You can't tell the two new ones from the original screws.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
CTS Control Pots
CTS Control Pots
5 4-09-2014
Simply Superior

This is a no brainer. For a couple bucks more, you get a smooth, scratch-free, nicely tapered control.

Randy  Indianapolis Read my reviews (5)
Basic Wiring Kit
Basic Wiring Kit
3 4-09-2014
If you don't need much...

I love Stew-Mac in general but I think they could add about 25% more length and still make a good margin. I ran out of white a bit soon.

Randy  Indianapolis Read my reviews (5)
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 4-09-2014
Vintage Guitar Restoration

These tuners matach the original Gibson parts. When restoring a vintage guitar I try to keep it as original as possible. These little honeys fill the bill.

G.L. Middleton  Abilene Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
4 4-09-2014
Wood quality

Great fingerboard. The wood was straight and well-radiused, but could you start quarter-sawing them? Thanks!

Caleb Lauth  Georgia
Displaying 76 – 100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce