Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 51 – 75
of 20995 reviews
< 1  2  3  4  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 4-15-2014
Great and fast tool!!!!!!!!!!!

Great and fast tool!!!!!!!!!!!

william chetney  Lake Charles, LA Read my reviews (4)
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
5 4-15-2014
funciona

En 15 minutos, y sin experiencia previa, resolví el problema del alma rota, mi viejo Gibson V resucitó.

rmuniz  spain
Customer supplied image for review
Swamp Ash Body Blank
Swamp Ash Body Blank
4 4-14-2014
Good Ash

I bought a 2 piece ash blank to use for a bass guitar.

endrey  Russia
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star 3-ply Maple Banjo Rim Blank
Five-Star 3-ply Maple Banjo Rim Blank
4 4-14-2014
Maple banjo rim, blank

Exactly what I was expecting, maybe a bit on the too-thick side, not set yet on a lathe, but I'm expecting a perfect result. Brass tone ring (flat) to go with it.

Philippe Fromont  Switzerland
Buffing Wheels
Buffing Wheels
5 4-14-2014
Stew mac's buffing wheels.

If you are going to make it easy on yourself and get reliable, quality polishing results then you need to get the right tools.For me the right tools meant a buffing arbor, two 13" buffing wheels and some fine Menzerna buffing compound. Now I am able to get reliable,professional looking finishes for my ukulele builds. I would recommend starting up the buffing wheels for the first time out in the open air against a piece of 2x4 lumber as the fluff that comes off of a new wheel makes it look like a heavy snow storm. All in all I couldn't be happier with my new buffing wheels.

Shuter Enterprises  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (6)
Menzerna Compounds
Menzerna Compounds
5 4-14-2014
Menzerna polishing compound for nitro lacquer

I had been polishing my lacquered ukuleles with Stewmac's paste compound. I used a polishing pad on an electric drill. It sort of looked OK but I did have some problems with burn through. I bought a buffing arbor and a couple of Stewmac's 13" buffing wheels along with some fine menzerna compound. (It doesn't take much compound) I use Stewmac's recommended buffing speed and I couldn't be happier with the results. The results are very predictable if you don't rush and pay attention to what you are doing. I am getting lots of compliments from my musician friends. They are pretty impressed with the professional looking finish provided by the Menzerna compound. So am I.

Shuter Enterprises  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (6)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 4-13-2014
Classy Gold & Black

I recently purchased an all-black Jackson SLXT Soloist. The black hardware looked great, but I love the look of black and gold and wanted to add a little bling to my guitar so I ordered 2 of the gold tapered metal humbucker mounting rings, one low and one tall, from StewMac. I'd had trouble in the past with another company's rings not fitting EMG pickups, but the StewMac rings fit perfectly. I added a couple of StewMac gold dome knobs to complete the look and I couldn't be happier. Thanks StewMac!

Andy  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-13-2014
Shine on!

I have used many different buffing compounds available from auto paint stores. This stuff is better, I like how the tubs are in a paste like consistency and does not go flying off when I use the foam buffer. I had debated and thought all compounds were the same but these are a higher quality. Something about the type of abrasive used, think micro mesh vs standard wet/dry paper.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 4-13-2014
Angry Japanese Steel

This is a great saw, if you have never used a Japanese saw your in for a treat. They are crazy sharp and cut in the pull stroke, on ebony I no longer get chips outs or have to saw for days on boards. The best part is they are gauged for the stewmac fret wire. I have the traditional fretting saw and this one is my go to. For my use I wish the handle was a few inches shorter but I can modify it for my use. Don't question just get it.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
5 4-13-2014
Hands Down The Best !

I have used every cap on the market in the last 30 years including true Bumblebees and these are by far the BEST!! Very rich warm tone I will be ordering more for each of my guitars.

Tracy G  Indianapolis,IN Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
4 4-13-2014
40:1

I just bought these gearless tuners. Easy to install, instructions were very good. I installed all 6 tuners in less than 60 minutes. String changing is fast and very easy. These tuners are rated 40:1 but I think the ratio is much less than that. I would like to see the threads on the machine shaft much finer which would make the tuning ratio much higher. I tune with a strobe tuner and for me the finer the tuning increments the better. Although the stated ratio is 40:1 I can easily pass the note and have to back up to compensate all within less than one turn. I would like to have to turn 3 to 4 revolutions per semitone to get the accuracy I am looking for. Overall a great product but I want much finer threads.

Frank White  Jacksonville, Fl
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
5 4-12-2014
A very cool & versatile way out for many guitars

I have only recently received my order for these bridges and must say I am impressed with the quality of machining & finish. Very versatile for different tops. Reasonably priced and will order them again. A great product.

Warren- Southern Slide Guitars  Melbourne Australia
Banjo Adapter for Snark Tuner
Banjo Adapter for Snark Tuner
5 4-12-2014
Great Accessory

I really like the Snark tuners. I have broken 2 of them due to not storing them carefully in my banjo case. When I saw this adapter I immediately ordered it. It installed on my banjo with no modifications and works great with my latest Snark tuner. It is out of the way of damage when stored in the case and is easily available when I need to adjust the tuning of a string during a jam session. This is a great addition.

J Hickey  Albuquerque, NM
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
4 4-12-2014
Inexpensive and look fine

Installation is straight forward and the pegs work like they are supposed to. As to complaints that they look like plastic - they are plastic. Many of the early pegs were celluloid (a collodian derivative) or later, bakelite(a formaldehyde resin). They also looked like plastic. Only some the very expensive banjos used ivory. One problem - these pegs only come in black. The 5th peg only comes in white. So you either have to buy one black tuner knob or 4 white tuner knobs if you want your pegs all the same color.

flat7th  Tacoma, WA Read my reviews (2)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
4 4-12-2014
some dogs

In general I think this is a fine product, however I think there are some issues with the electronics. I had to have my first on replaced due to problems with the battery compartment; unit would not stay on or constantly reset itself. Several other unit at school were having issues so I think it was just a bad run or job lot, the tool itself is great!

Leo M Whitebird  Mpls Mnn Read my reviews (17)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 4-12-2014
Makes setup a breeze

The previous reviews say it all. If you're going to be setting up guitars, then just get it. It makes setups stupidly quick and easy. I never thought I would use the under string radii gauges until I actually tried them (my only qualm with those is that they could be wider for 7+ strings).

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
Diamond Fret File
Diamond Fret File
5 4-12-2014
Diamonds are my best friend

My first fret job was with one of those with removable burr fret files. My second through current fret jobs were with a diamond file. I can't go back to a toothed file anymore. Diamond files are faster and easier to clean up after. I would suggest the 300-grit. It cuts fast enough as is and leaves a fairly smooth surface (as far as crowning files are concerned). Sure it's a little pricey, but it makes crowning a piece of cake.

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
5 4-12-2014
Essential fretting tool

These things are simply amazing. After crowning my frets with a diamond file, I'll go over them with 0000 steel wool, then polish them up with one of these. I can get a full fret job/polish out of one stick. A little trick I found was when they start getting dirty, just snip half an inch off the tip and keep going. They're cheap too, so buy a few next time you place an order–you won't regret it. I can see myself ordering a handful every time I need some new tools. I haven't used them for finish touch ups yet, but they're worth their weight in gold for fretting purposes. They're also great for polishing your nails if you play fingerstyle!

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-11-2014
color tone

great product, had minor issues with spitting droplets, one out of 7 total cans used, replacement can shipped asap

reed richards  atlanta,ga.
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
5 4-11-2014
Liked these knobs

If it weren't for these knobs, I would have passed on the 5-Star tuners. The knobs that come with them are SUPER UGLY! These made all the difference in the world. Very elegant. A little snug fit on the tuner shaft, but pulled right into position when I tightened the screw. I'd use them again.

Michael's Ukuleles  Bellingham, WA Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
4 4-11-2014
Worked for tenor uke

I decided to try these pegs on a very special tenor uke. The customer requested geared tuners, and there are many options available, of course. (I decided against the Waverly banjo set because the cylindrical base is 3/4" in diameter.) The 5-Stars are 5/8" in dia. and require a headstock of 7/16" or more, which worked for us. The tuners work very well. The shaft does protrude a little more than usual for a uke, but in this case it didn't matter. The buttons that come on the tuners are EXTRA ugly (that's why only 4 stars), so I also ordered the ivoroid replacements. The final result was an attractive and elegant presentation on a stunning uke. I'll use them again.

Michael's Ukuleles  Bellingham, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Bridge Pin Puller
Bridge Pin Puller
5 4-11-2014
Handy

This little guy is as handy as a shirt pocket. I keep one in every acoustic guitar case I own.

Mycle812  Riverton, Illinois Read my reviews (7)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 4-11-2014
The right tool

Having the right tool for the job sure saves me a lot of aggrivation. Not to mention ... isn't as likely to cause damage to expensive guitars right where you would see it the most.

Mycle812  Riverton, Illinois Read my reviews (7)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 4-11-2014
Less Rust. More Flash.

I always replace the pickguard screws in my many Strats with Stainless Steel screws. The stock screws corrode over time and look terrible where the Stainless Screws always look like new.

Mycle812  Riverton, Illinois Read my reviews (7)
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 4-11-2014
Moc šikovná věc

S tímto boxem se pracuje krásně. Můžu všem jen doporučit.

miroslav hefner  chomutov, czech republic
Displaying 51 – 75
of 20995 reviews
< 1  2  3  4  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce