Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 26 – 50
of 20995 reviews
< 1  2  3  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 4-16-2014
Easy way to better tone.

Bought these StewMac Compensated Bridge Saddles to go on an old generic Tele and i couldn't believe the difference. The pickups had more depth and all around better sound than the steel ones i had on it. These saddles will work on any Tele and they make a Big difference! They are compensated so they intonate fine. Well worth the price. Thanks

gib pickins  dale indiana Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Screw Rescue Kit
Guitar Screw Rescue Kit
5 4-16-2014
Need more sizes around!!!

Really easy to use. Perfect results. I just wonder why nobody else thought about it! I'd love to have another one 6 millimeter diameter around.

Salvador  Tarragona, Spain Read my reviews (5)
Depth-stop Drill Bits
Depth-stop Drill Bits
5 4-16-2014
Really useful

First of all I'd like to congratulate you (again), for the excellent service! The depth-stop drill bits work fine and, though a simple idea, great execution. Pity it is not made for bigger bits...

Salvador  Tarragona, Spain Read my reviews (5)
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
5 4-16-2014
works great

I got this to rescue a broken rod in a Gibson bass...and shazam!! the bass lives to rock another day...kinda pricey, but works as advertised.

Steve F.  Surrey B.C. Read my reviews (2)
Maple Biscuit-Bridge
Maple Biscuit-Bridge
5 4-16-2014
Soild

I swapped the biscuit that came with the resonator for this one and the volume almost doubled. I was very impressed with the results.

EdwardElias  Hendersonville, TN Read my reviews (5)
Alnico 5 Polepiece Magnets
Alnico 5 Polepiece Magnets
2 4-16-2014
A little too many problems

I purchased several pickup kits, everything great, except for some missing eyelets, and for ONE pole piece. One of my jazz bass pickups came with only 7 pole pieces. "Nothing is perfect, in the next order I'll get a replacement". So I did. I ordered ONE pole piece, the tallest stewmac carries. It is still shorter than the others, and is not chamfered. The pole pieces, when purchased outside a kit, may not match the others in size or finish. And the price, which is a bit to the steep side.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
3 4-16-2014
Could be better

The product works as advertised. But StewMac keeps us customers spoiled with great products, and this is not great. See the picture: 1 - The plastic tube is robust and nearly unbreakable, so is the rubber cap. But the bottom, where the magnet sits, is cloudy (probably due to excess acrylate glue. 2 - The inside label is glued around a piece of soda straw (you can see the stripes). Although perfect to limit the magnet range inside the tube, makes the product look cheap. I'll take mine apart and assemble in a pet lab tube, which has a round bottom. The cap and polarity indicator will be a maple plug. We fancy our tools here. We take proud in sharp blades and well polished handles, as we do with every part we craft. It's kind of a philosophy, "no cheap stuff here".

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
4 4-16-2014
Good Product!

Good product. Does what it supposed to. The look is nice. Hard to tell from real ebony. I had purchased a maple fingerboard and decided halfway through my build that I preferred ebony. Unfortunately, I had already attached my fingerboard. I purchased this to stain as a inexpensive fix. It is really thin and a little goes a long way. I used a 1/2" flat brush to apply. I used Frog Masking Tape to protect the neck and even though I was super careful around the edges it bled through horribly. Fortunately, I planned on painting the outside edges of the neck so the stain won't show. If you are going to use this definitely stain the fingerboard BEFORE attaching.

Tim777  Lincoln, NE Read my reviews (2)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
4 4-16-2014
Good material

Pros: Beautiful and consistent in color and shape. A real breeze to install with epoxy or acrylate. The fit is very tight to the hole made with the corresponding drill. Cons: Some may find the dots to be a little thin. I like them that way, I install them in very shallow and precision drilled holes. Some people would prefer more working height, to allow for deeper sanding/planing the fretboard.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 4-16-2014
Great binding material

I've bound several types of material, these are my favorite. Works well with acetone and plastic cement, but my glue of choice is ultra-thin cyanoacrilate. I tape all the layers in the slot of the instrument (3, 5 even 9 strips at once), tighten the a 4" area with finger pressure and drop the glue to the laminated side. The glue absorbs and spreads between the layers, forming an invisible, irreversible bond, plastics and wood get a hard bond in a single step. Very easy to scrape.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
5 4-16-2014
time savers

any wellmade template will help save time and make cuts a lot cleaner, one thing with the ones i got, took me a hour to figure out that the countersunk holes were cut on the wrong side, good thing i'm old school and measure 6 times, cut once.

kent perry, Toad Mountain Music  Retro Tone Guitars,Pavas, costa rica Read my reviews (4)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 4-16-2014
worth the price

Good stuff, lasts a lot longer than regular paper, i use it mostly for fret leveling, and i can get 20-25 fret levels out of one piece, so worth the price, and self sticking is a plus

kent perry, Toad Mountain Music  Retro Tone Guitars,Pavas, costa rica Read my reviews (4)
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
5 4-16-2014
Smooth and shiny

After purchasing a few sets of ebony pins over the years for myself and for customers, these StewMac pins are just about as good as they get. They are well formed, no chips, and very smooth and shiny like ebony pins should be. Even though a set of over-sized pins had a normal size pin in it, the great customer service department promptly corrected the mistake by sending a replacement.

Acoustichoral  STLouis
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 4-16-2014
Perfect replacement for Larrivee OEM Keys

These fit exactly on a Larrivee OMV-10 model, perfect except for the logo.

RestoGuitar  Cincinnati, Ohio USA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 4-16-2014
Stewmac to the rescue

I bought a set of saddles to replace the problematic ones on my Jackson PS4 Performer. The stock factory FR licensed ones have given me problems for years, and these seem to be so much better. It is definitely a cost effective solution. They worked perfectly for me.

Carlos Santos  Cheyenne WY
Spalted Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
Spalted Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
5 4-16-2014
Great wood!

… highly curled, and wonderfully spalted… great piece of wood

Banjo980  Noumea, New Caledonia Read my reviews (4)
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Custom
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Custom
5 4-15-2014
Hey StewMac - how big did you say these are?

I did something that is not usually advised - which was that I routed out the pockets for these blocks on the CNC before I even had them in hand (the shipping was fast BTW). When the pieces arrived - all I had to do was to breathe on the edges with some sandpaper and in they went. I like the look but I am really impressed by the QC on the dimensions. Well done!

John Armstrong  Cambridge, MA
Dulcimer Kit
Dulcimer Kit
1 4-15-2014
Beware!

I would not buy this kit again on a bet. Poor instructions, insufficient bracing, no kerfing, shoddy peghead detail (tearout at edge of scroll required filling). Not remotely satisfied with this kit for the price paid.

Dan McCulloch  California Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

Dan McCulloch,
Thank you for your order and review. We're sorry you were unhappy with the Dulcimer Kit. We offer a 100% guarantee; if any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-15-2014
Amazing exact tone of an Original PAF

I just had the 5416-GS set of Alnico 5 at the neck and Alnico 2 at the bridge installed on my completely from the ground up upgraded Epiphone Lucille. The only hardware /wiring/switches/hand made vintage bone nut/ Gibson Deluxe tuning gears and electronics left that were stock is the strap pegs. Everything else is pure factory Gibson except these Golden Age Parson's Street pickups. I was going to use Gibson 57 Classics but my tech talked me in to these because he believed they were even closer to the original early PAF's then the current Gibson Classics. He was right. My Lucille is a whole new instrument. I have Gibson 57 Classics in other guitars and believe me, these Parson's Street pickups are alive, articulate, note definitive and so balanced note to note that they just left me amazed.

Ed Mili  Edgewood, Maryland Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 4-15-2014
Grover Sta-Tite tuners

Just replaced the big tuners that came on the Martin HD16R Adirondack guitar I recently bought. I have never attempted to do anything like this before & was a bit nervous about doing it myself. I own many guitars, Martins & Gibsons, but nothing cheap to practice on. All I have ever done is adjust action occasionally but decided to do it. I got the tuners from StewMac & jumped right in. I am very glad they have step by step instructions on how to go about it. I followed them to a "T" & it came out perfect. If I can do it anyone can, But I can't stress enough...follow the instruction steps & by all means TAKE YOUR TIME. I want to thank the folks at Stewart MacDonald for their help, the time they took speaking with me on the phone about the process & for having the instructions on how to do this on their site. I'm very happy with the way my gutar turned out. Time to stop writing now & do a little pickin. Bye for now. Stump

Stump  So. Glens Falls, N.Y.
Knob Puller
Knob Puller
5 4-15-2014
Handy invention

Very useful for removing knobs to clean your guitar great invention

grungejambo  Ireland Read my reviews (3)
String Cutter
String Cutter
5 4-15-2014
Must have tool

Cuts your strings closer to the machine head post a lot better than the cutters on the planet waves pro winder very useful

grungejambo  Ireland Read my reviews (3)
String Spreaders
String Spreaders
5 4-15-2014
Great invention

Very useful for keeping the strings out of the way for working on your nut or fretboard gotta love it

grungejambo  Ireland Read my reviews (3)
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
Montreux Step Bass Bridge
5 4-15-2014
Great attention to detail

I bought this bridge as a retrofit for an old Gotoh 201 style bridge on my 90s Yamaha jazz bass. I was weary of the price tag but decided to pull the trigger regardless. The bridge feels sturdy, and having the string overwrap not sit on the saddles is great. The small details like the knurled saddles and the slightly oblong string hole shape (helps maintain proper string angle without bend between string slots and saddle) make this a great buy.

AV  Quebec
StewMac Accelerator
StewMac Accelerator
5 4-15-2014
Best on the market

I have found this is the best accelerator on the market. It will not melt the finish on your guitars like the others. If you miss the pump, and prefer the pipette, get a small jar to store it in. That works perfectly!

New Era Guitars  Chesterton, IN
Displaying 26 – 50
of 20995 reviews
< 1  2  3  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce