Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 26 – 50
of 21036 reviews
< 1  2  3  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
4 4-21-2014
Good Upgrade

Good buy definitely makes a difference. Only had to replug the front two mounting holes, the back five fit perfectly. Can't give it five stars as one of the height adjustment screws was missing.

MickBass  UK Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

MickBass,
Thanks for your order and review. We're glad you like the bridge. Sorry for the missing saddle height screw. We'll get a duty-free replacement screw in the mail to you today.

Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
5 4-21-2014
Nice one

Very hand piece of kit, plenty of wire, pots nice and solid with plenty of range. HAd to redrill control plate as mine had the nasty alpha size pots. Only thing I would wish for, that CTS would put a solder lug on the case of the pots, asways a bit wary of putting too much heat on them. Good buy.

MickBass  UK Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Pickups for Jazz Bass
Golden Age Pickups for Jazz Bass
5 4-21-2014
Good Upgrade

Bought these to replace the pups on a cheap jazz bass. Nice smooth sound, and pretty well balanced. Very pleased with purchase.

MickBass  UK Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 4-20-2014
Looking for shimmer?

Installed in a 1982 Ibanez AM205 Mahogany Burl (similar to a 339 Gibson). These pups are deep and brilliant and compare nicely to Bartolini's. Cts pots and .047 caps and switch for parallel / tap / series on bridge pup.

Don C.  V.I. Canada
Jazz Bass Pickup Routing Templates
Jazz Bass Pickup Routing Templates
4 4-20-2014
Must-have for routing accuracy...

These templates are really the answer for making routs that look fantastic. A friend of mine (who is really good with a router) recently made a bass without templates, and his routs are only nearly perfect. I would definitely recommend spending the few dollars for the outcome you deserve. One thing that I would change: don't use the holes to screw the template to anything (like a practice piece). The template will crack. Some brass grommets in these holes would prevent this problem, but would probably add to the cost. Tape and clamps are just fine to hold it in place, so leave the screw gun on the shelf.

ShaneD  Cedar Rapids, Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 4-20-2014
Don't rout without!

Being fairly handy, but with no routing experience whatsoever, I found that using this bit made my work look as good as any shop job. The bearing makes it virtually impossible to let the material make you wander, and lowering the router on successive passes is then child's play, since the initial opening acts as its own template. Brilliant!

ShaneD  Cedar Rapids, Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 4-20-2014
Everyone should have one!

Excellent tool for smoothing sharp fret ends with zero damage to the fretboard.

Rodney  Rocky Mount, NC
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 4-20-2014
Nice!

Well made and smooth. The jaws are really strong but delicate at the same time. An amazing piece! Wow!!!

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
5 4-19-2014
Schaller 3057 Knobs

I would highly recommend if you are using these Schallers and want to customize your investment. A perfect matching upgrade, the pearloid looks real rich against chrome (or gold) and frees-up some weight at the headstock. Don't know why Schaller doesn't sell 'em this way? Product quality is excellent without ANY issue(s) whatsoever. StewMac's sales/service is awesome and second to none, I received mine within less than a week and have already purchased a similar set to fit my stock Tele (hoping they will fit) Thanks Again StewMac!

Mark Makely  Auburn, CA.
Tremolo Spring Installer
Tremolo Spring Installer
5 4-19-2014
Ideal Tool for the Job

Installing tremolo springs can be tricky, of course, but it's an easy job if you have the right tool. This is the right tool. I added two springs to my Strat to deck the tremolo. It was a piece of cake with this handy tool. I would never want to attempt spring installation or removal without it. Highly recommended.

Mike Leake  Albuquerque, NM
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
4 4-19-2014
Did the trick

I got this to replace an old worn out stopbar on a cheapie LP copy that I had problems keeping in tune. This fixed that problem and helped with the overall intonation, too. Great product!

Paul F  Rome, NY
Acoustic Strap Secure
Acoustic Strap Secure
5 4-19-2014
Long overdue!

Excellent product. I am a professional musician and, unplugged, my Taylor has dropped off the strap button more than a few times. Fortunately, I caught it each time. No more worries now! I am actually surprised that Fishman never dealt with this on their own.

sfalter  Orlando, FL
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 4-18-2014
Great looking

I made a custom pickguard out of this stuff and it turned out great. The thick multi laminate routed perfectly and looks very cool. As for the pattern I don't think anyone will be looking at it with a magnifying glass while it's being played.

SavageBeatLabs  Marion, AR Read my reviews (6)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 4-18-2014
Worked great

I ordered this to fix the ragged fret ends on a neck I got from Stew Mac. I'm new to filing fret ends but this little wonder made it easy. I smoothed everything out and made it as smooth as butter without any damage to fingerboard.

SavageBeatLabs  Marion, AR Read my reviews (6)
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 4-18-2014
Perfect for templates

I got this to use on the neck pocket templates. According to video you use this tape to decrease the size of template. I tried several types of masking tape and it didn't work. I finally broke down and ordered this and I'm very glad I did. Can't wait to use it on binding.

SavageBeatLabs  Marion, AR Read my reviews (6)
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
4 4-18-2014
Sweet neck

I love this compound radius neck. Everything was great except for the fret ends. It was like rubbing a saw. Customer service said it was because of the weather so I guess it's only meant to be played in the summer. They offered to replace it but instead I filed down the fret ends. I figured it would be replaced with another just like it. Now it's like butter. Just plan on a little filing.

SavageBeatLabs  Marion, AR Read my reviews (6)
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 4-18-2014
Shielding Kit

I play/practice alot in my living room, and my house had a nasty 60hz field right smack in the middle of the living room. This kit has eliminated about 80% of the hum I used to get on my single coil guitars in that room. In places OTHER THAN my living room the guitars are dead quiet! Short of re-wiring my old house I have to live with a little hum in my living room. It's so bad even humbucker equiped guitars are a bit noisy! I ordered more kits to try on those humbucker equiped guitars and hopefully get rid of the noise on those guitars while playing in that room. Namaste!

Dale Fedoroff  Edmonton Alberta Canada
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
4 4-18-2014
Violin Kit

I am happy with the purchase and quick delivery of my kitset violin. It is now assembled and I had no trouble gluing it together. I am up to finishing the carcass and find it very slow and frustrating. I am using shellac. I have found it impossible to purchase spirit stains locally. And, unsure what colour to purchase online as no colour swatches are offered. I am frustrated with the slow process to get a reasonable finish and had to strip it back once, then last night the front fell down onto newspaper so that I needed to sand it off which removed the colour off the top centre. Now would like a stain to bring it back. Shellac is fast drying e.g. 5 minutes but, don't re-coat for 4 hours. I tried to re-coat every hour then the atmosphere changed as it rained and this softened the shellac somewhat. I had planned to build a mandolin and next a guitar but put off due their expense and the need to purchase other parts for them not included in the price. In spite of being a violin player. I can't wait to play my kitset violin. Frustrated having to muck around while painting on shellac. In the end I don't want a shiny violin. No, I want a sweet playing violin.

Robert Scott  New Zealand
Free-Way Pickup Switch
Free-Way Pickup Switch
5 4-18-2014
Awesome!

I rebuilt a Gibson Les Paul Studio. I wanted more tone options so I added a third Humbucker. I wanted more pickup configurations and after doing some research I came across the Free-Way Pickup Switch. Here is the configuration.

1. Neck
2. Neck and Bridge
3. Bridge
4. Neck and Middle
5. Middle (Plus an Optional Push, Pull tone Pot for all 3 Humbuckers.)
6. Bridge and Middle

Not to mention, I added push pull pots on the three volume pots for single coil activation. I have a 23 different tone combinations and the Les Paul looks totally stock! This guitar is a tone Jedi! I am really thankful to Alasdair Bryce from Free-Way for corresponding with me for this very intricate wiring schematic. Thanks to Stew Mac for carrying this switch. Get your solder skills on, and turn any guitar into a tone factory!

Guitar Eli  Mesa, AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
5 4-18-2014
Tortoise pick guard

Great product and quick service. Looks great on my first acoustic project. Thanks again Stew Mac!!

T-rex  Sherrill, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Bone Bridge Pins with Abalone Inlay
Bone Bridge Pins with Abalone Inlay
5 4-18-2014
Bone bridge pins

These are beautifully made and a great addition to my first acoustic project!! Couldn't be happier. Thanks Stew Mac!!

T-rex  Sherrill, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 4-18-2014
Grover Tuners

Great product at a great price. Love that vintage Keystone look on my first acoustic project. Installation was a smooth process. Thanks for quick service!!

T-rex  Sherrill, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
5 4-18-2014
Didn't know if I needed them, but . . .

The slot cleaning tool is great! Get's down into the slot to clean up the gunk and brings it out even on a binded neck. The saw was a different story. Hard to get used to, doesn't get to the very end of the slot, could have been better by cutting the blade better to take advantage of the teeth. Careful not to go too hard as you may just bust right through the bindings or at least knick them. I'm sure with more experience I'll get the saw under control.

mfontz  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 4-18-2014
great job with little effort

This diamond fret file does the job quickly, I bought the 150 grit and it does leave marks on the side of the fret but the quickness it rounds the fret makes it worth the scratches. I can only assume over time the scratches will get smaller. Like many thing at StewMac's, it's going to take a long time to pay off the price of this file but time saved is worth while.

mfontz  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 4-18-2014
Great tool for slot depth

The addition of more lines for the depth of the slot made this tool perfect.

mfontz  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 26 – 50
of 21036 reviews
< 1  2  3  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce