Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 20301 – 20325
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  812  813  814  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 8-27-2010
Grained Ivoroid Bridge Pins (no dot)

I like these pins (I’ve used them before) for several reasons: The color and grain is beautiful; the heads are just a bit bigger than some pins; they are made from an old, tried and trued material from about 100 years ago; online, I’ve seen high-priced luthier-made guitars using them (when they could have used bone, ebony or Tusq).

Alan G  Jenner, CA Read my reviews (2)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 8-27-2010
Natural Wood Bindings

I have used your Natural Wood Bindings for the first time on the last instrument I made , I found them very easy to work with ,and made an appreciable difference. Also, I was impressed with the short time to process and deliver my order.

Alan W.  New Zealand
Guitar Grease
Guitar Grease
5 8-27-2010
Makes tuning much more precise.

Highly recommended!

Lutemaker  Spain Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
2 8-27-2010
Not as good as it looks on the pictures

The concept is good and it works fine but it feels cheap with quite rough machining, casting and terrible paintwork. As another reviewer has said it is not a precision piece of machinery. Severely overpriced.I would be happy if it would had cost me half of what I paid. Made in Taiwan.

Lutemaker  Spain Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 8-27-2010
Great Stuff

I just finished repairing a cracked finish spot where I accidently dropped my all time favorite guitar, a Carvin CS6. I almost passed out! It was on the edge and chipped to the wood. This laquer worked perfectly for my needs. Very good stuff to have around. I'll be getting the colored versions soon. I'm sending a pic and you can hardly see it. Look at the bottom right edge of the instrument.

Alan Cargile (36yrs Exp.)  Birmingham, Alabama Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
5 8-27-2010
Perfect fit

I bought the low cream rings for my Carvin CS6 to put a set of Duncans in, and they are working perfectly. Very high quality, good looking rings If anyone is changing pups in a Carvin, then you already know that Carvin uses 3 adjusting screws in the ring. You should also know that the Carvin screws have beveled heads and are slightly larger in diameter that "normal". So make sure to order new adjusting screws as well. Thank you StewMac for making all my repairs and mods much easier!

Alan Cargile (36yrs Exp.)  Birmingham, Alabama Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 8-27-2010
Worked well for me

Used this glue to install MOP inlay and repair a couple of small spots on an ebony fingerboard. Doesn't dry as fast as traditional superglue, so I had some time to work with it.

CRMandomaker  Castle Rock, WA Read my reviews (2)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
3 8-27-2010
no good for thinner frets

If the base block does not fit nice and snug on the fret then this tool looses its usefullness. I found this out building the stew mac tenor uke kit. If the base block fits firmly on the fret, then this tool is great.

tomas  Palo Alto ,Ca.
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
5 8-27-2010
Amazing stuff!

I'm finishing my first acoustic guitar build and tried the micro-mesh at the recommendation of someone else. Really amazing how it brings out the gloss and shine in the last few levels from 6000 to 12000. Very nice. You have to buy this.

Ron57  Valparaiso, IN Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 8-27-2010
152 Fretwire

This was my first full fret job. The 152 fretwire was very forgiving and left plenty of material for my inexperienced self to get a feel for leveling and dressing. I am very satisfied with the end result!

Pat  Cumberland, MD Read my reviews (5)
Pickup Kit for Strat
Pickup Kit for Strat
3 8-27-2010
DIY single coils

These kits were REALLY fun.

It did come with all sorts of headaches.

1.I bought the magnets in the same order, so the magnets came stuck to the poles. You need to magnetize these pickups.

2.You need to drill the holes in the bobbin that the pickguard screws go into. Otherwise the screws are too big and it won't thread up.

3. I bought the white plastic covers from stewmac, and I'm just having a hard time getting the pickups into the pickguard. So some fitting may be necessary. I might try it on a Fender pickguard to see if that's the problem.

I've wound 3 of these with 42awg at about 8,000 winds a piece and reading around 6.25k each. As soon as I get them to fit, I'll do another review.

NPB_EST.1979  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (14)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 8-27-2010
Finally!

Finally, a universal winder, both for manual and electric driver use. If you work with guitars, basses, or most any instrument with tuners, GET ONE TODAY!

Johno  Leon, WV Read my reviews (2)

Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 8-27-2010
Most Excellent!

Truss rod adjustment with no guitar disassembly? Such a simply amazing concept! Why very few guitar makers utilize this style of truss rod is beyond me! Trusted by EBMM for years (that speaks volumes in itself), we now have Stew Mac's take on the spoke nut truss rod and they are awesome! I have used SM's truss rods for years and find them to be of high quality, solid construction. Since switching to the spoke nut version I have found true truss rod happiness! Thanks SM! I am WAY too excited about these! HA!

Rademacher Guitars  Lakeville, MN
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
5 8-27-2010
Excellent for maple necks

I french polished my guitar maple neck and it turned out to be the best option. No hazards, no special equipment, and no waiting. It gave a beautiful color and feels great. A final touch with the micro-mesh pads (sold here too) gave an incredible shine to it. Very easy to use.

JMurillo  Costa Rica
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 8-27-2010
great pots

I bought a 1 meg-ohm pot to run an overwound pickup (TV Jones) wide open. It was very easy to install and is very smooth. I will probably use this pot with future guitars.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
5 8-27-2010
great for custom pickguards

I used this pickguard material on a complete rebuild. This stuff is easy to cut with a band saw to a custom shape. It also has a plastic film on it to protect it while you are working with it, don't take it off until it's installed or you could scratch it before you get to use it. The sheets are big enough to make pickguards for 2 guitars. I made a custom front pickguard and a rectangular back plate and only used about half of it. I'd buy it again for another custom pickguard.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
5 8-27-2010
great strap locks

I have used these strap locks on 2 guitars and a bass. They are sturdy and easy to install. I will probably keep using these strap locks on my future guitars.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
TV Jones Classic Pickups
TV Jones Classic Pickups
5 8-27-2010
The best of both worlds

I picked the mini humbucker because it's the best of both worlds between a full sized humbucker and a single coil pickup. It has nearly the clarity of a single coil and the bottom end of a humbucker. I bought the over wound "Plus" pickup for a hotter signal. I love it, it sounds great. I would highly recommend it.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 8-27-2010
Hands down the best bridge

This bridge is the coolest. Not only can you adjust intonation by moving the saddle up/down and forward/backward you can also adjust each individual string side to side. The cam screw that locks the saddles is a great feature too. I only wish it would lock the rollers as well. Changing strings is easier from the top of the guitar with this bridge instead of through the body of my guitar the way it was before. I'll probably use this bridge again on another guitar.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 8-27-2010
Easiest way to shield

This tape is extremely easy to use and does a great job. I'll probably use this on all of my guitars in the future.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
4 8-27-2010
Tone-bone

Conveniently sized pieces of bone, instant improvement in tone!

Mick Johnson  UK
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 8-26-2010
Brought Guitar to Life

I installed the neck and bridge Golden Age Parsons Street Alnico 2 Humbuckers pickups in a 2010 Epiphone Tribute Les Paul.The guitar came with 57 Classic pickups,the sound was muddy with bad definition.The Parsons Street pickups brought this guitar back to life and it now sounds fantastic.The neck pickup has a sweet warm smooth tone with great definition.The bridge pickup has very smooth highs and great definition as well.The three positions are now very useful with lots of different sounds,with just a turn of the tone controls.
These pickups are very clean at lower volumes on the guitar.They have a nice slight dirty sound with the volume on the guitar all the way up.These pickups have the sound I was looking for.I have played guitar for forty-eight years and have been building electric guitars for over fifteen years.I have used Golden Age Humbuckers and Single Coil pickups in many of my guitars.I have been very happy with the great sound that these pickups produce.
Thanks StewMac for making these fantastic sounding pickups.

William Gerard of Gerard Guitars  Stanwood, WA
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 8-26-2010
Nice custom touch.

I've installed these on Teles, Strats and Les Pauls. Customers tell me they need some sort of reference point and these do the job.

garyd  winner,sd Read my reviews (3)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 8-26-2010
How did I get along without it ?

Great for irregular shapes and radiused surfaces. Has many uses where a polished finish is necessary.

garyd  winner,sd Read my reviews (3)
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 8-26-2010
Great product

I have used many epoxies over the years. From the smallest of jobs to installing sledge hammer handles and this is some of the best I've used.

garyd  winner,sd Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 20301 – 20325
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  812  813  814  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce