Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 20301 – 20325
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  812  813  814  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 8-29-2010
B/W/B pickuguard material

Looks great and doesn't melt on to drill bits or router bearings like less expensive plastic pickguard material.

Be aware it is very sensitive to warmth. I accidently left a sheet on top of some clutter, light shining from the windows severally deformed the plastic. It was almost like it melted from a an hour or so of direct sunlight. I now keep it sandwiched between two pieces of birch plywood.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 8-29-2010
Great nut blanks

I buy all my bone nut blanks from Stew Mac because I know they will have consistent white color, texture, and will be cut straight and without defects/chips/cracks.

Colt

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 8-29-2010
Awsome saw!

This is a very nice saw, make sure to get the depth guard for cutting fret slots, it cuts fast. Also I recomend a lutheriers' digital caliper to set the depth stop and measure fret distances from the nut. I want to get the mitre box soon. The handle is very comfortable and if you pop off the depth guard via the two thumb screws, you have a nice long sharp saw with a nice thin kerf, with many other uses.

Elroy Alpaca  Abington, MA Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 8-29-2010
Perfect!!

This stuff is perfect for any guitar project. I used it on my stratocaster neck(maple)and it looks awesome. It was a relic that I made and I was so pleased with the stewmac tinted nitro laquer that I will be ordering more.

Princenesta  Tupelo,ms
Switchcraft Slide Switches
Switchcraft Slide Switches
5 8-29-2010
Solid

Switcraft is the best they give you enough prong to solder on to and last and last. Orderd some chineese ones on ebay for cheap and they are now in the garbage.

Elroy Alpaca  Abington, MA Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
5 8-29-2010
Buy the pounders!

The tubes they come in are nicely labled and keep the fretwire straight and clean until your ready to snip 'em up.

Elroy Alpaca  Abington, MA Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
5 8-29-2010
Flawless vintage looks, sweet tuning response!

Popped these on my Harmony Monterey so i could rely on it to gig out and the tuning stability, the smoothe feel and timely response tuning up is phenomenal. You want to keep that vintage butterbean look but you need her to stay in tune and behave. These will get you all the way there. I paid $80 for a decent set of original vintage ones for my stella, and i wish i knew about these then. The look remains unchanged. Just a reminder make sure your bridge slots and nut slots are frendly, smoothe places for your stings to stretch and slide across. A little graphite paste goes a long way! Major cause of tuning stability issues is sticky nuts and bridges!

Elroy Alpaca  Abington, MA Read my reviews (4)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 8-29-2010
Lots of other uses.

I have loved these bits for many years and have lately found a new use for the 1/16" bit. I have been doing some piece work repairing chairs for a caning shop. Nothing works better to get the old cane out of the slot in the chair than the 1/16" bit. I can accurately cut a deep groove in the old cane. This makes it easy to free what's left of the cane with a 3/16" chisel. By the way, I like the new packaging a lot.

Paul Norman  Cambridge, MA
P-90 Pickup Cover
P-90 Pickup Cover
1 8-29-2010
Does Not Fit Gibson P-90's

These covers do not fit a true Gibson P-90 pickup.
They are the import size found on generic units, and poles do not line up with a Gibson pickup. Check this stuff before writing copy guys !

Geb  Oneida
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 8-29-2010
Better than I thought they would be!

Replaced my Gibson SG stock pick ups with these. The multiple leads allowed me to use the six speed Wonder switch to split these for the ultimate tonal variety. These over wounds sound exceptionally well on the thin body SG as they don't need a ton of wood to give them drive. They can be made to overdrive quickly with .03-.05caps or darkened a bit with .047's I used 500K pots and .047s as i found the .05 caps when the buckers were split single coil, ear drum shredding! I have spent hundreds on Lollars, Duncans and Fralins and never been this happy. However the front pickup leads tend to be a bit short and are not labeled which can confuse you when you get down to business, well it was for me anyway.

CenlaCitizen  LA
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
2 8-29-2010
Only Fair

It's an economy tuner, don't expect more.

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 8-29-2010
A good tool

Very good tool, but be ware when you work with high speed Dremel, the vibrations could open the depth lock ring!!

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 8-28-2010
Japanese Fret Saw and Miter Box

I just received and used the saw and box to slot my very first fretboard. It took me a little while to feel comfortable with my measurements to set the guide blocks, but once I got it set, it worked PERFACTLY! It was so easy, and kinda fun. I'm so glad I took the time to research and aquire the right products for my first slotting experience. It was just the kind of win I needed to keep me going! The only suggestion I have about the product, would be to incorporate some type of measuring system or marks for the guides.

Doug Corbino  Bentonville, AR
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 8-28-2010
Perfect Product

Perfect product for job, makes an accurate fret job idiot proof, promt shipping, thank you guys for your service

Zsogal Custom Guitars  Dana Point, CA
Spool Clamps
Spool Clamps
5 8-28-2010
Buy Enough!

I have been a luthier since 1962. I recently had to remove and repair the top of a 1935 Tonk Bros. large body guitar (X-brace and bridge plate). I had not purchased spool clamps because I use rubber bands. Only the spools would work in this case. They worked very well but you need 4 sets, large size. It is always nice to have enough. G.M.

George McIntosh  Benton Il. Read my reviews (2)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 8-28-2010
great tool and time saver

I bought this in conjunction with the table saw blade and made the whole process easier, faster and more accurate than the manual process. All of the tools I have purchased from stewmac have been well designed and manufactured.

Mark Kovacic  Hidden Hills, Ca Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 8-28-2010
excellence all round

purchased the medium/high fretwire (0141lb) and couldn't be happier with not only the product but the service/delivery was outstanding.....took about 5 days to come which is better than when I get things shipped locally around new zealand

david maguire  auckland, new zealand Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
5 8-28-2010
Easy Strat Upgrade

I purchased this kit a month or so ago and installed it on my MIM Classic 50's maple neck Strat. Working slowly and carefully, I did it myself. All kit parts looked good however I used the original and longer Fender top plate screws for a stronger attachment point. I only used two, one at each end with the 4 center holes left open to make sure there was no friction in the middle of the plate. These hold fine and this is a common practice. In conclusion, the mod looks nearly identical, sounds better due to the steel block probably and stays in tune better. It also eliminated the sloppy trem arm problem that plagues Fender zinc block units which was my prime objective. I think sound wise, sustain is slightly better, tone a little brighter, note to note clarity a little clearer. I like the improvement and would do it again.

50SGUY60  Arizona
How to Build a Carved-Top Mandolin
How to Build a Carved-Top Mandolin
5 8-28-2010
The best tool I own.

I have built one F-5 kit without this video and it was a major challenge, to say the least. Now halfway through number 2 with the video I'm amazed at how many secrets I know now. Don explains the process in a way that makes things so much easier. This is a must-have for the novice builder.

Clyde Clevenger  Salem, Orgon
Customer supplied image for review
Gibson J-45 Guitar Plans
Gibson® J-45® Guitar Plans
5 8-28-2010
Well Done

This is a full scale drawing of a 1957 J45,on 4 large sheets, with variations that Gibson used in the 40's and 50's, such as bridge and pickguard variations. Individual braces are drawn as well as shown in the drawing of the top and bottom. Every detail is well done. I have only started the on the neck, but look forward to building this insturment. The drawings are so good I may frame them when I am done building.

R Guess  North Florida Read my reviews (16)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 8-28-2010
Great stuff

I build wiring harnesses for guitars and it's the only wire I use.
I've tried others, but they just don't compare.
Only minus is the price has increased almost 25% in the last few years.

popiel52  williamsburg, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 8-28-2010
Very reliable tremolo unit

Ive installed it on my project guitar a week ago, everything is doing fine, installation is as easy, finding intonations is superb, tone wise , full of harmonics and dynamics and its looks, very interesting than the traditional Tremolo sets,

Marol  Brunei Read my reviews (2)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 8-28-2010
.020" saw is a must-have

I use the .020 saw to cut fret slots, it is my favorite saw for cutting my own fret slots by hand. I've tried other saws, and they made a slot too wide. I also use this saw to clean slots out after using a radius sanding block on the fretboard.

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)

4" Radius Blocks Essential Set
5 8-28-2010
Love these!

Simple accurate tool. They make quick work of radiusing on a fingerboard.

Fallbrook Guitar Shop  Fallbrook, CA. USA Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 8-27-2010
Grover Tuners (full-sized)

I only use Grover tuners for several reasons: They’ve been doing it and doing it right for decades; smooth action, amplified by the leverage of the large knobs; I think the kidney-shaped knobs are the ultimate shape for any tuner knob; the large knobs add visual mass to what is often a small, 6-string headstock (like Martin as opposed to Guild, for instance); surprisingly low cost; when you see old, rebuilt guitars on stage, a very high percentage of the time someone (probably the musician) chose Grovers (as opposed to all the other choices available).

Alan G  Jenner, CA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 20301 – 20325
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  812  813  814  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce