Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 20176 – 20200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  807  808  809  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 9-03-2010
Repair Vise an A+

I love this tool! It has made my job of sanding, so much easier. I highly recommend it as an essential for any builder.

Diane  Blacksburg, VA Read my reviews (2)
The Key
The Key
1 9-02-2010
Good Idea, Junk Tool!

It takes awhile to intonate and set up a Floyd. This looks like a great idea. The tool has a little plastic knob which is impossible to turn under tension, so whats the point huh. It also applies pressure on the bolt which is your fine tuner so you really cant keep your hand off the thing. As I said, looks great on paper but when in use, toss it. I can work faster the old fashioned way. I'm out $20. Been tweaking Floyd's since my 1st in 85.

Great Idea but Junk Tool!  Lynnwood Wa.
Speed Knob
Speed Knob
5 9-02-2010
Great knobs

I have the amber and the black. I like them both!!

Evan C  Salt Lake City, UT Read my reviews (2)
Cream Pickguard Material
Cream Pickguard Material
3 9-02-2010
Too much yellow

I purchased this to put on an electric to match the cream pickup covers. There is too much yellow in this for my taste and it did not match the cream pickup covers. I ended up just going black on everything.

Evan C  Salt Lake City, UT Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 9-02-2010
Good Product

I have had excellent results with this lacquer. It builds up nicely and resists running.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 9-02-2010
Good Results

I like the ease of use. I used the cherry red to refinish a 335 with excellent results. To the users that had problems with splattering, you might try making sure that the lacquer is warm and be careful to clear the spray nozzles between coats.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Lacquer Sticks
Lacquer Sticks
5 9-02-2010
Works Well

Good quality lacquer sticks. They melt easily and flow well.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
5 9-02-2010
Good Dots

Nice material and very uniform in diameter. They install very nicely

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 9-02-2010
Good Blades

I have purchased a few packs of these blades and they cut well and hold up well for me also.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Tapered Router Bit
Tapered Router Bit
5 9-02-2010
Cuts

These bits cut very well and hold up nicely to some pretty abrasive materials.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Inlay Filler Colors
Inlay Filler Colors
5 9-02-2010
Black as can be

The powder mixed very easily with a Locktight 5 min epoxy and gave a good deep color to my inlay job.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
5 9-02-2010
Works good

Well it went right in and I have had no problems so far. The parts seem to be of good quality and the pots and switch have a good feel to them.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 9-02-2010
Blocks

I have a few of these and they make putting a radius on a finger board a breeze, and the are very affordable

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
5 9-02-2010
It works

I have used this and it works just fine

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-02-2010
Guitar tuners

I've had all kinds of guitar tuners in the past 40 years that work, but to me, these "Vintage Oval" Waverly tuners really take the guesswork out of fast tuning on stage or in the recording studio. They also have a smooth action & good weight to them for an overall good balance for the guitar.

Herb Pedersen  Sherman Oaks, CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Jazz Bass Pickguard
Jazz Bass Pickguard
4 9-02-2010
Good stuff!

I received my pickguard with a protective plastic layer. It was until i wanted to use it that's i discovered how shiny an clean it was. Love the material an how it's made, i used it for a Squier Jazz Fretless Bass, it didn't fit exactly, but needed not much fixing.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 9-02-2010
Time Saver

I perform a lot of refrets and I use these for all of them. I recently set up a mobile repair shop and left my fret nips behind. I really like them after having to go to the old school method! I had to modify one of mine so that I could use them on the mandolin and small banjo frets. It would be nice if you added this size to your catalog.

Thanks,

Richie Dotson

Richie Dotson  Chesterfield, Virginia Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
4 9-02-2010
1062-R fingerboard

I bought this fingerboard for abalone/MOP inlay purposes. The fingerboard is fine, the wood rating is a factor. I found the pores of the rosewood larger than expected and tougher to rout out cleanly. Maybe Ebony next time!

Goodnewsblues  Roseburg, Or
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 9-02-2010
Gets the job done.

These aren't the BEST pots, but they get the job done just fine.

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 9-02-2010
Works fine

I was upgrading hardware from an acoustic from silver to gold, and these look great.

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Mini Toggle Switches
Mini Toggle Switches
5 9-02-2010
Versitile

I was wiring a guitar with a shallow control cavity, and learned that these can be used for pickup switching too, thanks stewmac for the help!

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 9-02-2010
Work very well

These pads work very well for repair, or final sanding/buffing.

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Metal Cap Bell Knob
Metal Cap Bell Knob
5 9-02-2010
Look very good

I used these for a vintage guitar, and they look very nice.

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Basic Wiring Kit
Basic Wiring Kit
5 9-02-2010
Works fine

These are great for individual projects, but I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND buying two if you are going to have two volumes and two tones, I was wiring a V, and all of a sudden I was out of wire, so I had to scrounge around for more wire!

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier
5 9-02-2010
Very good

This humidifier works great, and it is easy to re-soak the sponge. It is also $5.00-$10.00 cheaper here than at a store.

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
Displaying 20176 – 20200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  807  808  809  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce