Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 20151 – 20175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  806  807  808  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
5 9-03-2010
Great anger management tool

Your choice - use these or struggle with an extremely tricky balancing act.

Steve T  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
The Guitar Hanger
The Guitar Hanger
5 9-03-2010
What a great way to hide guitars!

After trying this out, I'm amazed that someone didn't come up with this years ago. If you don't need to wear those suits anymore, you can store a mini collection in your closet.

Steve T  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 9-03-2010
If you need reading glasses, you certainly need this

This item just arrived a week or so ago and I haven't used it yet on a project, but I'm really looking forward to it after trying it out around the house. Usually I end up taking my glasses off if I can't get clear enough detail on a wiring or similar project. With this headband (and the lighting attachment), I can see fine details better than ever.

Steve T  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 9-03-2010
A must-have!

Wow - I can't believe I didn't buy one of these sooner. There are so many things that you can do with this vise, but the one thing that comes to mind right now is scraping the sides of a Tele-style guitar. I used to sit on the basement steps with the guitar body between my knees, trying to make the scraper behave. Now, with the body in this vise, I can get much more leverage and stability with a metal scraper and the results prove it!

Steve T  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 9-03-2010
Tuning knobs

Stewart MacDonald, Is fast efficient
reasonable, reliable, friendly, quality minded, specific. What more can I say. I'll Be Back

Deac  Goldfield Read my reviews (2)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 9-03-2010
I'm not laughing now!

I always thought these made the wearer look a little goofy, but after using these one time, I am hooked. And the light is nice and bright, glad I got it too. My eyes just aren't what they used to be, or maybe they never were to begin with!

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 9-03-2010
Not just another Straightedge

This tool is a time saver and time is money in the repair biz... I found the notched Straightedge so usually in helping to speed up set ups as well as fret leveling and fret board repair. The first day I had this tool in the shop it more the doubled the amount I had invested in it. This tool is a must have if your serious about proper guitar repair.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
4 9-03-2010
JLD bridge doc

My play partner ordered his for a 12 string last year. I finally ordered mine for a 6 string made by a local builder (using many parts from StewMac no less) and am glad I did.
Installation took a little longer than I expected. I'd re-write those instructions with a little more clarity. The guitar top has much less distortion now. Not much difference noticed re: the guitar's voice. The phone clerks at StewMac are so kind and efficient - they get five stars, while the bridge doc itself gets four. Best - Deeve

Deeve  ballard - seattle Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 9-03-2010
Deadblow Fretting Hammer

This is a right down fine tapping hammer - what control. I like it better than my Japanese handmade one.

DocDick  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (2)
Fret Setter
Fret Setter
4 9-03-2010
Nice Tool

I live in a dry climate so as the fretboards dry the frets need the adjusting,eh? Well, this little baby makes it easier to do without getting the strings out of the way - try one they do work.

DocDick  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
5 9-03-2010
Narrow fretwire

Over the years I have purchased fretwire from StewMac. Totally satisfied. Had one incident where one 2 ft section, out of at least a mile, that I have purchased. I would call this 99.99999%. Stick with StewMac. They are the best. Robert

Robert Smith  Spring Grove, PA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 9-03-2010
A MUST Have!!! :)

If you do any work on guitars you MUST have these! They are Incredible!!! WOW! I would advise though to make sure to get the 2X lens w/lights, believe me they are worth it. Now I can actually see the solder connections etc. LOL! Thanks Stew-Mac!
Here's my latest creation...A custom All Hand-built King-V Double neck with a Floyd 6 on Top & a String-Through Body-6-string on the bottom, this thing plays AwEsOmE! :)
P.S. We guitar nuts HAVE TO stick together and help each-other!:)
Thanks :)
GOD Bless!

Balck Diamond Custom Guitars  Emmaus, PA USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bit Set
5 9-03-2010
These are High Quality Bits and Bearings! :)

I recently purchased the smaller binding router set and what a great buy, I don't know if you have checked the prices in tool stores lately but Wow! are router bits expensive! This set is an excellent buy and high quality too! Here is a pic of a guitar I used these bits on...Buy These Bits! Trust Me! Thanks :)

Balck Diamond Custom Guitars  Emmaus, PA USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
3PDT Stomp Switch
3PDT Stomp Switch
5 9-03-2010
great switch

3 switches in one. The best invention and working like God demanded I used one to make a A/B line selector pedal and i use another to make my whammy pedal in true-bypass.

jer  Medelin, Colombia
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 9-03-2010
Incredible and Easy!

This stuff works! I use it for all control,pickup, Switch etc. cavities for grounding. It's incredible. I took an Ohm meter to check the continuity when it was dry and it REALLY DOES WORK!
BUY This, you won't be sorry:)

Balck Diamond Custom Guitars  Emmaus, PA USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 9-03-2010
Just the Tool!

The 8" wooden radius block combined with the self adhesive sandpaper made a great fretboard out of a bad one in a very short time.I'll have to buy the set now!

D.Quinlan  Ireland
Schertler Tuning Machines for Slotted Peghead Guitar
Schertler Tuning Machines for Slotted Peghead Guitar
5 9-03-2010
Excellent Tuners

Just used these on one of our ukuleles. Love the look of the satin chrome with ebony buttons. The tuners have the best action of any we've used--no play at all & very smooth. For installation you'll need a 10mm reamer with a 1/4" shaft for the flange on the tuner.

Mya-Moe Ukuleles  White Salmon, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
5 9-03-2010
Great tuners!

These came out just when I was sure there were no reasonable choices for tuners for my Gibson 1923 A-2. They fit. They look right(relic nickle, cream buttons). They tune very well. thank you!

George Flink  USA
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
1 9-03-2010
HotRod installation for Fender headstock adjustment

Just received the 4mm allen nut Hot Rod, and butchered a nice piece of wood trying to install it with adjustment at head stock end. CAN'T BE DONE ON A FENDER GUITAR but StewMac doesn't mention that anywhere. It can only be installed as a heel end adjuster) The 7/16 slot depth puts the adjuster too low into the head stock to allow access. If you want a heel end adjuster, buy the Fender style model, and don't mess around with an oddball 4mm adjustment.

Strat41  San Dimas, CA Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
5 9-03-2010
P-Bass Golden Age Pickups

I purchased a Golden Age P-bass pickup because Stew Mac was out of the pickup I normally used for projects. I took a chance, and my reaction...WOW! These pickups are warm, and have great vintage tone and are affordable. They are now my first choice for replacement pickups and will be used for my next custom project. They are superior to all those MIJ, MIM Fender pickups. If you're looking for great warm, fat, vintage tone, this is your pickup!

Jeff Zak  Chicago, IL Read my reviews (2)
Bass String Retainer
Bass String Retainer
5 9-03-2010
Bass string retainere.

What you see is what you get, no surprises here. A good solid bass string retainer (w/ screw) identical to those found on Fender, Music Man, etc. Identical to my vintage P & J Bass string retainers.

Jeff Zak  Chicago, IL Read my reviews (2)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 9-03-2010
nut file

Had no experience with using these, but with some advice, touched up a ragged nut slot and it did the job I wanted. Recommended.

junior  Ohio
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 9-03-2010
Smooth as Butter

These are the best rasps you can spend money on.
They make very fast work of shaping a neck out of any wood. Love how they move where you want them with ultimate control due to random placement of rasp teeth. Great tool. Great buy.

Mark R  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
2 9-03-2010
Poor touchup

This black plastic doesn't act like other ABS that I have worked with. The plastic doesn't respond to solvents like it should for creating gap filling slurries. Typical methylene chloride or acetone will usually reduce small shavings or ABS into a thin putty like consistency for filling. Not this.
Routed this off and went with ebony.

Mark R  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 9-03-2010
Switchjack endpin jack

These Jacks are very hard to find in Music Stores I've been a customer for over ten years and have never had a problem with Stewmac.Always the best quality stuff.

Custom Cuatro  Meriden,Ct. Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 20151 – 20175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  806  807  808  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce