Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 20126 – 20150
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  805  806  807  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Violin Nut
Violin Nut
5 9-05-2010
violin nut blank

A great time saver.

Richard Williams  N Read my reviews (5)
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
5 9-05-2010
Violin peg reamer

Well made and sharp. There is no shortcut on this operation, and the right tool must be used!
I have not reached that stage of the construction yet, but will add a photo when I do.

Richard Williams  N Read my reviews (5)
Making An Archtop Guitar
Making An Archtop Guitar
5 9-05-2010
The best!!!

The Book is very good!
I learned very much from ''Master of Archtop Guitars'' Bob Benedetto. The Guitar on the Picture is a Kind of this Book.
Thank you Mr. Benedetto.

Linus a passion for guitars e.U.  Austria Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
5 9-05-2010
Pearl fret and side marker dots

This is the only place I buy my dots. Consistent quality every time.

Michael Carroll of Carroll Guitars  Mesa, Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 9-05-2010
3 way switch up grade in a ibanez sz 720 guitar

I made the best up grade ever by changing the cheap box style switch made in china that came in the guitar from the factory to this well made 3 way switch from StewMac. I installed a set of golden age humbuckers at the same time. Every thing worked great Thank You StewMac for all of the great products you sell.

gutone  canton,ms usa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 9-05-2010
Golden Age Pickups and the Ibanez SZ 720

i just installed a set of golden age pickups in a Ibanez SZ 720 guitar and this gave it a true classic tone compared to a old style set neck guitar like a Gibson. Thank you StewMac.for a wonderful product.

gutone  canton,ms usa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Metal Spacer
Metal Spacer
5 9-05-2010
Great!

The perfect item to build a perfect humbucker!

Sergio Lupi Handwound Vintage Style Pickups  Verona Italy Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Baseplate
Humbucker Baseplate
4 9-05-2010
Great item

Perfect fitting on an archtop guitar, too high for a solid body.

Sergio Lupi Handwound Vintage Style Pickups  Verona Italy Read my reviews (3)
Neck Attachment Screw
Neck Attachment Screw
5 9-05-2010
excelente

muy buena calidad había probado otros y a la hora de atornillarlos re rompian o se machacaban las cabezas

cccar  españa
Polepiece Screw
Polepiece Screw
5 9-05-2010
Great item

Acurate description of item, identical look like as the early PAF screws. Highly recommended.

Sergio Lupi Handwound Vintage Style Pickups  Verona Italy Read my reviews (3)
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
5 9-04-2010
A quality part

Replaced some worn out screws in a Washburn Licensed Floyd, definitely an upgrade. I feel like I can he-man these screws without breaking them, they are high quality.

Paul Young  Northern California Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 9-04-2010
Not just "good for the price"

To date, I've installed a set of these in an Ibanez semi-hollow and an overwound in the bridge of an Ibanez Artist. I'll try to be objectionable and mention both pros and cons of these pickups, to be honest, I can't think of any cons. They are legitimately good pickups. Very clear, warm and balanced. At one point or another, I've used Dimarzio PAF Classics, Ibanez Super 80's, a JB, an SD '59, Ibanez Super 58's...honestly, Stewmacs pickups will hold their own against all of those at half the price. As for cons, at the time I bought mine, they only came in a three wire version, but it looks like they now offer four. The bobbins also have a flat/textured finish to them, unlike other pickups which have a smooth finish. That's really nitpicking though. Most people probably look at these as "budget" pickups, but they're not. They are pro quality pickups. They just have a budget price.

J.  WV
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
4 9-04-2010
Very good but

These are very good bindings!, I glued many of them, but beware that sometimes a few of them arrive with diagonal grain direction! and broke a lot and hard to bent

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Dreadnought Bearclaw Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Dreadnought Bearclaw Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 9-04-2010
Bear Claw Spruce

Nicely matched halves with just enough figure, subtle but apparent. It changes in appearance as the guitar moves.

Scott Riel  Manchester NH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 9-04-2010
Very good

This is an excellent product, I use it on all my guitars.

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 9-04-2010
AAAA Sitka Spruce

Beautiful material to work with, finished with subtle but very nice figure. And it sounds great.

Scott Riel  Manchester NH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 9-04-2010
Excellent

An excellent and accurate product!
a bit expensive.

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 9-04-2010
don't procrastinate

Stop putting it off and buy the thing, it's simple, but it is well made and reliable.

Haddockguitars  Tulsa, OK
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 9-04-2010
Switchcraft Jacks

We always use Switchcraft parts on our Lap Steel Guitars,and we always get our Components from Stew Mac.We like to use the best out there!!

Thomas Ford  Hampden Ma.
Customer supplied image for review
Herringbone Rosette
Herringbone Rosette
3 9-04-2010
Herringbone 3-piece

Rosette has good general detail but poor shaping on ends. Works fine if neck is breaking rosette but becomes a problem if rosette is inlayed in complete circle.

RG10605 
Pearl Inlay Book
Pearl Inlay Book
3 9-04-2010
English

In general, the book is a good guide for the beginning inlay artist though I feel a little more detail, especially in finishing, would have been nice.
What really bothered me, however, was the poor grammar. Misspelled words, bad punctuation, and awkward phrasing were tedious to get through. A basic editor or even a proofreader might have required upping the price a little, but not enough to omit them.

LeeLib  Lewiston, ME
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 9-04-2010
Changed Everything

I moved from incapable to competent with this kit. I should have gotten into this years ago. I would have had more enjoyable experiences playing, and saved a ton of money!

ToeKnee  Alpharetta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 9-04-2010
It's Alive!

I used these pickups in a restoration of an old Aims Telecaster, circa 1976. They delivered the exact sonics I was looking for! Not too hot (like the DiMarzios I pulled out of the old wreck) and not too dull. Just right! And the attention to detail is fantastic on every aspect of the physical pickup. You will like these.

ToeKnee  Alpharetta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Thread Cutting Die
Thread Cutting Die
4 9-04-2010
cutting die

I found that using this die with the traditional truss rod was a pretty heavy cut. I had trouble getting it started so i tapered the end with a belt sander. Then when it was on, it was easy to cut the threads

Zachary  Clearwater B.C. Canada
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 9-03-2010
Make the frets shine

Using these papers help to insure that my customers see nothing but their reflection in the frets. Frets are always left perfectly smooth

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 20126 – 20150
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  805  806  807  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce