Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 20126 – 20150
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  805  806  807  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 9-08-2010
The nearly perfect tool for the job

These files work great!
The one nit I have is that each size needs to be labeled individually.
This would make them more convenient.

hlk666  St, paul, MN
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 9-08-2010
Great tuner

I installed these in my Epi Les Paul. Excellent tuner. It keeps the original look but with better fine tuning.

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
Neck Joint Steamer
Neck Joint Steamer
5 9-07-2010
neck steamer

worked like a charm. I built a martin style guitar a few months ago and it sounded great but the neck angle was not right. I knew it had to be fixed but I was scared to death to try and take it apart. I bought a pressure cooker from Wal-mart for 19.95 and the hose connected with no problem

larry johnson  hunter n.y.
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 9-07-2010
Good stuff

I use these to tint lacquer all the time.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 9-07-2010
My favorite 6 inline tuner.

These tuners are great. I really enjoy installing these tuners. They weigh less than modern tuners, they stay in tune, you can easily grease them, and they never poke you in the fingers with their split post design.

They can be pretty stiff when knew, but wear in nicely and become smooth pretty quickly.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
5 9-07-2010
These Reamers Work!

Well made. Debated for while about getting them because they're not cheap- BUT DEFINTELY WORTH THE INVESTMENT. Make short work of the job. You get a clean centered hole that you will not get if you try to use a drill bit to enlarge an existing hole.

JSarge  Attleboro, MA Read my reviews (4)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 9-07-2010
Excellent

What can I say, great quality, easy to install, works great!

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
5 9-07-2010
PUP templates

Great product.
I use these to layout all my custom guitars. They are outstanding because they are clear acrylic with center lines running both directions. Makes it super easy to layout pup locations on a guitar.
I use the SM template to make working templates from MDF. Anyone who has done any routing knows its not good to use your master templates as working templates.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Slotted Truss Rod Nut for Fender
Slotted Truss Rod Nut for Fender
5 9-07-2010
10-32 Fender style nut

I build my own truss rods, but the nut is much easier to buy than to make. I haven't had any issues with these nuts. Great product!

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
4 9-07-2010
Rosewood board

The milling and dimensions on the board I received were flawless. Much easier than making my own.

I wish the portion above the nut was longer, and I wish SW had oiled the boards a bit better. I received mine very dry.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 9-07-2010
Great binding.

I haven't had any issues with SM binding.

My CA glue will weld the binding to itself making nice seamless binding.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 9-07-2010
Nice Files

These are nice files, but they do have a few draw backs.
If they are slightly bent, they don't work as well. Since they are pretty hard, you don't want to try to bend them straight, they will snap.
Rust very easily, so keep em up and dry. Nothing worse than rusty files.
When the saws are new, make sure to take a marker and designate which side is what size. After some use the numbers wear off, and it gets tougher to distinguish which side is larger than the other.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 9-07-2010
Excellent switch!

Just finished a custom jazz bass project and this switch is a big part of it! The instructions supplied were great. As an unexperienced builder, had no trouble figuring out the poles/positions.

Giacomini  Brazil
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 9-07-2010
Excellent

These bits along with the Stew Mac templates I now have much cleaner cavity and pickup routing.

Bucky  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 9-07-2010
no tone like bone

I use Vintage bone nut blanks for all of my custom made guitars. I find these blanks to be of super high quality and very consistent. They are machined well, and produce that velvety bone tone that I try to achieve with each of my instruments

Nick Gregory  vermont Read my reviews (4)
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 9-07-2010
Finally!

I waited for a while to give my opinion in case it changed after the honeymoon was over. It's been a long road but I've finally got a whammy that stays in tune. This one's a 'floater'. No more flush or blocked whammys on a Strat if you have everything else set up as it should be. Don't expect ANY whammy bar to fix the rest of your guitar's problems because they WON'T! The simple small locking screws are the secret with this unit because they keep the little wiggliy bridge height adjustment screws from rocking back/forth/sideways. And they didn't make the unit look like a Sherman tank either. Just a nice looking, un-obtrusive, working, and floating vibrato that doesn't need a lot of gimmick to come back to 0 tuning position. I say GET ONE (with the short -'Gilmour' style - bar option)!

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
6 Steel Rule
6" Steel Rule
5 9-07-2010
A must, even if you only do your own work.

This is a must for anyone doing guitar set-up, and even if it is your only tool, you are off to a good start, as you can not measure your guitar's action without it.
Get one!!

Hovard Heimdal  Nanaimo, BC Read my reviews (2)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
4 9-07-2010
Turbo Tune

The tuner fits the tuning knobs really well. Even on a tight fitting 12 string, you never hit the adjoining tuner buttons when cranking.This makes for very quick and efficient re-stringing.
However, the self tapping screw that holds the handle to the crank, will turn and tighten up as it is rotated, to a point where the handle will no longer turn freely. I had to loosen the screw up and apply glue to stop this from happening. Rectify this, and I will rate the Turbo Tune 5 stars. Far better than the commonly available "universal" tuners available.

Hovard Heimdal  Nanaimo, BC Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 9-06-2010
Fret wire for a vintage Fender

I got EXACTLY what I wanted!!

David Nichols  Malone, NY Read my reviews (2)
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
4 9-06-2010
First Impressions

I bought these for my Mexican-made Standard Tele that I just suped up. I haven't used them a lot but I am hoping that they do indeed save my strings. The only gripe I have is that the longer intonation screws are very long, to the point where they interfere with stringing, but hopefully I won't be doing much of that. 4 stars for now.

Drodnasty  Vineyard Haven
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
5 9-06-2010
More useful than I'd have guessed

I bought a 3 sets of these for the workbenches in my workshop, thinking I was being a bit extravagant, but they earn their keep all day long. I have them in home made stands in front of me on each bench and it means I can just grab the right size wrench for the job every time , which is super convenient & efficient (especially if working in front of the customer). These are the 3 sizes that you need time and time again, and they'll last forever!

Jonathan @ Feline Guitars  Croydon, Surrey, UK Read my reviews (5)
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
5 9-06-2010
Without a doubt the most essential piece of kit in my workshop

We do a lot of fretwork and it is something that we are very particular about and have a good reputation for. I was one of the first to have the neck jig back in 1999 and it gets used most days. I find it essential to getting the results that I need to get. It does take a bit of getting used to, but I find that now I have it set up just right I rarely need to alter the height of the dials at all. I did order more threaded insets and now have extra holes to accommodate all sorts of other shaped guitars too. I recommend getting a spirit level too and lay it on the strings to get guitars nice and level - makes for easier setup and fret leveling too. The neck jig is a simple piece of kit that just works well once you've spent enough time getting used to it (much like getting used to driving a new car). Worth investing in the other essential items such as the full length fret levelers and radius beam. If there were more than 5 stars available I give it 10!

Jonathan @ Feline Guitars  Croydon, Surrey, UK Read my reviews (5)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 9-06-2010
Just in time

By the time I received the book my daughter bought a fairly used bass, but with many issues. Then I started to read/use the very good book and doing the job for her. And with Dan's autograph....what else?

Luis Miranda  Chile
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 9-06-2010
Ideal for a perfect work

Tool is not strictly necessary, but you can make a very nice finish of the frets. The U profile is soft with the fretboard and doesn't sign the wood: recommended!

small tool to improve your work  Cesena, Italy
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 9-05-2010
Fishman Endpin Switchjack

Swift service, easy to fit, detailed instructions included & was happy to find Stewmac cheaper than Fishman!? Thanks for a quality service.

Jonny Unplugged  Malaga, Spain
Displaying 20126 – 20150
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  805  806  807  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce