Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19926 – 19950
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  797  798  799  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 9-16-2010
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod

It works realy well no rattle in the neck.Also theres no need for a large truss rod cover

Andrew t Bruton  st Catharines Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 9-16-2010
Very handy

I use the fast setting mix for smaller jobs and the slower set for work requiring just a little more time to place the materials and set in place . Easy to use .

Larry Skeens  Versailles ,Ky.
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 9-16-2010
Radius Gauges

I am very pleased with the gauges I purchased. They are very easy to use and of good quality.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Violin Bow Hair
Violin Bow Hair
5 9-15-2010
Quality hair

I just re-haired a handmade bow and your horsehair did the trick. I have used other hair but I found
Stew-Mac's combed out faster and easier.

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 9-15-2010
Stable and colorful

I have used many Stew-Mac Rosewood fingerboards with great results. They are stable, colorful, well quartered and consistent. The only complaint I have is they are too thin. I prefer to start at .280"-.300" before radiusing so I end up with .250" at the center. These often come right at .250" and end up on the thin side after radiusing, inlaying and sanding.

John Yezbak  Traverse City MI USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridge
ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridge
5 9-15-2010
Top quality bridge

I installed this bridge on a LP replica and was very pleased with the result. I especially liked the fact that the saddles aren't notched. I was able to cut the notches to achieve perfect spacing for the fingerboard and pickups.

John Yezbak  Traverse City MI USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 9-15-2010
Consistency and value!

I have used #0149 wide wire for years and have never had any problems. The wire is consistent, easy to work with, seats easily and stays put. Very little leveling is needed.

John Yezbak  Traverse City MI USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 9-15-2010
Natural Wood Bindings

This bindings are indeed, excellent.
I inspected them to detect if they have
diagonal grains, but when they have, I just use a metal backing when bending them and they look nice.

Jorge I Jimenez  Carolina, Puerto Rico
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 9-15-2010
Glad I bought them!

I put these in my PRS SE Custom, and now its perfect. The overwound in the bridge and the regular in the neck gives me everything I was looking for and more. You'll love em', very vintage sounding.

Slick  Robert Lee, Texas Read my reviews (2)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 9-15-2010
Reamer really works

This little tool sounds expensive - but it sure saves time & the results are perfect.
No chipping or chattering.
Makes fitting end jacks so easy (& quick!).

Neil Kilgour  Newcastle, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 9-15-2010
3-on-Plate tuners

For the money you just can't beat these tuners. I restored a vintage Harmony classical guitar with these, and I must say they worked just great. I will be buying all my replacement parts from Stewart-MacDonald.

Phil Reiner  Albrightsville, Pa.
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 9-15-2010
All Electrics Need a Good Shielding Job!

I shielded three guitars: Epiphone w/ P90's, Mex Tele, and P-Bass. The tape was easy to use and form to the compartments. The 2" roll is definitely the best value but sometimes curls a bit when you peal off the tape. Check YouTube for information if you're unfamiliar with the shielding process. You'll be amazed how quiet it can become. Good Luck! BB

BB  Hopkinton, MA
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 9-15-2010
Very pleased

Used these pickups for a guitar that was hand painted and is going to a charity auction. The quality of the guitar was such that excellent pickups were required. A lower price point was important as well. These pickup filled the bill and then some. Great tones from these. I'm VERY pleased!!

J Stanger  Lakeville,MN
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-15-2010
Excellent

The standard tuners on all my guitars. Love the new oval buttons. Waverly never fails to be a high quality, smooth and superb tuner!

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 9-15-2010
Press Inserts

Well made and marked for easy identification. I have had excellent results with no problems.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Binding Router Bearings
Binding Router Bearings
5 9-15-2010
Bearings

This bearing has held up well with moderate use. I haven't had any problem with seizing or burning with it

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
4 9-15-2010
pick guard screws

Although the screws were Phillips head, they worked fine for the resonator ring on my vintage banjo.

Grant Bartholomew  Onalaska, Washington Read my reviews (4)
Bridge Pin Puller
Bridge Pin Puller
4 9-15-2010
Better than a string winder or YIKES pliers

Put one on the key chain and the other in my guitar tool kit. Has worked on every guitar I've tried it on so far, Martin, Taylor, Gibson, Ovation. Fit can be snug but I prefer it that way. Cheap and useful, well worth the very minor cost.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Replacement Tuner Screws
Replacement Tuner Screws
5 9-15-2010
tuner screws

The slot headed screws were just right for my vintage banjo

Grant Bartholomew  Onalaska, Washington Read my reviews (4)
Zap-It EZ-Winder
Zap-It EZ-Winder
5 9-15-2010
Get one, you'll be glad you did

I bought the Ernie Ball electric winder because the hand crank ones are fine but tiring when you do string changes in bulk. It's ok, but hard on the batteries. Chucking this into my hand held electric screwdriver gave me more control and longer battery life, plus it doesn't jump on the tuners the way some others do.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Bracket Hex Wrench
Bracket Hex Wrench
5 9-15-2010
Banjo hex wrench

Wrench worked exactly as it should.

Grant Bartholomew  Onalaska, Washington Read my reviews (4)
Banjo Bracket Hooks
Banjo Bracket Hooks
5 9-15-2010
Banjo hooks

I replaced the rusty hooks on a 1920's vintage Bacon Banjo. The round hooks were authentic to the originals and the old nuts fit fine.

Grant Bartholomew  Onalaska, Washington Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
5 9-15-2010
Simple and Perfect

No scuff, no mess. Whether you use polishing wheels or superfine steel wool, these guards protect your fingerboard from damage to the finish or excessive wear. Face it, wood and wood finishes are softer than the metal in the frets. Don't muck up that vintage maple board, protect it.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Polishing Wheels
4 9-15-2010
Simple and effective

Combined with the fretboard protectors, these wheels are awesome. For non-maple boards, my prior method was to use super fine steel wool to remove the gunk and clean up everything. Now I use the Ernie Ball fret board wipes and the Stewart-MacDonald fretboard protectors with the extra fine wheels in a low speed battery dremel tool to give the frets a quick touch up when needed at string change time. I have not had to resort to the fine wheels yet but bought the full kit because I know that if I went individually I would have needed the one I didn't buy the next time. Good value and works well.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Wrench Set
4 9-15-2010
An excellent selection in a single kit

I make no claims to be a professional guitar technician so I bought this kit to ensure that I would have whatever I needed when I needed it. Boy was I correct! When I received the kit, I looked at a couple of the pieces and said to myself "when will I use this" and then discovered within a week a need for that tool. Some folks say big kits are a waste and to stay specialized. I disagree. This is a great kit and will eliminate the "darn, I don't have the right tool for this truss rod" concern.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 19926 – 19950
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  797  798  799  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce