Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19926 – 19950
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  797  798  799  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 9-20-2010
Banjo tuners on an ukulele.

I installed these tuning pegs on an ukulele with a thicker (1/2") peghead and 11/32" diameter pegholes. The tuning pegs fit perfectly, work smoothly and , after proper adjustment, hold tuning very well. In my opinion, the vintage, traditional look of the pegs make my ukulele look great.

UkiWay  Santa Rosa, CA
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
5 9-20-2010
Great Find/Excellent Choice

I installed the tortoise pick guard on my two most recently constructed D Model guitars. They look great!!!! I had searched for tortoise pick guards and most that looked decent were pricey. These are very reasonably priced and look great which inturn add to the value of my guitars but keep the price down so more people can afford to purchase and play them. Thanks Stemac. I can always count on you to find and supply the right products.

Gary Clardy  Burns, TN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 9-20-2010
Blank Bone nuts- My first guitar nut

The bone was easier to work with than I had anticipated. My first nut I ever made was with StewMac blanks. I bought 3 blanks in case I made a mistakes I'd have extra to continue the work. I also used the StewMac nut slot ruler to measure string spacing. All worked out great.

Jr Bynum  Lutherville MD
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-20-2010
Waverly Tuners - Oval Knobs

I've replaced the original machines on my Martin 000 without any problems and it works and looks great. Thanks for this good suggestion.

C. Meyer  Austria
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 9-20-2010
Very handy little tool.

I bought this tool to install Schaller and sperzel tuners into new necks that I've made. So far used it for two sets of schaller's and it works great.
I found the easiest way to line up the tool was to use a square running along the top edge of the headstock where the tuner buttons are located. Then push the other edge flush up against the back of the jig. This will ensure your tuners are mounted exactly parallel to the top edge of your headstock.
Highly recommend this tool if you plan to install tuners of this variety, it is quite expensive but will last for a long time!

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 9-19-2010
ESP Multi Spanner

I really dig this little thing. It really saves me a ton of hassle. I strongly recommend it.

Jeff Thomas  Florida
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 9-19-2010
ohhhhhh yeah

Bought the set...23 for the bridge, 21, and 20. Put them in a nice, old Mexi Strat that has a perfect feeling maple neck. I really liked the p.u.s before, but holy crap they really, really sing now. I can keep the tone high and get a really throaty tone with some overdrive, some nice, chimey 60's sounds, and an aggressive overdrive from the bridge. Really great buy for the price.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
4 9-19-2010
work well

they do what they say. Especially if you have a classic you don't want to put strap locks on. Like Ben said, a bit of tape on it can really make them not come loose.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
5 9-19-2010
nice...but caution

Works great; however, cut it a bit shorter than you think. Otherwise it's really, really, really hard to set the pickup heights.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 9-19-2010
3 way switch

Well made, does what it should and comes w/standard wiring info sheet - accepts screw-on switch heads. (comes w/both black & creme)

GEO  Pacifica CA Read my reviews (2)
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
3 9-19-2010
P-Bass routing template

Good for an under the pickguard roomy body cavity, but not as ideal for a no-pickguard snug fitting body cavity or a close fitting pickguard opening. It works fine, so it just depends on how close you what your pu's to fit, especially at the side screw flanges.

GEO  Pacifica CA Read my reviews (2)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 9-19-2010
Profession tool for professional results

I bought this to get professional results when installing a pickup in my Martin HD-28. This tool is very sharp and easy to use.

PERCDD  Apple Valley, CA
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 9-19-2010
Great Bridge!!!

Purchased one for my Agile Valkyrie (SG Type) and was floored by the quality of this bridge vs the stock one. Gone are the rattles I could feel the string vibration thru the body more. Brightened the tone just a bit. Fantastic!!!

Meatball  East Coast
Jaws2
Jaws2
2 9-19-2010
Jaws2

Great concept but very rickety and frustrating in actual use. I would not recommend using this tool to refret an entire neck.

wood&wire  USA Read my reviews (5)
Mini Toggle Switches
Mini Toggle Switches
5 9-19-2010
Mini Toggle Switches

The mini Toggle switch is a a great switch to use for specialty wiring.
They fit closer together without taking away from the look of the guitar. I use them all the time.

Mike Ward  Lewisville, Tx Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 9-19-2010
Dome Knobs

These knobs look stylish and classy.
Easy to adjust the height unlike plastic knobs.
They just look great

Mike Ward  Lewisville, Tx Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 9-19-2010
japanese precision in my violas caipiras

Hi! This saw cuts precisely to make the fretboard of my violas, thanks to the Japanese, thanks to the STEWMAC.COM.

Borges  Araguari (Brazil) Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 9-19-2010
Precision to make rosettes.

Hi Folks. I make this beautiful custom rosettes in my guitar using this tool. Very accurate, works well with the Dremel. Thanks

Borges  Araguari (Brazil) Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
4 9-19-2010
Straight Toggle Switch

Does his job properly.

Dominique  France Read my reviews (5)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 9-19-2010
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench

No more ugly mounting nuts !

Dominique  France Read my reviews (5)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 9-19-2010
Understring Radius Gauges

Very clever and well done.

Dominique  France Read my reviews (5)
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 9-19-2010
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest

Simply essential.

Dominique  France Read my reviews (5)
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 9-19-2010
Knob and Bushing Puller

A great tool !

Dominique  France Read my reviews (5)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 9-19-2010
Perfection

I use the 320, 400, and 600 for my initial fret work, and these sanding sticks are a Godsend. I have the diamond fret file as well, but I prefer the control I have with these little guys.

Maury  USA
Fret Scale Rule
Fret Scale Rule
2 9-19-2010
Fret scale rule... what else?

While these rules work fine for checking fret positioning, that's all they do. Frankly, they could have been made just a tad longer and include saddle position with correct compensation. With this addition it would make a very good and complete measuring tool, like the old IBEX scale rule.

IacopoNesiGuitars  Arezzo, Italy
Displaying 19926 – 19950
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  797  798  799  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce