Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19876 – 19900
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  795  796  797  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 9-21-2010
Essential Nut-Making Tool Kit

Another example of a Stew Mac product which makes life so much easier. I've been using a hobby vice and cheaper files before I invested in this kit. Why did I bother? I wish I'd bought this kit months ago!

Alex Earle  Hebburn, UK. Read my reviews (4)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 9-21-2010
Great tuners for unique guitars

I used an earlier incarnation of these on a guitar I built for a client a year or so ago. They stay in tune great, tune easily and accurately, and they look killer (and come on, isn't that what Rock music is all about?) My only complaint with the ones I have is the knob on top (for locking the string down) didn't allow for enough of a grip. This new design fixes that issue (though perhaps it doesn't look as cool. Great product. Just be sure when designing a new headstock you take into account that the string leaves the center of the post as opposed to wrapping around it.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 9-21-2010
Fits Like a Glove

The metric M8 x 1.25 tailpiece fits my Korean made 2001 Epiphone Les Paul perfectly and brightens the tone quite dramatically. The gold finish will last much longer than the original hardware.

Paul Young  Northern California Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 9-21-2010
Rosewood Fretboard

I have used several of these Rosewood boards. Excellent in every way. Very high quality product. I would recommend this to anyone.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
5 9-21-2010
Micarta

Micarta is the only material I will use for nut making. Sounds like bone but does not crack or flake. Easy to work and slot. Has long wear life and works excellent with tremolo's and vibrato's. I have used both bone and micarta for years, but I will only use micarta now. I can't give it a higher recommendation.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Quarter-round Fret File
Quarter-round Fret File
5 9-21-2010
Great Fret File!!

This is a fantastic fret file. It can be used not only to crown frets but also to round off the sharp edges of the fret ends. I have dressed many guitars now with this file and it is as sharp as when it was new. I have also had NO problems with marring any fretboards with it. It WILL NOT cut into the fretboard unless you really try to mess things up. Very easy to use and very comfortable in your hand.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 9-21-2010
Fret Pressing

This tool is excellent. I have a 6 foot tall drill press and it pressed the frets in with little effort. Even a medium sized drill press will work fine. This tool is worth every penny.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-20-2010
Waverly Tuners- Simply the best

I have been a musician for 43 years. IMHO, if you play a high end acoustic guitar there is only (1) choice in tuning machines. That choice is Waverly, pure and simple. If you are OK with mediocre, then they are probably not for you. But, If your finest instrument deserves the best, choose Waverly Tuning Machines. YOU WILL BE VERY PLEASED.

Scguno  Magic Valley, USA
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 9-20-2010
It really works!

I was really skeptical at first that the ToneRite was just a gimmick, but thought I’d give it a try and am I ever glad that I did. First of all it’s really easy to use, just place the ToneRite over the strings near the bridge, turn it on and forget for a few days.
After using it on a Martin HD-28, I must say that I’m really impressed! Not only is it louder, but the tone improvement is really amazing! I can hardly wait to use it on my other acoustic guitars. If you love acoustic guitars then you owe it to yourself and your guitar to get one of these devices. You won’t regret it!

C Hall  Grand Forks, ND
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 9-20-2010
Banjo tuners on an ukulele.

I installed these tuning pegs on an ukulele with a thicker (1/2") peghead and 11/32" diameter pegholes. The tuning pegs fit perfectly, work smoothly and , after proper adjustment, hold tuning very well. In my opinion, the vintage, traditional look of the pegs make my ukulele look great.

UkiWay  Santa Rosa, CA
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
5 9-20-2010
Great Find/Excellent Choice

I installed the tortoise pick guard on my two most recently constructed D Model guitars. They look great!!!! I had searched for tortoise pick guards and most that looked decent were pricey. These are very reasonably priced and look great which inturn add to the value of my guitars but keep the price down so more people can afford to purchase and play them. Thanks Stemac. I can always count on you to find and supply the right products.

Gary Clardy  Burns, TN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 9-20-2010
Blank Bone nuts- My first guitar nut

The bone was easier to work with than I had anticipated. My first nut I ever made was with StewMac blanks. I bought 3 blanks in case I made a mistakes I'd have extra to continue the work. I also used the StewMac nut slot ruler to measure string spacing. All worked out great.

Jr Bynum  Lutherville MD
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-20-2010
Waverly Tuners - Oval Knobs

I've replaced the original machines on my Martin 000 without any problems and it works and looks great. Thanks for this good suggestion.

C. Meyer  Austria
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 9-20-2010
Very handy little tool.

I bought this tool to install Schaller and sperzel tuners into new necks that I've made. So far used it for two sets of schaller's and it works great.
I found the easiest way to line up the tool was to use a square running along the top edge of the headstock where the tuner buttons are located. Then push the other edge flush up against the back of the jig. This will ensure your tuners are mounted exactly parallel to the top edge of your headstock.
Highly recommend this tool if you plan to install tuners of this variety, it is quite expensive but will last for a long time!

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 9-19-2010
ESP Multi Spanner

I really dig this little thing. It really saves me a ton of hassle. I strongly recommend it.

Jeff Thomas  Florida
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 9-19-2010
ohhhhhh yeah

Bought the set...23 for the bridge, 21, and 20. Put them in a nice, old Mexi Strat that has a perfect feeling maple neck. I really liked the p.u.s before, but holy crap they really, really sing now. I can keep the tone high and get a really throaty tone with some overdrive, some nice, chimey 60's sounds, and an aggressive overdrive from the bridge. Really great buy for the price.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
4 9-19-2010
work well

they do what they say. Especially if you have a classic you don't want to put strap locks on. Like Ben said, a bit of tape on it can really make them not come loose.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
5 9-19-2010
nice...but caution

Works great; however, cut it a bit shorter than you think. Otherwise it's really, really, really hard to set the pickup heights.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 9-19-2010
3 way switch

Well made, does what it should and comes w/standard wiring info sheet - accepts screw-on switch heads. (comes w/both black & creme)

GEO  Pacifica CA Read my reviews (2)
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
3 9-19-2010
P-Bass routing template

Good for an under the pickguard roomy body cavity, but not as ideal for a no-pickguard snug fitting body cavity or a close fitting pickguard opening. It works fine, so it just depends on how close you what your pu's to fit, especially at the side screw flanges.

GEO  Pacifica CA Read my reviews (2)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 9-19-2010
Profession tool for professional results

I bought this to get professional results when installing a pickup in my Martin HD-28. This tool is very sharp and easy to use.

PERCDD  Apple Valley, CA
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 9-19-2010
Great Bridge!!!

Purchased one for my Agile Valkyrie (SG Type) and was floored by the quality of this bridge vs the stock one. Gone are the rattles I could feel the string vibration thru the body more. Brightened the tone just a bit. Fantastic!!!

Meatball  East Coast
Jaws2
Jaws2
2 9-19-2010
Jaws2

Great concept but very rickety and frustrating in actual use. I would not recommend using this tool to refret an entire neck.

wood&wire  USA Read my reviews (5)
Mini Toggle Switches
Mini Toggle Switches
5 9-19-2010
Mini Toggle Switches

The mini Toggle switch is a a great switch to use for specialty wiring.
They fit closer together without taking away from the look of the guitar. I use them all the time.

Mike Ward  Lewisville, Tx Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 9-19-2010
Dome Knobs

These knobs look stylish and classy.
Easy to adjust the height unlike plastic knobs.
They just look great

Mike Ward  Lewisville, Tx Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 19876 – 19900
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  795  796  797  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce