Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19876 – 19900
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  795  796  797  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 9-23-2010
Must have tool

These are the cats meow. It would be hard to imagine fretting without them

Jay Cash  Belfield ND Read my reviews (6)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 9-23-2010
As described, Shipped in a timely matter

High quality, pieces are uniform from one to the next.

Jay Cash  Belfield ND Read my reviews (6)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 9-23-2010
outstanding product !!!

I am working on my first guitar build. It's a solid maple body,I call it my mickey guitar. I used the black gloss lacquer aerosol and the clear gloss lacquer aerosol. I am amazed how great it looks. Plus when putting the clear gloss lacquer on I would suggest it to any beginner like my self. Anyone who purchases this product will be amazed.

James Ross  Columbus , OH
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
5 9-23-2010
Great pins for a great price.

I was a little skeptical at first regarding the notion that bridge pins make a huge difference in tone, but was pleasantly surprised when I replaced my plastic bridge pins for a set of ebony ones.
The pins are flawlessly designed and have a snug fit. They are also polished and have a satin like feel to them.
The tone of my acoustic guitar is somewhat clearer and more defined. It seems to have more volume too. These pins are a great upgrade for the money.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
1 9-23-2010
A waste of time & money.

I am very disappointed in this tool. The burrs are shaped well & the handle is comfortable to hold, but the teeth simply won't cut standard silver fret wire.
If you want to spend an entire day crowning your frets, this is the tool for you.
Maybe I just got a bad set of burrs...

Dan Minard  Canada Read my reviews (3)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
4 9-23-2010
Nice Tool!

Excellent speed & accuracy. Comfortable to use, even when working over the top of a guitar.
Mine tended to scratch the fingerboard, so I filed the edges down a bit to get better clearance.
If I ever wear this one out, I will definitely buy another.

Dan Minard  Canada Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Kit
Humbucker Kit
5 9-23-2010
Humbucker Kit

I think these kits are very fine. I make many pickups very close to the original PAF of the '50. I use them for Les Paul, Gibson 335, and some Telecasters when I need to add one humbucker in the neck position or Stratocaster for the bridge position. I have always had great satisfaction.

Fulvio  Barlassina, Italy
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 9-23-2010
Good one!

This little tool does everything asked with no argument. Leaves no damage on the edge of the fret & cuts the tang off cleanly. Definitely worth the bucks if you do a lot of fret work

Dan Minard  Canada Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
4 9-23-2010
May Need Alteration

These are a great idea. However, if you use Seymour Duncan pickups like I do, you will need to make an alteration to these for them to work as designed. The screw head on a Duncan is too big to fit through the end with the hole. You can either drill the hole out bigger or make it a slot which is what I chose to do.
Still, a very useful tool. Perhaps StewMac will make revisions on this tool so you won't have too.

Chris Cordle  North Muskegon, MI Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 9-23-2010
Parsons Street Humbuckers

I recently purchased one pair of these pups in Alnico 2 in gold finish, and another set in Alnico 5 with chrome covers. The gold, Alnico 2 set went in as a replacement set on a Korean-made Epiphone Sheraton II. The pinch and secondary harmonics of these pickups are just to die for, due in no small part to the lack of potting. I was worried that this would cause a problem, however, even when facing my Fender 2X12 DeVille or my AC30 just a few feet away, I haven't had any major problem. If you use a compressor, you can get these pickups to sing forever with very little effort. The Alnico 5 set with chrome covers went into an Epiphone Elitist '62 SG Reissue, also Korean made. This guitar was supposed to have Gibson USA 57 Classics in it, but while the pots and switch were American-made, the darn pups were the same Epiphone stuff that most everyone wants to get rid of...a real shame for such an excellent made guitar. The Alnico 5 versions are more mid-heavy and a tad brighter, and there is more tightness in the lower end. I think these respond better to distortion effects and major OD than the Alnico II's, so if you want some AC/DC, Who, Deep Purple, or anything with tons of mid-scooped crunch, these will help get you there. Again, no problem with the lack of wax potting for feedback, even at club volume levels. You just don't find this level of quality and price/value in many products these days. I'm getting ready to purchase a third set for yet another 335-style guitar.

Chris Whitehead  Clinton, MO Read my reviews (3)
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
3 9-23-2010
Not bad

The file does as it is expected to do but leaves a surface that takes some effort to clean up. I would get the diamond file next time.

Gene  Ktown, in
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 9-23-2010
Great tremolo unit

I have installed the tremolo unit on my guitar without problems. The sound is full, fine, a definitive improve. Finally the tremolo arm adjustable with no more stress.
The unit is aesthetically beautiful. Thank Stewmac for your service, quality, competitive prices and courtesy.

Enrico  Italy
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 9-22-2010
Great looking jack - works great!

This is the same style of jack that is used with the LR Baggs pickups. I replaced the jack on my old Martin with this one. It was simple to do, it works great and it looks better than the original.

LAH  Columbus, OH
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 9-22-2010
String Action Gauge

I can't imagine life without it. I use it several times a day.

wood&wire  USA Read my reviews (5)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 9-22-2010
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Very useful tool

wood&wire  USA Read my reviews (5)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 9-22-2010
Fret Rocker

Excellent tool. VERY useful.

wood&wire  USA Read my reviews (5)
P-Bass Pickguard
P-Bass Pickguard
5 9-22-2010
Good pickguard!

I have purchased two of these pickguards, one went on a Warmoth body and the other on an older, Fender Squier. These are quality pickguards, excellent weight/thickness and are evenly finished with no burrs on the edges. I would not hesitate to buy again .

DBB  Overland Park, KS
Blush Eraser
Blush Eraser
5 9-22-2010
Blush Eraser That Works

This product performed exactly as specified in removing blush from a custom banjo neck I am making for myself.
A rain storm quickly came up without warning while spraying a coat of nitrocellulose lacquer and this product saved the day.
Highly recommend this product!

Bill Porter  Wadesboro, NC Read my reviews (3)
Schaller 4-String Roller Bass Bridge
Schaller 4-String Roller Bass Bridge
5 9-22-2010
Top Bridge!

These Bridges are very versatile, you can very easily change string spacing height and intonation. They are also very solid and good quality. Certainly a good choice for a quality custom instrument

Billy  UK Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Batt-O-Meter
Batt-O-Meter
5 9-22-2010
cool lil' unit

I have a battery operated pedal board and several tuners. It is so much easier to use this gadget than taking everything apart in search of the lil' 9volt nightmare. I am giving it 5 stars for ingenuity and ease of operation, but believe buyer beware because it is made out of 'cheap' plastic and it is really light-weight. It flew out of my hand the first time I used it. Good thing i was sitting on the carpet at the time!

Rocket  USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 9-22-2010
perfect polish

Technical babble aside, this is the best stuff I have ever used, and I've been at it for 40 years.

Rocket  USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
5 9-22-2010
Rock solid!!

I absolutely love these tuners! Its made string changes so much faster and easier and like they should, they keep the guitar in tune really well. I go through an entire show without having to worry about tuning issues. The posts don't wobble one bit, and in fact, they're quite a snug fit in the tuner holes of my Godin Freeway Classic. The only issue I have with these tuners is that they added a little bit of extra weight on the guitar at the headstock, but that's nothing that I cannot get used to.

Vikram  Chennai, India
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
Soundhole Truss Rod Wrenches
5 9-22-2010
Worked fine for me

Bought the 6114 and used it to adjust neck relief on my Martin 00-15. Worked perfectly and paid for itself immediately.

John Sandin  Kansas City
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
4 9-22-2010
Clear Pickguard

Over the years I have purchased three of the clear pickguards. They are very easy to apply. You can customize them to fit various guitars from a parlor to a dreadnought. They provide the right amount of protection for the top without hiding the beauty of the wood or the finish. They are a great value for the outlay.

S. McCombs  Delta Jct., AK
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
5 9-22-2010
Get This FIRST if your serious!

I've been watching a lot of videos from Stewmac and most of them are very good, but 5 stars doesn't get it. This video set deserves '25' stars. I usually wait until the honeymoon's over before writing a review, but I'm writing this before I've even finished viewing it all. I have already gotten my money's worth and have seen enough to understand the products value. It's described as an advanced video, but I say if you are serious, you should definitely buy this video before you buy ANYTHING else. Great teacher giving vital information.

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 19876 – 19900
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  795  796  797  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce